We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$347
US$270
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$293
US$171
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$278
US$153
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$391
US$229
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$165
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Breathless Punta Cana Resort & Spa(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$371
US$259
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$188
US$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$438
US$254
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$221
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$1,356
US$596
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (6,390)
Filter reviews
6,390 results
Traveller rating
3,481
1,799
685
238
187
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,481
1,799
685
238
187
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal sideinfinity poolpiano barcata tapathalassa restauranttapas restaurantthe sea blue restauranttao catrodeo steak housejuice barroyal guestsla toscanaswim up barsister resortsea grassmusty smellmain restaurant
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,485 - 3,490 of 6,390 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Catalonia Royal March 12th to 19th. We have somewhat different expectations on vacation and this resort appealed to my wife especially. The resort is very quiet and is perfect for busy people who are looking to regroup from a hectic lifestyle. Our agenda was simple - eat, sunbathe, drink, sleep - repeat. There was never a problem getting beach chairs (high quality, not plastic) and the drinks were excellent (except for the wine which may disappoint if that is your drink of choice). You could be served by friendly staff without getting off your beach chair or take a few steps to the bar with little to no wait. You would seldom hear any person raise their voice, or even speak it seemed anywhere throughout the resort - very "chill" as the kids say.

The staff were consistently friendly and helpful. We did not experience any issues with service throughout the stay. We stayed in a Deluxe Junior Suite. The room had a very musty smell upon arrival. We got a dehumidifier a few minutes after arrival and the issue was resolved. Our friends next door had no musty smell at all in their room. Our shower wall had a tendancy to leak if you were not careful aimng the hand held unit, which may have produced the musty smell. I read about power outages but saw none of that. The room lights do go out automatically when you leave the room for an extended period of time but the air stays on. Loved the bed! I asked for two extra beers in the mini fridge one night and they brought four for the next couple of days at no charge. Communication with staff was no problem at all. We did not try room service but saw the staff constantly delivering meals. We were located in the second building from the beach.

Last spring we stayed at the Grand Bahia Principe Ambar and debated the pros and cons of both adult resorts. The Catalonia is definitely quieter and the food was very good at all a la carte restaurants here. Went over to the other side for lunch one day but preferred the freshly prepared food on the Royal side. We went back to the Sea Blue (our favourite) for steak and lobster and it was superb both nights. Lunch at the Sea Blue was also excellent and prepared promptly by the chef. Lots of guests smoked after eating here - big turnoff for us but it was outdoors so not a huge problem. The Ambar rooms were more nicely appointed than our Junior Deluxe Suite at the Catalonia Royal, but the Royal delivers a bottle of rum upon arrival and has a nicer balcony sitting area with hammock and view. Ambar is in the middle of a highly populated stretch of beach - lots of action. The Catalonia is small and we came to recognize most guests by apperance within a couple of days. Very international flavour amongst guests at the Royal Catalonia. The cabanas across from our housing looked absolutely beautiful. Although guests were somewhat 'on disply' the rooms looked spectacular with private infinity pools and two story accomodations. It looked like many guests were upgrading there for a night or two. The Catalonia property is nice but subtle. Nothing here is over the top. The lobby is low key. It all fits with the quiet vibe. Guests all seemed very respectful of each other - friendly but not overly social, definitely not loud.. The Beach Party night was quite lively on our side - great drum/DJ combo. Very enjoyable with lots of dancing but ended promptly at 11pm. No games or activities like on the other side (we left the sister side party when the organized games began).

The Catalonia and Royal basically sit alone on this part of the beach. There is nothing but a small merchandise sales area one way down the beach, and nothing at all for a few kiklometers the other way. (Bonus here is the brief 8 minute ride to and from the airport).

I enjoy more action and people watching so there was little to see here and beach walking was somewhat boring. I did manage to work out in the spa most mornings, played some Volleyball at the sister resort, did some sea kayaking, etc.. I would love to have played golf on the little executive course on the grounds and the tennis courts looked good but we came for the beach.

If you need to relax and unwind this is the place. Food and service are both high quality. No dinner reservations required and no waiting anywhere for us. You are supposed to wear covered-toe shoes to dinner (I wore sandals and no one said a word). If you are going to the Japanese restaurant on the main resort you should arrive early as we did ( there were substantial waits there later in the evening). Pools are beautiful but both would be more comfortable with temperatures increased by a couple of degrees. The ocean beach is excellent, shallow, clear in most spots in front of the resort. Lots of satisfied snorkelers here. We saw people a good half mile from shore standing in waist high water. If you need to re-charge your batteries this is the place. A bit quiet for me but the rest of our group of four loved it! I was certainly well rested when arriving home. The crowd here varied in age from early 30's and up. No weddings on the beach here during our stay. No bed bugs anywhere in sight. I would recommend this resort to anyone looking to relax.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank dmarts9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuntaCanaCabezaToro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2011

Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to read your positive review from your recent stay with us at Catalonia Royal Bavaro. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and recommend our Hotel.

Thanks for staying with us, we do hope you will return to DR in the near future and we look forward to see you again soon at Catalonia Royal Bavaro.

Sincerely,

Josep Castellnou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

We stayed three nights after a four night stay at the family-friendly resort Catalonia Bavaro (right next door)

Check-in is very pleasant at this adults-only resort. A rum punch was served, all our bags handled by porters. We checked in, received beach towels at the desk but there were some in our room as well. Porter waited for us to check in then drove us to our room and carried most of our bags to our third floor room.

Room
We LOVED our room, it was breath-taking. we were in building #40 right across from the spa. The A/C didn't seem strong to us but it definately worked. Seating area for four near our deck from which we could see the sun set every night. Wednesday afternoon we were treated with a small bottle of rum and fruit plate, perfect for watching the sun set before we got ready to head out for dinner.

Restaurants
All restaurants on the Royale side are a la cart (order from menu and served, no buffets).
The only exception was Friday lunch paella was cooked and served on the beach (along with gazpatcho soup & rum punch) buffet style for all to enjoy.

Sea Blue
Wonderful food, great service, fantastic view - we ate here 2-3 times. Calamari was excellent, so was club sandwich, mango soup, dominican chicken, and California roll (no, not all in one sitting, we visited twice. ;-)

Cata Tapa Restaurant
This was a most interesting experience. Food served in small portions on plates with four sections, each portion 2-5 bites each. Husband had shrimp appetiser, I had tuna appetiser. Hubby‘s main course was pork, mine was turkey & mushroom crepe. We shared two desserts - chocolate truffle and blueberry - left the restaurant more than satisifed. Full bar service available at all Royal restaurants so we drank whatever we wanted. We did witness a party of four come in, sit, order, get first course and then leave with barely taking a bite, was odd.

Thalassa Restaurant
We loved our dinner meal at this restaurant - I had a stacked salad with artichokes & heart of palm. For dinner hubby had a well seasoned perfectly medium-rare steak, I had duck which was also good. Dessert was ‘chocolate five ways’ - oh my goodness was it good! Hubby tried fruit with custard, he said it was good.
We ate here for breakfast three mornings as well - egg orders taken by waiter and served,
rest of breakfast buffet style including make-your-own Bloody Mary which we enjoyed every morning.

The Royal has two pools and a beach area.
The Infinity Pool sits right next to the beach with a sea view, bar service from Sea Blue Restaurant. It's also right next to all the exclusive swimming pool suites which each have their own infinity pool.
The Thalassa Pool has a pool bar with in-pool seating and many grass-thatched umbrellas surrounding it. The beach has it's own bar and many comfortable chairs and grass-thatched umbrellas as well.

Resort
The lobby, bar, restaurants and pool areas all well equiped & conservatively decorated, but the grounds are not as lush as on the Bavaro side; wide open lawns on the Royal side. The fountains by the infinity pool & deluxe suites are gorgeous when lit up at night as is the pool by the lobby.

Entertainment
This resort is very quiet, no animation team - you want action, visit the Bavaro side (family-friendly side) which is included. There was a beach party night at Royal on Thursday night - dj dancing, lots of seating & bar set-up on the beach; was a lot of fun. Also piano music at the lobby bar in the evening, I think until 11:00pm.

We really enjoyed our stay at this resort - had hoped for 7 nights but were only able to be there 3 nights due to a mix-up with our booking agent. It was a lovely place, very relaxing - exactly what we needed in a winter break.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank JenGen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuntaCanaCabezaToro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2011

Dear Guest,

It really is an absolute pleasure to read your review.

You have beautifully outlined areas that made your stay worthwhile and we really do appreciate the time you took to create this posting.

We sincerely do look forward to welcoming you once again, hopefully very soon.

Thank you very much.

Josep Castellnou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

Beautiful weather and sandy beach, plenty of sun and shade options, very well maintained, nice rooms. Service was marginal at restaurants and food quality was similar. Tapas place was good bar service OK, keep tipping and it improves. Entertainment non existent; not a lot of levity here... not that we were looking for a party scene, we weren't... a bar tender with a personality or pool volleyball... there was none of that. Quiet; indeed! Casino is smoky and poor... no craps, mostly slots. Pools were sparkling clean but cold, only one small heated jetted hot tub.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeachyBride2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuntaCanaCabezaToro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post a review following your recent vacation at Catalonia Royal Bavaro.

Concerning the Entertainment we understand this issue, we have a very extensive program in our sister resort and in Royal we do a Beach Party once per week but we still are sorry for not been able to satisfy.

We do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Catalonia Royal Bavaro in the future.

Best Regards

Josep Castellnou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

If you just want to relax, this is the place. If you want more activities, you will find that here as well. Our vacation was wonderful. The grounds are beautifully kept. The service is fast and freindly (weather you tip or not). The food is fantastic, no matter what your tastes. Plenty of seats at the beach, in the sun or in the shade, if you want to sit by the pool however, you need to get there early. There are many day trips available. We took the Bavaro Runners Safari, it was fun and informative. We would recoment this trip to anyone interested. The nightly entertainment was OK. The music volume was way too loud, but we didn't let that get in the way of having a great time in the sun.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Poison_Mushroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

Since we paid about $900.00 less (for 2) than we did for Royal Suites Turquesa and NH Real Arena mirage concierge, I really wasn't expecting as much. The other reviews were right! This place is a steal! Great food (loved the grilled lobster at the Sea Blue...they call it a deli & snack bar, but they are open for dinner now, and the lobster is included.) The tapas restaurant was perfect for a romantic, quiet dinner. Great smoothies at the Juice Bar (easy to miss it...go down to the beach, then go right, past the massage beds), and also enjoyed the crepe Suzettes (on the "regular" side, where you get pizza and snacks by their pool...opens at 4 pm, just take a seat in the gazebo). The buffet was also great on the "other" side...we had breakfast there every 2nd day, and lunch and dinner once each. Great beds, super clean room, and no musty odors (3rd fl, building 38...36 & 38 have the deluxe rooms, closest to the infinity pool & the beach). The perfect weather made the week an ideal escape to relax. The staff was fantastic, couldn't ask for more smiles or better service!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AandMfromOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuntaCanaCabezaToro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2011

Dear Guest,

It is a great pleasure reading your review on your last stay at Catalonia Royal Bavaro.

We are so glad that the team provided you with memorable stay, the research that you did in looking for an ideal place to stay for your Punta Cana trip was definitely worth it!

Our team appreciates your kind words and we all look forward to hosting you in the near future!

Best Regards,

Josep Castellnou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews