We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandals Royal Plantation
Nearby Hotels
Reggae Hostel Ocho Rios(Ocho Rios)(Great Value!)
US$50
US$41
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Bar/Lounge
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel(Ocho Rios)(Great Value!)
US$115
US$112
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kaz Kreol Beach Lodge(Ocho Rios)(Great Value!)
US$103
US$88
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chrisanns Beach Resort(Ocho Rios)(Great Value!)
US$88
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lion House Jamaica(Ocho Rios)(Great Value!)
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$270
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jamaica Inn(Ocho Rios)
US$398
US$339
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moon Palace Jamaica(Ocho Rios)
US$641
US$553
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,758)
Filter reviews
2,758 results
Traveller rating
2,215
369
122
36
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,215
369
122
36
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswobbly peacockle papillonbeach butlerroyal grilleast beachterrace restaurantfrench restaurantpeter fraserfrench balconyarnold nugentbutler servicelobster bltrose waterour honeymooneast wingfood and beverage managerjamaican night
Filter
Updating list...
1,976 - 1,981 of 2,758 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Do recommend the food was excellent , the butler service was faultless, hotel was in very good condition, recommend to stay here

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

SiLiW has more or less echoed our thoughts on our trip - but I want to share just how great Royal Plantation is! From the moment we walked through the doors until the butler waved us goodbye we had the best holiday ever. I was taken ill on the Monday whilst eating at SGR next door (nothing to do with the food btw!) and the care I was afforded by the staff at SGR, the nurse, the doctor on call and then our butler, Sheldon, and Imobne the assistant manager cannot be faulted. Sheldon and Imobne stayed well over their "clocking off" time to ensure I was ok and to escort us back to SRP - they checked up on me every single day and even made sure our fridge was stocked with Gatorade to help my recovery! Our other butler was Richard and I can honestly say we had the two best butlers at the Plantation. From drawing hearts in the sand at the beach, to special bubble baths and devising the menu and serving us dinner from Room Service, the whole experience was completely enhanced by Sheldon and Richard. All the staff were so friendly and made us feel like we were the only people there. I cannot recommend the hotel highly enough and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lindie163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This was our second trip to Royal Plantation in two (2) years and the service and resort is still excellent. It all starts with the staff who give it everything they have all the time. Peter Fraser is a wonderful manager who understands how to deliver first rate service and gets it done through his staff. Beach service is very good as Adrian just rocks. The barkeepers at the Wobbly Peacock are great and I am referring to Gladstone and Marcelleus.

In terms of the food, it is fab-o. Le Pappillon for the evening is as good as it gets. The Terrace dining during the day and at night is very good. During the day, you can dine at the beach if you wish or on the patio. The menu is varied and the food/drink very good.

Our butlers were Neal and Fiona and both were good with Neal especially delivering first rate service. It is a relaxing time to connect with your spouse/significant other. If you want loud music with lots of activities, go to the Sandals next door but be prepared for a rowdy bunch of dudes and gals. If you want a private relaxing time with friendly staff, few hassles and a comfortable beach, I highly recommend the Royal Plantation.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewJerseyButch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

After traveling around the Carribbean we have finally found a place to return to. We experienced an ultimately relaxing week of blissful weather and decadent pampering. The attention to comfort and superb service was hard to leave. All the restaurants had culinary delights to please any palate. The butlers, Marvin and Kenton, we're always attentive. Peter was a fountain of information and eager to please. Olivia's welcoming smile at the Wobbly Peacock and Marcilous's amazing cocktails were our pre-dinner ritual every evening. As all the guests agreed that the Royal Plantation is a definite return destination!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzyseaview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

This hotel is worth the trip. As brits we had a 9.5 hr flight a 1.4hr wait in the arrivals hall (be prepared for Jamaican time at passport control) not sure this is the norm but there was nearly a riot. Then a 1.5 hr transfer (if you have booked a virgin holiday make sure you get on the private transfer to the RP as the rep pointed us to the Sandals lounge but for Virgin Holiday travellers a private transfer is included to this hotel, so we missed out there and had to wait around for the Sandals transport). It was around 9pm (2am UK time) when we arrived at the hotelso were tired. Our butlers were seeing to someone else so were not available when we arrived and in fact we did not use them that much. So much detail has been written previously suffice to say the food and drinks are top quality. We stayed a week and did not get bored of the menu. The service is there if you wish to use it, don't be frightened to ask. We were not use to such service and so did not really know what to ask. We found our own way around the resort (which does not take long so go explore yourself which is part of the adventure) we did not actually bump into our butlers until day 3. I felt if you do not contact them they would not necessarily make first contact with you but I guess this was due to not being available when we first arrived. Beaches are small so no long walks here but plenty of sea activities if you wish to partake in non-motorised sports. Just try them and if you haven't been on a hobie-cat before just ask the watersports chaps and they will take you out. Hotel - superbly clean, great food, quality drinks, good service. We are not regualr gym goers but went 3 times here, nicely airconditioned about 3 runners lots of weights and walkers and TV's to prevent running-boredom. Beware the pool is small and cold and a boiling hot outside tub. Reading this back doesn't seem to reflect the title but it was truly lovely and we enjoyed every minute. Well equipped room (except no slippers), personally I would have preferred to have slippers than bathrobes so don't have to wear outdoor shoes inside. Loved it. Thanks to the Manager for running a great hotel and being visible to his guests and stopping to chat - made a nice touch.

Room Tip: You don't need to upgrade here if you can't afford it, the basic room is just fab.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SiLiW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews