We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Service, Outstanding Food. Beautiful Surroundings.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandals Royal Plantation
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2015

We recentaly visited the Royal Plantation for a 5 night stay in April, 2015. You absolutely can not go wrong by staying here. I'll break down the visit and mention what we found exceptional and worthwhile.

We decided to use Club Mobay at the airport in Montego Bay. It was so helpful. We arrived on a Friday and the lines for immigration were long. The representative from Club Mobay met us as we de-planed and made sure our immigration forms were completed properly. This is important and can result in delays if not done properly! They escorted us through a private immigration and customs line which took us, literally, less than a minute! We were given the option to go to Sandals lounge or Club Mobay in the airport. We went to the Sandals lounge for a quick change before the van ride. Club Mobay is especially worthwhile when departing. I would advise you to look into it as it is a great angst reducer!

We were taken by mini-van to Sandals Royal Plantation. We were the only couple on the bus and it was a very nice 90 minute ride. We picked the driver's mind for suggestions in Jamaica. You should tip these drivers as they are not Sandals employees.

We were met at the resort immediately and given champagne and cold towels. We were introduced to our Butler, Hector, and escorted to our room, #161. This was an end room on the first level on the West end of the resort. I loved the location. The view was great and we also had end-unit windows (which opened) which allowed us to have two vantage points to the ocean. It doesn't matter how high you are....the views of the blue and aqua Caribbean are fantastic.

The rooms are lovely. It is true that they are somewhat dated and in some need of renovation, but they are clean, decorated nicely and the French doors that open to the Caribbean are very unique and special. We had a bathroom that had a seperate whirlpool tub and shower. It still felt slightly cramped and the single vanity would be better served with more counter space. A double vanity would be even nicer! Still, the rooms and views are very comfortable and welcoming.

Our butlers, Hector and Olivia, were fantastic! You contact them with a cell phone they provide. They arrange your dinner reservations and any other excurions, spa appts, snorkeling trips, etc. They are always trying their best to provide you with anything you may need to make your vacation better. Although tipping is not required, most folks we talked to do, indeed, tip their butlers at the end of the stay. We tipped 15 dollars a day, but that's up to you.

The pool is very small, but uniquely situated on an upper level from the beach. Most people at this resort use the beaches, not the pool. If you're a pool person, this is probably not the resort for you. Still, the pool area has some neat tucked-away spaces to listen to music or read a book in relative privacy while still having a great view of the beach and ocean. The grounds are immaculate and very lush and tropical. Very well maintained. The two beaches are not endless, but they are very clean and the water was warm and great to hang out in. We had no problem with umbrellas, but if you head to the beach at 11 am, you'll probably be stuck without one. Even so, there are numerous other shady places to hang out in or there are plenty of lounge chairs in the sun. The beach butlers bring you drinks, water, cucumbers for your eyes and appetizers! So nice!

The food...fantastic. Papillon...stellar. We're not foodies, but we're close. And we were very happy with all of our meals. Our friends are cooking freaks and they loved the food. We ventured to the Grande Riviera and tried out Kelly's Dockside on our last night. It was also excellent. The one criticism is the house wine....it is supposedly Beringer, but I didn't find any of the house wine very good. That was kind of a downer for me as I really enjoy good wine. I didn't feel that I should have to pay extra for good wine as the Royal Plantation is not cheap!

Excursions and Extras. We did enjoy a couples massage in a hidden spot overlooking the ocean. It was fantastic! I'm not much of a massage guy but this was in a great location and my wife loved it. I highly recommend people go to the Blue Hole. This is not an excursion that Sandals sponsors, but your butlers will set you up with transportation if you decide to go. (about 100 bucks for a vanload). The Blue Hole is a cool, limestone, waterfall formation with several pools that you can venture into and explore. There are guides that take you around for about 10 bucks! It is not commercialized yet, but it will be as it is beautiful, exciting and great fun. You can't do it if you can't ambulate well. There are plenty of opportunities to dive or jump from various heights (5 feet to 30 feet!). Kudos to Mike, our guide, who was fantastic and helpful in deciding what was safe for us.

All in all, a great vacation. We're in our early 50's and we loved the Royal Plantation. The Grande Riviera next door is a much more festive and boisterous atmosphere and we did venture over there once or twice, but it was very nice to come back. You have to take the shuttle over to the GR or wade through the knee high ocean to get there, but it's easy if you want to go.
Sorry so long, but I hope this is helpful.

Room Tip: The end rooms have opening windows that face the ocean as well as the French doors. I think all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank kippster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2015

Thank you for your review of Sandals Royal Plantation!
We are thrilled that you had a wonderful stay with us and we certainly appreciate you sharing your insights with not only us but with the other members which I'm sure they found beneficial as well. I will be sure to share your suggestions with our Management team for further review as we are always exploring ways to make our guests' experiences even better.
We look forward to welcoming you back one day for another incredible vacation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,611)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,005 - 1,009 of 2,611 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2015 via mobile

This is an amazing place. So beautiful and peaceful. All the rooms are butler suites. Kenroy our butler was so fabulous. He made out trip excellent. Had everything planned for is. He also had baths ready and decorated often! Thanks for a great honeymoon Kenroy.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Lauralovestrinity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2015

Hello Laura,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We were delighted that your honeymoon at Sandals Royal Plantation was everything you had hope it would be and that you returned home with such happy memories. We always want to make such special occasions as perfect as possible and it's fantastic to hear that our staff member made certain that it was during your time with us. We look forward to creating another memorable experience for you on your next trip to paradise!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2015

Royal Plantation is a very nice, upscale all-inclusive resort, with only 75 rooms so it is much more boutique than what you might picture as a Caribbean all-inclusive resort. There's not wild dance parties and beach volleyball or ice luges, so if you're looking for a hardcore party spot, you're better off at another place. However, if you are looking for gourmet-level food and an incredible beach, then Sandals Royal Plantation is a good choice. We are pretty picky about our food and find this to be very good. The French restaurant, Le Papillon, is particularly nice. Note to American travelers - they serve at a pace similar to a nice European restaurant, so be prepared for a 2-hour meal.

We also really enjoy the beach and water sports. The twice-daily snorkel tour is excellent. They take you to a couple of different coral reefs that are about a half mile offshore. If you are an active person and will do a lot of water sports, you will probably prefer the East Beach because that is where the snorkel tours, Hobie Cats, paddleboards, and kayaks are. The other beach is more to just chill and/or drink heavily because the bar is right there.

The golf course is a legitimate course that most golfers will enjoy. My wife and I are are 14 and 20 handicappers, respectively, and we found the course to be nice and very playable. We played 3 separate days. If you plan to play multiple days, you can pay in advance. For example, we paid $105 each for 3 days of golf carts & caddie. Then we tipped the caddie $40 each day. Still way cheaper than paying for a championship course in the Caribbean.

The gym is a bit outdated but if you want to grab a quick half hour on a treadmill and/or do a bit of lifting, it's not bad. The RP staff told us they plan to update it in the next year. That will be good. My wife really enjoyed the free yoga classes down on the doc, taught by a really cool Rastafarian guy.

One of the nice perks of RP is that you can venture over to the Grande Riviera next door to use their giant pools (with swim up bars) and restaurants. We thought the restaurants at RP are much better than those at GR but it's good for a change of pace. We had a good experience at the Manor restaurant one night and then tried it again on a Saturday night and it wasn't as good (kind of a zoo that night). The new speakeasy bar called "The RabbitHole" is very cool.

Room Tip: Don't pay for the wifi. Just accept the free option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Boston_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2015

Hello and thank you for your review!
It's truly great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able earned your stamp of approval with our delicious fine dining options. It seems that you got to totally unwind and have a bit of fun at our properties which is exactly the kind of excellent feedback we love to receive.
We look forward to welcoming you back again for another fabulous Caribbean getaway!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2015

We just returned from a five night stay at RP!I It is a "Slice of Heaven", what and amazing resort! Its peaceful, beautiful, clean and so much more! Every employee, no matter what there job is. are polite, helpful and smiling!!! We both agree that the food is outstanding, with a big variety, my husband can be critical. We did a few outside excursions horseback riding, bobsled, tram ride and zip lined!! Meanwhile, back at the resort there is plenty to do, if you want to! Both beaches are small, we were fine with that. There are also two piers where there are beach chairs set up. We never found them crowded, you could always find a chair. People do save chairs, but its not as bad as some people make it out to be. :)))! We snorkeled, not to many fish but it was fun! Paddle boarded and kayaked! We did visit Sandals Grande next door, it is a totally different atmosphere. This was our first all inclusive, Sandals defiantly fit the bill!!! Please feel free to ask any question's!!

Room Tip: As said before, all rooms face the ocean. There are several trees on the East wing that would block...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Natalie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2015

What an amazing review, Natalie!
It sounds like you had quite an adventure in Jamaica and we could not be happier to hear how much you enjoyed your visit at Sandals Royal Plantation. We are so pleased that our staff made your very first All-Inclusive experience a spectacular one and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for another "Slice of Heaven"!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2015 via mobile

We are just back from a week long stay at the Sandals Royal Plantation and look forward to booking another vacation! The SRP far exceeded any expectations in regard to food/drink, aesthetics, accommodations, and STAFF! Our Butlers, Olivia and Hector were outstanding in their attention to detail, understanding our needs and offering appropriate recommendations for food and activities. They were highly professional, comfortably personable and always upbeat. As a "selective" eater, I found the menu choices varied and absolutely five star in all of the restaurants on the Plantation! The beaches were always well groomed and staffed and the weather was absolutely perfect! The SRP is a quiet home-away-from-home with all the perks and then some. We enjoyed scuba diving, kayaking, massages, and just hanging out on the beach (naps were at the top of the list too!). We also enjoyed new dishes we will be bringing home thanks to the cooking advice of some locals. A great place to unwind and be pampered or just get away from it all! Greatly enjoyed our stay; highly recommended.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Sharon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2015

Thank you for your review of Sandals Royal Plantation, Sharon.
We are thrilled that you enjoyed the beautiful scenery, delicious meals and the warm spirit of our fantastic staff! At Sandals, we take pride in cultivating a truly relaxing atmosphere for our couples and we appreciate your kind remarks to this effect. We hope to welcome you back in the near future for another incredible Caribbean getaway!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
0.4 km away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,321 reviews
0.3 km away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
73.6 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
85.1 km away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
1.5 km away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#3 of 35 in Ocho Rios
3,970 reviews
91.7 km away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Royal Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Plantation

Address: Main Street, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range: $771 - $2,261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Royal Plantation 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•All suite resort and all are serviced by butlers trained by the Guild of Professional English Butlers•2 private beaches with beach butler service•The Caribbean’s only Champagne and Caviar Bar•Exquisite International, Mediterranean, Caribbean and French cuisine•24 hour in suite dining•Complimentary transfers from this resort to all Sandals Resorts•Voted Sandals Resorts “World Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row•Five Star Diamond Award - American Academy of Hospitality Sciences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandals Royal Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Plantation Hotel Ocho Rios
Royal Plantation Ocho Rios
Royal Plantation Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing