We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the height of relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club
Ranked #1 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Buffalo, New York
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“the height of relaxation”
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We do not often rate a hotel as excellent, but Tortuga Bay went beyond all expectations. The accommodations in individual beach-front villas were outstanding and the service was irreproachable. A personal "villa manager" is assigned to each room, who takes care of everything from booking tables, reserving a tennis court, renting bikes, setting up spa treatments, and making sure housekeeping only shows up when you are sure to be out of the room. The hotel was full the entire week we were there, but the pool and private beach were not the least bit crowded (usually it was just us and one or two other couples). It was supremely tranquil: no jet skis or motorboats to disturb the beach, and no car traffic around the property (all guests have their own golf cart to get around). There is one restaurant on site, and many others a short bike ride away. The entire staff, from the servers to the housekeepers, were remarkably friendly. It was one of the most serene vacations we have ever had. For those of you who have trouble "disconnecting", be aware that the hotel wifi is spotty.

Room Tip: For a couple, request a second-floor beach front room (as opposed to "beach view")
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank LucaEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Dear Mr. Luca,

Dear Mrs. Emma,


On behalf of team members of Tortuga Bay Punta Cana Resort & Club, thank you for taking the time to complete our guest comment form on your recent stay at Tortuga Bay.

I am delighted to read that your expectations were met or exceeded and that you will return to us when you next visit at Tortuga Bay. Your feedback is invaluable and much appreciated, as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and service we provide to our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Tortuga Bay in the future, and give you a “Leading” Experience.

Yours sincerely,



Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager
Tortuga Bay Puntacana resort & Club
vcalcerano@puntacana.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    545
    58
    19
    6
    7
See reviews for
173
350
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We traveled last year via Jetsetter to Tortuga Bay and LOVED it. From the VIP service which created amazing joy and ease of travel, to the no effort check-in (in the villa with your own Villa Manager -Adriana was our's this trip and she was so helpful, pleasant, and darling), to the pleasantness of every employee on staff, on to the gorgeous villa, beaches, and restaurants. The food was delicious, especially at the small poolside restaurant. We are definitely planning to return next year.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CPPAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
Dear Sir,

On behalf of team members of Tortuga Bay Punta Cana Resort & Club, thank you for taking the time to complete our guest comment form on your recent stay at Tortuga Bay.

I am delighted to read that your expectations were met or exceeded and that you will return to us when you next visit at Tortuga Bay. Your feedback is invaluable and much appreciated, as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and service we provide to our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Tortuga Bay in the future, and give you a “Leading” Experience.


Yours sincerely,

Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager
Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club
vcalcerano@puntacana.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wenham, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

After ten years of marriage and traveling to different resorts for each anniversary, we have finally found the most incredible gem! From the moment we arrived, with the VIP service through the airport, no lines. We were on the beach a half hour after we landed. The service was unbelievable with the friendly and helpful staff! Our room was perfect, fresh, clean and large, with the most beautiful view of the ocean just a few feet away. We tried several restaurants and the food was consistently delicious, not to mention the speedy service with a smile. The spa is a relaxing piece of heaven. Next time we will bring golf clubs, the course overlooking the ocean was spectacular. There are many activities from relaxing on the gorgeous long stretch of beach to swimming in the natural springs, snorkeling, boating, everything! I would highly recommend this resort without any hesitation and already have to many friends! It is the best!! We can't wait to go back next year!

Room Tip: I saw several villas and all were in top shape with a fresh coat of paint. Certain rooms are larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Dear Mr. / Mrs. Perkin ,


On behalf of team members of Tortuga Bay Punta Cana Resort & Club, thank you for taking the time to complete our guest comment form on your recent stay at Tortuga Bay.

I am delighted to read that your expectations were met or exceeded and that you will return to us when you next visit at Tortuga Bay. Your feedback is invaluable and much appreciated, as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and service we provide to our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Tortuga Bay in the future, and give you a “Leading” Experience.

Yours sincerely,



Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager
Tortuga Bay Puntacana resort & Club
vcalcerano@puntacana.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We stayed 4 nights in a beautiful oceanfront villa. The staff was great and very helpful. On our last night we were encouraged to attend the Dominican buffet at $45 per person. Unfortunately my wife came down with food poisioning from the early morning hours throughout the next day. We advised the management upon check out and asked if anyone else became sick. We were told no however the doctor was in the lobby at that time with his medical bag which were thought was ironic. We were also surprised that they did not offer to deduct the $90 for the buffet off of our bill. We have been to the Dominican Republic several times and this is our first experience with contaminated food. Of all the places one could have come in contact with food poisioning Tortuga Bay being a five star resort should not have been one of them.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank EHC5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Dear Mr. / Mrs. Gamm,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know your comments from your last stay at our Tortuga Bay Hotel. As we are deeply committed to achieving our guest’s total satisfaction, your opinion is very important to us. We would like to offer our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience that you have experienced throughout your stay. At the same time you can feel assured that your comments helped us identify or focus on any possible deficiencies that may exist in our hotel and take whatever corrective actions may be necessary.

With regard to your experience at the Dominican night I apologies sincerely for your wife's illness that evening. We had not received other complaints about food poisoning from other guests so we were not aware that there had been a problem. The doctor you encountered at the reception was there in order to attend a guest for a different matter. Once more, I would like to thank you for your comments.

Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent any future occurrences. We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager Hotel TORTUGA BAY
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
Abraham Lincoln 960, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Tel. (809) 959-8229 Ext. 7220
Cel. (829) 797-1121
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Quite a shame having to drive through and to a 'lesser' hotel property to play tennis....the hotel should have courts on their immediate property.....also, better to have continuous service on the beach rather than having to call as required......

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
Dear Mr. / Mrs. Scott :

Ref: Your comments 16 /01/2012

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know your comments from your last stay at our Tortuga Bay Hotel. As we are deeply committed to achieving our guest’s total satisfaction, your opinion is very important to us.

We would like to offer our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience that you have experienced throughout your stay. At the same time you can feel assured that your comments helped us identify or focus on any possible deficiencies that may exist in our hotel and take whatever corrective actions may be necessary.


Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again to our Tortuga Bay hotel, and give you a “Leading” Experience.


Yours sincerely,



Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager Hotel TORTUGA BAY
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
18.7 km away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
5.9 km away
Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
#39 of 112 in Punta Cana
4,798 reviews
23.3 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
43.9 km away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#3 of 112 in Punta Cana
4,252 reviews
18.4 km away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
21.8 km away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club

Property: Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club
Address: Puntacana Resort & Club, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Price range (per night): $1,031 - $2,761
Hotel Class:5 star — Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find yourself in the jewel of the Caribbean. The only AAA Five Diamond Awarded property of the luxury Dominican republic hotels, Tortuga Bay offers responsible luxury, impeccable service and villas with interiors designed by the world-famous Oscar de la Renta. As a Tortuga Bay guest, our friendly, professional staff has every detail taken care of from the moment you touch down at our own Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ). Our VIP Service will whisk you through customs to a private car that has been awaiting your arrival. After a brief ride through the lush and vibrant Dominican scenery, your personal concierge will welcome you, check you in at your villa and provide you with your own golf cart for convenient travel throughout the resort. Located in a private enclave within the resort, this boutique hotel includes 13 luxurious beachfront Dominican Republic villas offering unrivaled luxury, privacy, security and five-star service. Guests may choose from a variety of accommodations: 1 bedroom junior suites, 2 bedroom suites, 3 or 4 bedroom villas, all situated along a private white sand beach, with every convenience within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing