We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,855)
Filter reviews
2,855 results
Traveller rating
2,301
376
124
36
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,301
376
124
36
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wobbly peacock le papillon beach butler royal grill east beach french restaurant terrace restaurant peter fraser french balcony arnold nugent lobster blt butler service rose water our honeymoon east wing the general manager jamaican night
Filter
Updating list...
1,247 - 1,252 of 2,855 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2015

We just returned from a five night stay at RP!I It is a "Slice of Heaven", what and amazing resort! Its peaceful, beautiful, clean and so much more! Every employee, no matter what there job is. are polite, helpful and smiling!!! We both agree that the food is outstanding, with a big variety, my husband can be critical. We did a few outside excursions horseback riding, bobsled, tram ride and zip lined!! Meanwhile, back at the resort there is plenty to do, if you want to! Both beaches are small, we were fine with that. There are also two piers where there are beach chairs set up. We never found them crowded, you could always find a chair. People do save chairs, but its not as bad as some people make it out to be. :)))! We snorkeled, not to many fish but it was fun! Paddle boarded and kayaked! We did visit Sandals Grande next door, it is a totally different atmosphere. This was our first all inclusive, Sandals defiantly fit the bill!!! Please feel free to ask any question's!!

Room Tip: As said before, all rooms face the ocean. There are several trees on the East wing that would block some of your view! We were on the third floor, west wing with a balcony! We like a balcony so it worked for us!
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Natalie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2015

What an amazing review, Natalie!
It sounds like you had quite an adventure in Jamaica and we could not be happier to hear how much you enjoyed your visit at Sandals Royal Plantation. We are so pleased that our staff made your very first All-Inclusive experience a spectacular one and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for another "Slice of Heaven"!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2015 via mobile

We are just back from a week long stay at the Sandals Royal Plantation and look forward to booking another vacation! The SRP far exceeded any expectations in regard to food/drink, aesthetics, accommodations, and STAFF! Our Butlers, Olivia and Hector were outstanding in their attention to detail, understanding our needs and offering appropriate recommendations for food and activities. They were highly professional, comfortably personable and always upbeat. As a "selective" eater, I found the menu choices varied and absolutely five star in all of the restaurants on the Plantation! The beaches were always well groomed and staffed and the weather was absolutely perfect! The SRP is a quiet home-away-from-home with all the perks and then some. We enjoyed scuba diving, kayaking, massages, and just hanging out on the beach (naps were at the top of the list too!). We also enjoyed new dishes we will be bringing home thanks to the cooking advice of some locals. A great place to unwind and be pampered or just get away from it all! Greatly enjoyed our stay; highly recommended.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Sharon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2015

Thank you for your review of Sandals Royal Plantation, Sharon.
We are thrilled that you enjoyed the beautiful scenery, delicious meals and the warm spirit of our fantastic staff! At Sandals, we take pride in cultivating a truly relaxing atmosphere for our couples and we appreciate your kind remarks to this effect. We hope to welcome you back in the near future for another incredible Caribbean getaway!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2015

We can hardly wait to return (we've been four times and the fifth return trip is already booked)! The RP is a top-quality, casually elegant resort. The management and staff go out of their way to ensure your every need is met. From the fresh made breakfast with Blue Mountain Coffee to the elegant dinners, the food here is outstanding (the main reason we keep returning). If you're lucky enough to catch Rojjah's Thursday night show you will have witnessed the pinnacle of Resort entertainment!!!
I can guarantee that after a week at the Royal Plantation, you will come home feeling spoiled and rested (unless you spend too much time with a certain couple from Goat Acre, England! ;)

See you in February (or before...) Richard and Sheldon!

Scott (Garland) & Gina

PS Order the Escovitch fish for breakfast (yummy).

Room Tip: No bad rooms here!
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2015

Dear Scott and Gina,
We are truly honored by your high praise and so happy that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at Sandals Royal Plantation once again. We appreciate your loyalty throughout the years and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Our staff will be delighted to hear that they exceeded all of your expectations. We cannot wait to welcome you back for your fifth visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2015

This was our fourth stay at a sandals Resort, our first at this location. If your a Sandals junkie like we have become this resort will leave a lot to be desired. If you think the Butler service offered is going to be as great as your experience at other locations think again. Butlers are no where to be seen on most days, they pop by occasionally, and in some instances you may not see them at all but twice, arriving and departure of course because that is when the hand comes out. Our understanding was that Sandals own rules are no tipping except for the Butlers however at this location it is blatant at the pool and bars. Don't get us wrong most all of the regular staff members wonderful. The management could learn a lot from the services provided at the Sandals location in Emerald Bay Bahamas and Negril.

Room Tip: get a room with a Juliette balcony, they are larger
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank sandyfeetBurlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2015

Hello and thank you for reaching out to us.
We are truly disappointed to learn of your recent experience at Sandals Royal Plantation, particularly after the great experience you have had at our resorts in the past. We apologize if you found any aspect of your stay to be lacking and we are grateful that you took the time to bring your concerns to our attention so that our staff can address them. I understand that the resort management team has already made contact with you and are looking into the matters you mentioned. I am confident that they will not only do their utmost to resolve any outstanding issues but will also ensure that our future guests do not have similar feedback. It is our sincere hope that you will visit with us again and afford us the opportunity to regain your confidence in our brand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2015

My wife Marie and I stayed at the Royal Plantation for the second year in a row. Last year we enjoyed it so much we contacted our travel agent as soon as we got home to book for this year. Sandals provides transportation from the airport and our driver was very friendly and informative. We can't decide what is more impressive, the staff or the food. Our butlers Olivia and Hector anticipated our needs and took care of everything for us. The rest of the staff, including the General Manager and the Manager will greet you by name happily handle any requests you have. As for the food, I gained 5 pounds despite walking and swimming every day. The quality is unbelievable. You won't be disappointed at any of the restaurants. Being a smaller resort, 74 suites it is a quiet, intimate getaway. The resort was fully booked but we never had trouble getting a chair at the beach or pool. The beach butlers are a big plus. We love Jamaica and our one big regret is that we didn't come to the Royal Plantation years ago. To the staff, we'll be back next year with more Girl Scout cookies.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2015

Hello Michael,
What an amazing review! It was wonderful to read about the fantastic time you had at Sandal Royal Plantation and that you enjoyed every moment of your stay! Your kind remarks truly reflect the hard work and dedication of our entire staff and we are grateful for all of your feedback.
We certainly look forward to welcoming you back again and we cannot wait to create more beautiful memories with you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews