We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Club Med Punta Cana(Punta Cana)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (670)
Filter reviews
670 results
Traveller rating
577
59
20
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
577
59
20
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla yolavilla managerbamboo restaurantthrough customsgolf cartsix sensesvip serviceecological reservebedroom villafresh water lagoonspunta espadainternational airportocean frontfour seasonsvip loungeprivate beachbaggage claim
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
494 - 499 of 670 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2009

We loved everything about Tortuga Bay! We received royal VIP treatment from the second we stepped off the plane until they escorted right back onto the plane. The staff was so sincere and friendly and eager to serve. The restaurants had amazing atmosphere and great food. We loved the natural springs and visiting the ecological park and reserve. We also love how this resort reaches out to the community and cares for the environment. We love the privacy and exclusiveness of this resort and being able to look down a white beach that hasn't been littered by hotels and condos. This was our best vacation yet...truly a piece of Heaven on earth!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eliz71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puntacana Resor... a, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2016

Dear Mr./Mrs. Eliz71,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback following your stay at the Tortuga Bay. I was absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we met your expectations. We all look forward to welcoming you back once again in the near future.

My best wishes,

Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager Hotel TORTUGA BAY
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
Tel. (809) 959-8229 Ext. 7220
Cel. (829) 797-1121

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2009

I may go in a bit of detail, so stay with me. I travel a lot for work and usually stay in Westins, Marriotts, occassional Ritz and 4 Seasons. So I base my review on other properties. Also, we booked using luxury link, which in the end was amazing. There were no issues.

First, the hotel and location are fabulous. The beach area is one of the most amazing I have ever seen and the property is kept in very very good shape. We were two of 6 people on the beach at any given time. Amazing privacy. And the golf cart they provided was absolutely a great idea! Bonus points on that one.

Rooms - As described. Beds, amenities, etc., are similar to westins/ritz's. Designed by de la renta in good taste. We had an oceanfront suite, and they upgraded us to a bottom floor 2BR suite. We went in down season (they said hotel was at about 20% capacity...ahh, just the way I like it!). The only complaint on the room was the bottom floor 2 BR suites did not have a King bed. Only the upstairs sweets have king beds. Overall a great room and way more space than needed. Thanks for the upgrade.

Beach - See above, but amazing. Cleaned twice a day which was a great idea. My real complaint here is the beach loungers. They didn't have ones that go completely flat. There is a slight upward incline on the back. I got over it.

Pool - There is one, but it is at the restaurant/bar area and not relaxing. Go here for the beach! I'm usually a pool person, but this beach turned me into a beach person. There are pools at the sister resort next door and golf place, but they are not as relaxing.

Food - Obviously overpriced, but it was probably above average for dominican. We did not like La Yola (at sister property) as they served me raw chicken. Could not go back. Bamboo and the one up the road that you could not walk/golf cart to was also good. Again, overpriced but good. Oh, and they are above NYC prices at Bamboo. We went to an italian place off property one night and it was really good (and we are from chicago and know good italian food). The breakfast was perfect as well. Those breakfast shakes were great in the heat.

Drinks - Can have them anytime. The bar scene does not exist, but drinks are always available. Go to a crappy all inclusive if you want to party. Talk to Blag at Bamboo bar. Extremely friendly guy and will help you with anything.

Spa - This is the area I was extremely disappointed. The spa services themselves were great, but the facilities are poor. I don't mean upkeep, but location, size and relaxation. The spa is in the golf club house. Ok, fine. But there is no general relax room, no community sauna or steam room (you have to reserve the room), and no general locker room for men and women. If they want to be a 4 seasons or similar, the spa needs a facility upgrade or separation...something. Again, services were good and not outrageously overpriced.

Golf - I didn't golf but the course was gorgeous. Not that expensive.

Activities - plenty to do, but we relaxed. Played some tennis (great facilities), biked, ran, etc.

Airport - others comments are accurate. Private lounge/car service is excellent!

Overall - I rated it 5 stars because I do have high standards and they met these standards. I was about to give it a 4 due to the spa facilities and raw chicken, but I overcame these drawbacks and would go back in a second.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank niujoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puntacana Resor... a, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2016

Dear Mr./Mrs. niujoe,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback following your stay at the Tortuga Bay. I was absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we met your expectations. We all look forward to welcoming you back once again in the near future.

My best wishes,

Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager Hotel TORTUGA BAY
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
Tel. (809) 959-8229 Ext. 7220
Cel. (829) 797-1121

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2009

A trip to enjoy yourself if your looking for a private paradise...My husband and I stayed in a villa in front of the ocean, practically we woke up at the beach, cristaline water, sweet sand, and a service to die for...We had dinner at our room, with musicians and a romantic jacuzzi prepared by the staff...next day, three hours in the spa with lunch included...defintely a trip to pamper yourself...!!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa0417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puntacana Resor... a, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2016

Dear Mrs. Lisa0417,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback following your stay at the Tortuga Bay. I was absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we met your expectations. We all look forward to welcoming you back once again in the near future.

My best wishes,

Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager Hotel TORTUGA BAY
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
Tel. (809) 959-8229 Ext. 7220
Cel. (829) 797-1121

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2009

I was looking for a low key but top quality spot to spend the only 4 precious nights i could steal away with my family, this proved to be a perfect spot. We had a 2 bedroom ocean front villa, it was absolutely perfect for my husband and myself and our 3 daughters, ages 20, 17 and 12. There was plenty of space and the doors opened right onto the beach, the location was spectacular. The service was not in your face but always available and with a smile. A real selling point for us was a direct flight and then a very easy and quick transfer to the hotel. It is just minutes from the airport. They have a VIP service that greets you at the airport and takes you through immigration and customs, this would be invaluable during peak travel times. It works the same on the return flight. With Punta Cana Club surrounding the property you have available to you 2 golf courses, water sports and several restaurants. We preferred Bamboo, that is the Tortuga Bay restaurant. There are also some restaurants in Punta Cana Village, they are worth a visit, and the hotel will taxi you both ways at no additional cost.
The restaurants in the village may be a bit less pricey than those directly on the resort. You can take advantage of the activities nearby or do nothing, Overall we all thought it was a great way to spend some quality family time.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JKSKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puntacana Resor... a, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2016

Dear Mr./Mrs. JKSKM,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback following your stay at the Tortuga Bay. I was absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we met your expectations. We all look forward to welcoming you back once again in the near future.

My best wishes,

Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager Hotel TORTUGA BAY
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
Tel. (809) 959-8229 Ext. 7220
Cel. (829) 797-1121

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2009

Quick review with photos attached...VIP airport service was very nice. It is included when you stay in the Villas. We were upgraded to a 2 bedroom villa upon arrival. That was a fantastic way to start our vacation! Traveled with young kids and spent most of the time at the beach or the club pool. Beds were comfy. Had 3 treatments at the spa. All were very enjoyable. Food was average. Not bad, but not great. Golf cart was a nice touch. Staff helpful. Don't miss the eco lagoon. We went there several times and the kids got the biggest kick getting to swim with the fish. This is the perfect spot if you want to relax with your family. No nightlife, but a beautiful setting. Very serene and exactly what we were looking for. Even on *crowded* days you would only see about 10 people. This isn't the kind of place where you have to get up early to reserve a chair. There are plenty....and many under your own palm tree :)
Cheers! And Happy Travels!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kenzielou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puntacana Resor... a, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2016

Dear Mr./Mrs. kenzielou1,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback following your stay at the Tortuga Bay. I was absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we met your expectations. We all look forward to welcoming you back once again in the near future.

My best wishes,

Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager Hotel TORTUGA BAY
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
Tel. (809) 959-8229 Ext. 7220
Cel. (829) 797-1121

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews