We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Be Live Collection Punta Cana(Punta Cana)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
Hotel Naragua(Punta Cana)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (6,363)
Filter reviews
6,363 results
Traveller rating
3,460
1,794
684
238
187
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,460
1,794
684
238
187
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal sideinfinity poolpiano barcata tapathalassa restauranttapas restaurantthe sea blue restauranttao catrodeo steak housejuice barroyal guestsla toscanaswim up barsister resortsea grassmusty smellmain restaurant
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,304 - 3,309 of 6,363 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2011

My Girlfriend and I stayed on the @ 24- 28 of August in the resort loved it from the beginning from the entrance with drinks and the treatment we received prior to all of that. My girlfriend book it with a travel agent who arranged it we didn't know the treatment until we arrived but from the restaurants very five ***** stars Thalassa, Matatapas even the bar restaurant.
The bartenders very kind especially Roberto Reyes served me and also my girlfriend and knew when my drinks where running out tipped him handsomely, and the Blue Bar next to the infinitity pool excellent food, going a lil back to the rooms very comfortable enjoyable view there was a beautiful view to pool to beach where we where at the next time we go it will be for a whole week they won my vote for my next vacations. Good Job Catalonia!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joey0173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

I found this to be a very nice hotel for couples looking to have a quiet and relaxing few days' vacation - no more, no less. If you're looking for entertainment however, this is not the hotel for you. Having said that, everything else was fine, the service was excellent and the staff was very helpful in whatever concerns we had. We asked for a dehumidifier (good tip from a previous reviewer on this site), as the room was very humid when we arrived, and it was provided to us right away. Another point in its favor is the proximity to the airport - 15-20 minutes.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank miracor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, Management Assistant at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment. We are glad to know you had a relaxing and joyful vacation at our resort. About the entertainment, if you give us the pleasure of a second visit, we offer these services on the Catalonia Bávaro side, which you are free to enjoy any time while staying with us at Catalonia Royal.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

In short...Delicious food, big beautiful clean rooms, well kept grounds, private beach, and wonderful staff! First time in Punta Cana, we worried the food and accomodations would not be to our particular standards, but this hotel pleasantly surprised us all around and made it all look seamless!

We went to unwind for a week and that's exactly what this hotel provides.

We had the Deluxe Junior Suite with balcony, building 38, 3rd floor. Seriously, rooms were great...very clean and spacious with a lounge area, large walk in ceramic floor to ceiling shower, separate enclosed toilet, corner tub near bed, mini fridge stocked with water beer and softdrinks. Tastefully decorated.

The beach was clean, the constant breezes kept you cool, and the water temperature was perfect. We spent our mornings mellowing out under the palapas at the beach, and our afternoons mellowing out under the umbrellas at the Infinity pool. I had 2 wonderful massages on the beach operated by the hotel! There are lots of activities on and off the resort if you want to do more....but it's amazing how a little drink with a little alcohol can help you mellow out...we just couldn't get away from our comfy loungers LOL!

The only thing is the seaweed at the beach which is beyond the hotel's control and probably depends on the time of year you go as well. Also, the topless women sunbathing in front of the resort's classy outdoor 'Sea Grill' restaurant while we were eating just doesn't mix.

Special thanks to Dominga Payano who surprised us with some Dominican coffee to bring back home with us.

Also, special thanks to Miladis Ozorio at the Piano Bar who made us yummy cappuccino's every morning with her beautiful smile (the Dominican coffee is sooooo delicious) and she was so thoughtful to surprise us with a CD of Domenican music she made from home which has prolonged the wonderful memories of our vacation.

Hmmm...maybe the hotel should think about offering their guests a Cd of their music as a little memorabilia to take back home.

ALL of the staff here are really classy people...and don't even worry about the food or the cleanliness! Keep up the great work!

Room Tip: deluxe junior suite (renovated), 2nd floor, room facing the view near the spa.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank lisataffie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, Management Assistant at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2011

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comment, we are delighted that your first visit to Punta Cana was excellent, and up to your expectations. It’s always our goal to make your stay pleasant and relaxing.
It makes us happy to know you felt welcomed by our staff, and that they did their best to accommodate you.

Receive warm regards from our staff,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We chose this hotel for our honeymoon. It's a nice hotel, next to the beach, adults only. The staff is friendly although extremely tip-oriented. The service was average (the room snacks and beverages were not always replaced, under our bed it was very dirty, etc.), as the room we had (few signs of age). There is a nice variety of exclusive restaurants, some with delicious food (Mexican, American or the one at the beach). Avoid the Japanese restaurant (a circus!) and the larger buffet, common to the other hotels in this huge resort. We also went to the tiny casino and browsed the daily entertainment which seemed poor. All in all it was OK, a good 4 stars hotel to relax by the sea.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarlosPedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, Management Assistant at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment on trip advisor, your feedback is very important for us,
Thank you for choosing us as your honey moon vacation spot, we are glad you had overall a nice relaxing vacation, and had a chance to enjoy our facilities and variety of restaurants.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

I am re-typing this review because the free wi-fi internet access was again interrupted, maybe the 20th time only today after 3 days in a row of no internet access at all. The concierge is nice and well-intended, but no results.

I stay at the Catalonia Royal Bavaro as I write this review. Came 3 days ago, happy that the weather forecast proved 100% wrong. Beautiful weather instead of the announced T-storms and rains.

The property is large and the overall aspect is good. Nice spacious gardens, generous buildings and alleys. The pools are nice and well maintained.

I stay in a Superior Deluxe Suite in the Royal area. That's an "exclusive and the best" area in this resort. 12 nights were US$ 2,900.

The room is large, maybe 60 sqm. They have a round bathtub IN the room, next to the bed. No jacuzzi as advertised. Plain simple bathtub, no bubbles, no water heating and no hydromassage.
There is a separate shower enclosure without a door, a sink and another enclosure for the toilet. The toilet is NOT separated from the rest of the room, so smells and sounds from the toilet are perceived from the bed.
The lighting is insufficient. Several weak spots in well chosen area cannot compensate for the lack of a main light source. And in our case, 4 lighs do not work.
The air conditionning is fine. There is also a ceiling fan.
The furniture is fine.
Today I got the internet access in the room for the first time in 4 days.
Also today I killed 3 ugly red ROACHES in the same Superior Deluxe Suite. Hope they don't come mandatory with the internet.

The beach is fine. Lots of debris left by Hurricane Irene are being cleaned every day from the beach, but there are too many of them to get a clean beach, for now. The sand is fine and white, nice. The water is NOT as fine, by far. The swimming area is far too small to actually have a swim in it. And the enclosure consists mainly of a submerged concrete tubes chain covered with sediments that cut through your skin like a razor. At both ends, carelessly placed ropes covered with the same skin cutters.

Services:
In the whole resort, you don't tip, you don't get taken care of. Since tipping is not officially forbidden, the personnel only avoids big mistakes and merely strives to keep their jobs. They do not look professional because they are not. And it shows. They speak loudly to each other in the restaurants at evening dinner time, they stare at customers, they provide very inconsistent service etc.

Breakfast at Thalassa restaurant:
fair-at-most buffet, many 3-star hotels in Europe do better, MOST 3-star hotels in Barcelona (Catalonia, huh) do MUCH better.

Dinner at Thalassa restaurant:
gourmet type, dress code, exclusive for Royal customers.
Good meals. They don't know which wines in the list are sweet or dry. You don't finish your bottle, they offer to keep it for the next day. You want a real smile, you must tip.

Snacks at the beach:
Seablue snack bar, exclusive Royal use.
20-30 minutes to get a snack that is more like a regular meal. No fast food, no fast service. You tip, you get smiles and 5 minutes shorter service times.

Dinner at Cata Tapa restaurant:
exclusive Royal use, dress code. In the first 5 minutes after you get in there, you get smoked from the kitchen and your clothes smell overburnt oil. Overusage of the frying oil is a rule in all the restaurants here, but only here you get the smell in your mandatory formal dress code clothes. 20 minutes to get tapas for appetizers (kind of 4 small snacks assortment, well presented though). 25 minutes to learn that they cannot get you the CocoLoco cocktail and to be offered orange juice instead. 45 minutes to get the main course you orderd from the beginning. 80 grams of boiled beef on 30 grams of potato puree, that is. Agitated and chaotic personnel, they keep going in and out of the kitchen, half of them empty handed, while clouds of smoke get in the restaurant.

La Palapa and Gran Caribe restaurants: mid-quality, mid-diversity buffets with assorted service.

Bars at the beach and at the pools: I tip, I get smiles and the right amount of alcohol in my plastic glass served cocktails. My beautiful fiancee gets the double alcohol quantity in her cocktails without tipping, while the personnel stares TOO obviously at her body. Sometimes she gets my cocktails as well, lucky me.

N.B. you get long chairs on the beach, but no floating mattreses to take in the water. No service in the water, very poor service on the beach - one guy should serve for 100 people if they would not go at the bar.

Activities : you want 10 minutes of parasailing, you travel 10 minutes by BUS to another resort and another 10 back. And you have to dry from the water and to get dressed. Hobie cats : 2-TWO hobie cats for several hundreds customers. Kayaks : 8 or 10 kayaks seem enough for the demand. And two transparent plastic spheres you get in and laughed at by all the people on the beach while discovering it is impossible to maintain balance on the water. These are really nice.

Third-party provided activities: scuba diving on site by a company that choses much better its personnel. Nice guys, real smiles, visible care for the job, all of them.
Dolphin Explorer trip - visit to a dolphin habitat in the sea, captive dophins, sea lions and 2 tigers, but a lot of information, touching (not the tigers), swimming with (not the tigers, yeah), shows-overall a modern and responsibly managed animal research/fun resort. The trip is worth every of the US$169.00.

Still several days left, will update with anything relevant, provided I get further internet access.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank drv72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, Management Assistant at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2011

Dear Guest,

Your feedback is very valuable to us, thank you for taking your time and posting this comment,
I apologize for the troubles occurred throughout your vacation stay, and the inconvenience they may have caused you, I hope that for the next days to come, you continue enjoying our facilities, and get a final good impression of our Resort.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews