We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$570
US$284
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Bavaro Palace(Bavaro)
US$346
US$249
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$297/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Catalonia Royal Bavaro(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$178
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Portblue Le Sivory Punta Cana(Uvero Alto)(Great Value!)
US$265
US$225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Breathless Punta Cana Resort & Spa(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$280
US$237
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$365
US$281
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Occidental Punta Cana(Bavaro)
US$127
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$165/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$384
US$225
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
CHIC by Royalton Luxury Resorts(Uvero Alto)(Great Value!)
US$810
US$464
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$595
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,749)
Filter reviews
4,749 results
Traveller rating
3,864
531
208
74
72
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,864
531
208
74
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbutler bayronamaya restaurantroom servicedominican breakfasthorseback ridingour honeymoonspecial lunchpersonal butlerlaundry servicelobby barplunge poolbug sprayrelaxing vacationthatched roofwelcome homesmall resortocean front
Filter
Updating list...
3,747 - 3,752 of 4,749 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Flew to DR with BA in Premium Econ was good but stops in Antigua for an hour, you don't get off the plane. On arrival at airport met with Rep from Amstar, it took approx 45 mins to hotel on tarmac road missing the odd pothole or 2!. Once at the hotel, we were offered a cold glass of Ginger Tea, and after a quick check in, shown to the room. We had a swim out room on the ground floor (room 16) right by the beach and main pool area so we could catch a glimpse of the sea from our Terrace. We did some research via Trip and Hotel's website, throughout our stay the Hotel did not quite match our expectations. The room needed a bit of Tender Loving Care and the shower did not drain away properly due to the shower floor sloping the wrong direction! The bed was very comfortable and large, the room was very clean, we had a change of towels every day and the nightime turn down only let us down the once! The grounds were kept immaculate together with the beach area that was cleaned every morning. The Beach itself was a good size and you could easily walk for miles, the sand was not pure white and the sea not crystal blue but the Hotel is on the Atlanitc side. This would also account for the strong breeze most days, fortunately, our room sheltered us and we were able to sit out each evening with our bottle of Italian Sparkling Wine (i.e Champagne as the Hotel calls it).The choice of food was a big disappointment, lunch was only avaliable in one restaurant overlooking the sea and it was ok but with a limited menu for a couple staying 7 nights. Evening dinner was very limited, there are 3 restaurants however we only had the opportunity to eat in them once during our 7 night stay, if the Authors Dinner or Wine Pairing Dinner is on we only had the choice of 1 restaurant which had a limited menu and specialised in Thai based food, so we found ourselves having room service 4 nights, we really feel that at least one other restaurant should have been opened or a buffet set up to provide some choice, at no point were all 3 opened. The Lobby Bar (the only place to have a drink in the evening) provided some chairs but if full it would be difficult to find a seat! We were lucky in that the Hotel seemed 40% full so room service, beds on the beach was very good and we had no issues. If you are prone to getting bitten like myself, then wearing Bug Repellent is a must especially around the Lobby Area. The Spa was good but the treatments were expensive, however daily deals were offered. You also had the option of using the Steam Room, Sauna, Spa Pool and the Relaxation area at no charge whether you had a treatment or not. The Gym had a limited number of equipment but it was air conditioned and opened 24 hours, you needed your room key and this would open the door and activate the lights.During our stay we got the impression that if you tipped you would get a better service, however as the Hotel was not full this wasn't an issue for us. We were glad to have a room on the ground floor, the rickety wooden walkways did not feel safe and would be difficult to walk on in the evening with lack of light and heeled shoes! We did find however, that the Hotel was wheelchair friendly with ramps and access to most areas. This had nothing to do with the Hotel but they did their best to help, we were let down by our Rep Amstar concerning our departure, we just made it to the airport at our own cost after the pick up did not turn up. Overall, this would be a good hotel for a short break of 3-4 days, however, staying longer than this with the limited food options and shower issues (i.e no hot water every morning) would put us off returning and hence the rating of 3 out of 5.

Room Tip: Ground floors with swim out.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank armada69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlainBERTHELOT, Manager at Zoetry Agua Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review.

We apologize for the inconveniences you encountered and appreciate your feedback, as to help us improve.

Our Housekeeping Department is already on top of the lack of turndown service the one night that they unfortunately missed your Suite.

Also, our Maintenance team is tackling the shower's drainage issue, as well as ensuring that hot water gets to every room and as fast as porssible.

Indeed, we serve the nice Italian sparkling wine you mention adn slowly but surely, are changing the habit of mistalkenly calling any sparkling wine Champagne - which, as you are aware, is a Geographical denomination of origin...

Just for the record though, our occupancy rate for this month has always been at 80% or more; still, thanks for transmitting the fact that beach beds were always available and that you felt that we had less guests (meaning, no overcrowding).

Our SPA's pricing structure and the recognized Natura-Bissé products used there, correspond to a world-class facility.

All our staff know that gratuities are included and distributed accordingly, so we will stress this element to all our team-members ASAP again, so that voluntary tipping does not influence our service quality/standards.

We are working constantly in up-keping and bettering our wooden structure and lighting.

Concerning the Food & Beverage offer, we are sorry that your expectations were not met in this sense, even though - especially as we are a 51 Suite Boutique hotel -, we actually offer 7 dining options included during a week's stay i.e. 3 different specialty restaurant, room service, 2 culinary events (Wine Pairing Dinner and Author's Cuisine Dinner) and the Caribbean Beach Dinner, plus for an extra cost private Romatic dinners on the beach or in our Wine Cellar. We also have daily specials at Lunch and Dinner...

Should you any further information, please e-mail us at info.zoapc@ZoetryResorts.com .

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon and deliver an impeccable experience on all fronts.

Thanks again, best regards and till soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

My partner Pete and I went on vacation thinking we were going to the Dreams Agua.
When we arrived after traveling 4.5hrs., the manager brought us to a preferred section and served us Mamosas. It was just what the doctor ordered...LOL. We were advised that we were chosen to be upgraded. He proceeded to show us a picture of the Zoetry. The description of it pleased Pete so much that he looked at me and said,"Let's do this". Even though all I wanted to do was get a bathing suit on and go swimming, we took their car service and proceeded to The Zoetry, which was another 1 hour or so further. When we arrived at the driveway, I was so pleasantly surprised. The place was so quaint and beautiful. The property was so lovely, with beautiful plants. Everything was so clean, open, and airy. The staff was very attentive. They wanted our stay to be like a dream, which for me... it was.
The food was excellent in all three restaurants. I highly recommend the Grass Fed Filet Mignon at Olena. The best I ever ate.
All the Rooms were thatched roof tops. I loved the way everything looked.
The bar was fully stocked with top shelf liquor and the bartender Kenny was the nicest person. He gave you what ever custom made drink you wanted to create.
I gave gratuities every time I was served by the employees of the Zoetry. They were very grateful.
Our room was upstairs, so the only minor fault is that the wooded walkway need work. You do have to be careful.

.

Room Tip: I think that the middle of the property is good if you are upstairs like us. .
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madeline O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paco A, Guest Relations Manager at Zoetry Agua Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your great experience with others. This comments cheers us to keep working hard to satisfy our guests. as we mentioned before, we are already working on the wooden walk way, so you dont have to worry about it for your next visit.

Warm Regards....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

My wife and I spent a week at Zoetry and returned on March 17, 2012. Having never been to an all inclusive resort we had heard some horrifying stories. Not with Zoetry, this place is unique to itself. From the moment you step onto the grounds you knew you were in a special place. Our room number 33 upstairs was very nice and we had a view of the cascading pool below us. If you get the opportunity to stay upstairs you will have a nice lanai to enjoy breakfast, etc. The employees were terrific: Juan Antonio, Yahaira, Joaquin, Kenny, just to name a few. The food was excellent in all three restaurants and the liquor and wine selections were top shelf. This is a place to truly relax. The upper wood walk way needs some repair, but on a whole it was nothing to make you want to go home. I will try another Zoetry Resort in the future. Remember your in a foreign country so if they bring you the wrong thing don't go balistic, just ask them to correct it, which they will do in a timely fashion with a smile. The staff works real hard to make your stay memorable, so every now and then it is nice to give a gratutity.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank brooklyndodgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paco A, Guest Relations Manager at Zoetry Agua Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of the Zoetry Agua family, we wish to thank you for sharing your experience about your stay with us.

Juan Antonio, Yahaira, Joaquin, Kenny and all our team we are very glad to know that our effort and dedication to take care for our guests is recognized.

We are very pleased to know that we reached your expectations and of course we are already working to improve the wooden walk way so you can enjoy it in your next visit.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Zoetry Agua Punta Cana soon.

Regards...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Customer service is a priority - frequent (but not intrusive ) enquiries about our satisfaction with all aspects of the hotel proved this. Food is amazing and plentiful and the service on the beach is fantastic (including the cookery demo!) We would certainly go again
Don't miss the complementary massage

Room Tip: Ocean view Junior suite upper floor ( room 47 )
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meg000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paco A, Guest Relations Manager at Zoetry Agua Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2012

Dear Guest,

It is definitely motivating for all our staff, to receive such a positive comments about our food and service. We are glad that we fully met your expectations and will keep on working hard to make your next experience with us even better.

Thanks so much for your review and we look forward to your next visit.

Regards…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

I am not one of those people who are angry at the world so they come to this forums to complain because they expected absolute perfection from everything and everyone. I am aware that the world and the people in it are not perfect. I am very forgiving, but I do look for places that try to make it right after an issue has been identified.

To get right to the point, here are the pros and cons:

PROS:
-Beautiful, small and well kept Hotel.
-Nicely appointed, modern rooms, beautiful pools.
-Most of the staff was really wonderful, friendly, very accommodating and eager to make sure you have a wonderful time. Others... not so much see the CONS - Service section below.
-You can get into the pool right from your room.
-Food was OK, not great, not bad.
-If you need a place to relieve stress where you don't want to be bother by other people or the noise of most of the other all inclusive hotels, this may be a good option.

CONS:
First, the property.
-It is in the middle of nowhere, 1 hour away from the Airport (this is a personal preference, you may like how isolated it is). Keep in mind that if you want to do any activities outside the property like snorkeling, Buggies, etc, get ready for at least 30-45 minutes ($50-$60 USD) taxi ride.
-Pictures on the brochure have been extensively Photoshopped - BEWARE! Although the Hotel itself is beautiful and true to the brochure, the aerial pictures of the beach and surrounding area is not as it depicted. The water isn't as blue or Caribbean emerald green since it is actually on the Atlantic. The beach isn't as clean and is actually surrounded by an enormous amount of natural and man made debris on both sides of the property. There is a dilapidated house right next door that somehow has "disappeared" from the brochure pictures.
-Contrary to what the brochures say, you CANNOT go snorkeling right outside of the property. The Atlantic Ocean in that area doesn't offer any snorkeling (per the hotel staff). You need to schedule a (very expensive) excursion to do any snorkeling. One of the main reasons why we picked the property was because of the supposed access to "snorkeling right off the beach". This was not the case.

Second, the service
-First time in DR, Reception failed to mention that you cannot drink the water from the faucet, wife got really sick.
-Asked for a blanket on Thursday since I wanted the A/C full on but my wife was cold. Didn't get it until Sunday, the night before we left.
-Shower didn't have hot water. Addressed this on Thursday, never got fixed.
-The blackout curtains had holes in them so the light would get through in the morning.
-We don't drink very much if at all and made it clear that we were not there to drink but to relax, yet some of the staff kept trying to bring us drinks. This demeans the quality of the property given the room rates and type of audience they cater to, and makes it seem much more of a party hotel similar to other properties down the coast.
-Property has an ongoing array of vendors who are very aggressive in trying to sell you their stuff. For a property that costs upwards of $800-$1400 a night, I find this unacceptable.

BEWARE! THIS IS WHAT RUINED THE EXPERIENCE FOR US. STAY AWAY FROM THIS AND YOU'LL HAVE A MUCH NICER TIME!
Really aggressive "Club Membership" sales pitch that was supposed to last 90 minutes lasted 8 hours. They drag the presentation by telling you about all of these wonderful discounts on properties around the world. After 3 hours of this, they dropped the bomb. The "Membership" actually costs thousands of dollars! The sales person kept trying to re negotiate and lower the price offering us "special deal" after "special deal". We finally walked away when we demanded our credit card and IDs be returned since the deal we were sold was not the same as what the contract showed. Really sketchy practice, actual contracts specifically states that you may not speak to anyone about the deal that you got. Other clauses in the contract remove any and all responsibility from the "Club" company. Never finalized the contract since the terms were ridiculous, yet my credit card was charged $7000. I had to contact the bank to deal with this. Since these sales are run from the parent company (they have a huge room devoted to this sales practice right off the reception area) and not the hotel, I couldn't get any help from the hotel staff since it was Saturday and the Club Membership people were nowhere to be found. Not my idea of a relaxing vacation...

Room Tip: there's only 51 rooms, they are all pretty nice.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank fercho71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlainBERTHELOT, General Manager at Zoetry Agua Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your remarks / as management, we would have appreciated the chance to address your issues directly on-site.

Still, we aplologize about the inconveniences you encountered and accordingly have already taken measures to:

- Systematically inform all of our arriving guest upon check-in, that - as in any other 3rd world country...-, they must avoid drinking water from the faucets i.e. that is why we have plenty of bottled and/or potable drinking water available throughout the property and inside each Suite;

- We have replaced the black-out curtains that were not up to standard;

- Sorry about the punctual issue you had with the Hot water; we are working hard to fix it;

- A miscommunication concerning the blanket must have happened, especially since there are always 2 extra blankets in each Suite...

- We have spoken with the Art & Cigar vendors, so that they attenuate their sales approach;

- In terms of the Unlimited Vacation Club - indeed a separate entity under the same Corporate Umbrella -, we have asked them to immediately adapt their operating procedures to our guest's profile; on the other hand, we feel we were unjustly penalized by your rating in this sense, because the influence of your UVC experience greatly affected your overall review.

Additionally, we are compelled to clear-up the following points you also raised:

- A map shows our location and all our brochures, website, etc. stipulate this;

- Our property's pictures are only meant to advertise our hotel, on top of the fact that the house you refer to was constructed after the aerial photo was taken;

- Of course anyone can snorkel from our beach and we provide the respective equipment at no charge;

- The seawater color very often is as beautiful as you see it on our advertising materials; still, mother nature can change conditions anytime: that is beyond our control...

- Our quality standards of service drive us to always be pending of our guests' needs; therefore, when our staff asks if they need a drink, first of all it does not forcefully imply an alcoholic one at all, and secondly, we never push anyone to consume alcohol in excess - especially as we are a relaxing haven/wellness resort and not a Party one!


Should you need any further follow-up, please e-mail us at info.zoapc@ZoetryResorts.com .

In the meantime, we thank you again and look forward to hearing from you soon.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews