We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$570
US$284
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Bavaro Palace(Bavaro)
US$346
US$268
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Catalonia Royal Bavaro(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$178
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$365
US$281
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Breathless Punta Cana Resort & Spa(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$280
US$237
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Occidental Punta Cana(Bavaro)
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$384
US$225
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$257/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Portblue Le Sivory Punta Cana(Uvero Alto)(Great Value!)
US$257
US$210
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
CHIC by Royalton Luxury Resorts(Uvero Alto)(Great Value!)
US$810
US$444
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$595
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (685)
Filter reviews
685 results
Traveller rating
589
61
20
7
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
589
61
20
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla yolavilla managerbamboo restaurantthrough customsgolf cartsix sensesvip serviceecological reservebedroom villafresh water lagoonspunta espadainternational airportocean frontfour seasonsvip loungeprivate beachseaweed problem
Filter
Updating list...
396 - 401 of 685 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed for a week at Totuga Bay in April 2011 with our two boys aged 16 and 13. The villa we stayed in was absolutely enormous and by far the most impressive place we have ever stayed. The patio lead out to a grass lawn then on to our own private white coral beach with private beach service.
We villa cam with a golf buggy to cruise around the resorts, plus use of bicycles if you chose that mode.
The restaurants were excellent, but very, very expensive and the wine was off the price scale.
There is a small village just outside the resort which has a number of much more reasonable and good restuarants which we could access via a free resort shuttle and I highly recommend these. These is also a supermarket to stock up on essesntials with.
Within the resort there are plenty of things to do including water activities, scuba diving, golf, nature park.
The nature park is well worth a visit. It is completely natural and has some great fresh water lagoons to swim in.
The two golf courses are absolutely amazing, La Cana and Corales. I've played Pebble beach a couple of times and thought Corales was right up there. They only let 40 people play a day and hence is unbelievably expensive - but as a treat !!!!
When you leave, as the resort owns the airport, they usher right through all the queues, into your private lounge then (very embarassingly for the boys) they golf buggy you to the steps of the plane in front of all the first class passangers (we were in economy :) )

All in all an absolutely fabulous resort, but very very pricey.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank PickersMRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2011

Dear Mr / Mrs Pickering,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know your comments about your recent stay at our Tortuga Bay Hotel. As we are deeply committed to achieving our guest’s total satisfaction, your opinion is very important to us.

Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again to our Tortuga Bay hotel, and give you a “Leading” Experience.


Yours sincerely,

Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Spent a week in Villa 615 and could hardly believe the attention to detail by the entire staff. Francisco, Antonio, and William (at the Bamboo restaurant) were amazing and I had a blast the entire week.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2011

Dear Ms Jill,

On behalf of team members of Tortuga Bay Punta Cana Resort & Club, thank you for taking the time to complete our guest comment form on your recent stay at Tortuga Bay.

I am delighted to read that your expectations were met . Your feedback is invaluable and much appreciated, as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and service we provide to our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Tortuga Bay in the future, and give you a “Leading” Experience.

Yours sincerely,


Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager Hotel TORTUGA BAY
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

We recently came back from a wonderful 5 night stay at Tortuga Bay. The service was impeccable and this beautiful hotel can truly boast some of the best trained staff I have ever experienced which is a testament to the very kindly and competent general manager Mr. Calcerano.

I'm not going to repeat the same information from previous posts except to say it is all true (the good ones anyway). We stayed in junior suite 6123 which was supposed to be an ocean view, but the majority of the view was the trees blocking the way so if a direct ocean view is important to you, definitely go with an oceanfront room. Even so, we enjoyed having our wine and cheese on the balcony every afternoon at 5:00PM, as we packed some special bottles from home to bring with us.

There is a market nearby where you can buy food, wine and snacks, but the red wine selection is limited if you like higher end wines. They did have some white wines with prices comparable to the states and we did pick up some decent pinot grigio along with cheese and crackers.

We ate at three on-site restaurants while we were there Bamboo & La Yola being the best (the river shrimp with risotto was really good at Bamboo, but make sure to get the risotto with white sauce as they made it with pink one night and it wasn't nearly as good). The Grill was awful, we tried it twice ordering several menu items and only a few were palatable, but the pinacoladas there were the best we had on the resort which is why we went back the second time hoping the food would be better. We also ate at Mama Luisa's off-site one evening, but it was only OK. We would try it again, but next time maybe order the Italian selections rather than paella since it is an Italian restaurant.

The only negative was the beach which had a major attack of seaweed while we were there making the entire beach unusable. This was a terrible let down for us as the primary reason for our trip was to enjoy the beach. We tried chartering a boat one day to get away from it (at great expense), but it was pretty much the same the entire ride. However, we did find one beach and one snorkeling spot that was at least somewhat usable that day. One day we booked a day pass at an all inclusive at Bavaro beach which was much better (the beach, not the hotel) so we got at least one beach day in, but we were happy to get back "home" to our resort at the end of the day.

Apparently, this has been happening on and off for five months all over the Caribbean depending on the side of the islands you are on. They did try to clean it every day, but the amount coming in made it almost futile. The Punta Cana resort next door had it much worse and the smell from it was literally toxic in several spots (you have to drive through that resort with your golf cart to get to La Yola and the lagoons at the ecological reserve). Finally on the last day we were there, the seaweed in the water on our beach did clear up (you just had to step over it on the beach) and we were able to get a great swim in on our last morning (figures). This was really a shame as the beach would be really beautiful otherwise. We did make the best of it and still had a great stay regardless and I'm sure it will clear up eventually, we just had bad luck with our timing. My suggestion to the hotel would be to offer free transportation to another beach area for guests to use while this was going on as Bavaro was not nearly as badly affected.

One other suggestion (not a complaint) would be to better promote the fact that you can buy prepaid cards to call home that can be programmed into the cell phones given to you when checking in (people from home can also call you on the cells as well). I had specifically asked how I could make calls to the states and was told to buy a prepaid cell phone in the marketplace. It wasn't until explaining what we wanted to Laura at the front desk that we were told that we could use the resorts' cell phone if we purchased some minutes. They actually sell them in the ATM machine near the lobby, but it was out of them so we had to go to the gift shop at the other resort to pick them up, but they did work great (it was inexpensive too). They should sell them in the lobby as it is a great feature that I'm sure more people would take advantage of if they knew.

All in all this is a very special place and everyone treated us wonderfully. We liked it so much we are already planning another trip for next year.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Neda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2011

Dear Mr / Mrs Neda,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know your comments about your recent stay at our Tortuga Bay Hotel. As we are deeply committed to achieving our guest’s total satisfaction, your opinion is very important to us.

Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again to our Tortuga Bay hotel, and give you a “Leading” Experience.


Yours sincerely,

Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager
Tortuga Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

This place is truly amazing! Everything about this hotel is top notch. The level of service from the employees was second to none. The room and the view were breathtaking. We can't wait to go back. My wife and I have stayed at a lot of nice resorts but none as nice as Tortuga Bay! Get ready for a trip of a lifetime!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Justin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2011

Dear Mr / Mrs Justin,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know your comments about your recent stay at our Tortuga Bay Hotel. As we are deeply committed to achieving our guest’s total satisfaction, your opinion is very important to us.

Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again to our Tortuga Bay hotel, and give you a “Leading” Experience.


Yours sincerely,

Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager
Tortuga Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Beautiful place . Everyone nice. Great service. Food great .
BUT ONE ISSUE ........ One NIGHT On Website 780 DollarS ..... BUT THEY Leave OUT THE TAX 26 o/o ..... Which MakeS THE RooM 982 DollarS NighT .

SO BE CAREFUL .... AND GooD LucK

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank nora v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puntacana Resor... a, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2016

Dear Mrs. nora v,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback following your stay at the Tortuga Bay. I was absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we met your expectations. We all look forward to welcoming you back once again in the near future.

My best wishes,

Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager Hotel TORTUGA BAY
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
Tel. (809) 959-8229 Ext. 7220
Cel. (829) 797-1121

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews