We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandals Royal Plantation
Nearby Hotels
Reggae Hostel Ocho Rios(Ocho Rios)(Great Value!)
US$50
US$41
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Bar/Lounge
US$161
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel(Ocho Rios)(Great Value!)
US$115
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chrisanns Beach Resort(Ocho Rios)(Great Value!)
US$88
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kaz Kreol Beach Lodge(Ocho Rios)(Great Value!)
US$103
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lion House Jamaica(Ocho Rios)(Great Value!)
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$270
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jamaica Inn(Ocho Rios)
US$376
US$339
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moon Palace Jamaica(Ocho Rios)
US$608
US$553
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,762)
Filter reviews
2,762 results
Traveller rating
2,219
369
122
36
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,219
369
122
36
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswobbly peacockle papillonbeach butlerroyal grilleast beachterrace restaurantfrench restaurantpeter fraserfrench balconyarnold nugentbutler servicelobster bltrose waterour honeymooneast wingfood and beverage managerjamaican night
Filter
Updating list...
199 - 204 of 2,762 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

We'd only once before stayed at an apparently top class all-inclusive, which was in Cuba..and it was truly dreadful. So when we decided that rather than touring, we wanted to do a beach holiday, and friends suggested we stay at a Sandals resort, we were sceptical. However, this place is absolutely top class: the location, the resort, the staff, the food, everything was perfect. Royal Plantation is only suites, and butler service; some 70 suites means that it is more like a boutique hotel, than one of Sandals larger resorts. However, if at any time you want more activities, or restaurant options it's simple..you can hop on the shuttle bus to the Sandals Ochi resort next door; but their residents can't visit Royal Plantation!
Special memories of our two wonderful butlers, Ashpole and Adrian - the "A team"; two great entertainment hosts, Jason and Akeem; beach butlers, Daniello and Cleon; and Natalie, Karena, and Christina (the perfect chef).

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank PresidentSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmine J, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Thank you for your review of Sandals Royal Plantation. We are happy to know that we were able to exceed your expectations for service and quality. You enjoyed the beautiful scenery, delicious meals and the warm spirit of our fantastic employees.

At Sandals, we take pride in cultivating the perfect atmosphere for our guests and we appreciate your kind remarks to this effect.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

Great location, great food and amazing service. But the rooms need to be renovated. Furniture is old and you cant even open some of the drawers. On shower only has hot water and no venting fan. Resort, food and service great. If rooms get updated it will be an amazing resort.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ber R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmine J, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Sandals Royal Plantation. We are so glad you found our resort a good place to stay, and that you enjoyed the menu and food at our restaurants.

Unfortunately, it seems that we did not meet all your expectations. We would certainly like to learn more about that. If you would like please feel free to write to our Customer Care department at Customersupport@sandals.com.

Your feedback is very valuable to us as we work to be better each and every day. We would be honored to have you return to our resort in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

This was our third year spending our vacation here. Absolutely stunning and the most welcoming and friendly people ever! Highly recommend this resort 100%

Our butlers Gladstone and Sean were top notch.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Revruthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmine J, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Hello and thank you very much for your positive comments of Sandals Royal Plantation. We work hard to offer efficient service, and I’m so glad your visit was enjoyable. I will pass your feedback on to the team, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

This Sandals property is the best place to relax. Service is impeccable. If you want to party it up, you have access to Sandals Ochi Beach Resort with their pool bars and restaurants. We will definitely be back for additional vacations at the Royal Plantation.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Lindy817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmine J, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Thank you for your positive comments. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! I hope your next stay with us at Sandals Royal Plantation is just around the corner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

We went for our Honeymoon from August 22-31 2017 on the recommendation from our Travel Agent, Jennifer. It was the best decision & Honeymoon EVER.

First, we highly recommend those guests flying into Jamaica to take full Advantage of a VIP service call Club Mobay at the airport for both Arrival and Departure flights. Upon Arriving at the Airport we were greeted by an Ambassador who had our names & escorted us through the Passport area, Baggage Claim and then Red Carpeted " Fast Tracked" right through Customs. It was money well spent and started our Honeymoon out right. No waiting and it made arriving into unknown area that much more pleasant. We were then escorted to Sandals Lounge to wait for our transport. The Lounge was stocked with Drinks, cookies, comfy furniture and free wifi.

The drive to Royal Plantation was about an 1.5 hours, he was a contract employee of the Resort and was very pleasant and pointed out places of interest in Jamaica. He was very proud of his native home and that was awesome. He offered to stop at a Rest Stop but we decline as we were too excited to get to the Resort.

Upon our arrival our Butler, Adrian met us with cool towels and to assist us to our room. He explained how he and his partner Ash provided services and gave us a Butler phone to contact them for any requests. He confirmed our dinner reservations for that night and knew we were tired from traveling so offered to do Resort Orientation the following day with his partner Ash.

My Husband and I enjoyed exploring the Resort on our own that evening and were very excited to see the game room with pool table, and multiple board games including Backgammon, which we played daily.

Our room was a perfect size on the East side on the second floor. We did not have a balcony however did not need it as we could open the sliding doors and feel the breeze and sit in the chair & enjoy the view. We appreciated the old world charm and accommodations. (There were reviews about the rooms being out dated and needing an update.)

The staff were excellent and made us feel that every need was tended too. We had The A team Butlers Adrian & Ash who were amazing & the Restaurant meals were phenomenal as well as the service. We were able to eat healthy lots of seafood, rice and vegetables. We did not have a bad meal. At first, with only three restaurants on the property I was concerned about not having options but The Terrace changed its menu nightly and The Royal Grill did have the same menu but the Surf & Turf my husband's favorite he didn't mind. And I ordered something new every time to try different dishes. The French Restaurant was very good & fancy, our server Romeo was excellent however we preferred The Terrace and The Royal Grill. We did venture over to Sandals Ochi had dinner at Soy which was good but realized everything we wanted, Great service, the beach, activities Tennis, Bocci Ball and most of all peace & relaxing atmosphere was at the Royal Plantation and we did leave that Resort for 9 days.

Every staff we came across from Arnold the Resort manager to Junior, Lifeguard asked if we're enjoying ourselves and if there was anything they could to to make our stay better. Karina at The Wobbley Peacock was always there with a smile and Dwayne & Junior at the Bar were ready to entertain and serve a refreshing drink. Clayton at The Terrace and Cleon & Danielle the Beach Butlers were awesome.

The other guests were all friendly and over half of them were returning guests. The scenery was beautiful the waters were different shade of blue and crystal clear.

We could go on & on how amazing this resort was but we encourage you to book your room and see for yourself as you will not be disappointed. We will be back. Thank you for taking care of us!!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
7  Thank ctwaller2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews