We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nickel and dime factory”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Moon Palace Jamaica
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2017

What a complete disappointment. The property is newer and beautiful views. That's where it stops. The service was the worst I have experienced at an all inclusive property. Our rooms were not correct when we checked in and never really addressed to my satisfaction. Beware the resort credits for activities as you are charged a service fee on them at check out. We were encouraged to tip for every service to "improve" service despite this being all inclusive. The food was good but eating at restaurants takes a LONG time. There was never a go to manager to speak with, only the run around. We will never be back...

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank totalsportscare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kemarlo C, Manager at Moon Palace Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

Dear totalsportscare,

Thank you for the time invested to pen your experience attained while staying at our Resort. Our team would like to express utmost gratitude having had select us as your preferred getaway destination. It is with tremendous dismay to have learnt of your undesirable encounters experienced during a time intended to be filled with wonderful memories. Please note that your concerns have been duly noted and the necessary adjustments will be assiduously executed. We hope that you will allow us the opportunity of creating a more satisfactory vacation on our breath-taking awe-inclusive family Resort where our goal is exceeding that of your expectation.


Warmest regards,
Christina Mighty
Manager
Moon Palace Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,515)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

265 - 269 of 1,515 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2017

This hotel looks very impressive on entering but it was a total let down for me. The wet wash cloth we got on arrival was a nice touch, but they should have saved those wash cloths for the room. I stayed five nights and had to call for a wash cloth and a towel every night. The housekeeper only left two even though there are three beds in the room. One day she told us there were no wash cloths. We got 2 later. There are three of us. The house keeper did a lousy job - room not cleaned and toilet tissue not replenished even though the roll was used up.
The workers at check in seemed confused and overwhelmed hence they came off as being incompetent. There were three of us in the room (all adults). They gave us a room with one king sized bed even though we had asked for two full or queen beds and a "roll away" on booking. We had to plead our case to the manager and were able to move the next day after someone checked out.
The dining room servers were pleasant, Romaine was very attentive and helpful. The female workers at the lobby bar were pleasant as well.
It seemed to me like the "My pleasure", as the workers say was not meant as the faces did not match the words - a few exceptions of course.
The room credit was was not worth it as there was a very high service charge to use it.
Customer service is the most important thing to me when I stay at a hotel. Moon Palace Jamaica Grande fell short.

Room Tip: Ocean view with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank purlann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kemarlo C, Manager at Moon Palace Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Dear purlann,

Your review is highly appreciated by the entire Moon Palace Jamaica team. We are delighted to hear about the amazing experiences you had throughout our facilities and guarantee that we will consistently work towards maintaining them as such. The exceptional team members mentioned will most definitely be commended for their outstanding execution. As we aim to continuously make your vacation an extraordinary one, we must admit dismay at hearing of the out of norm experiences had with members of our team, please be assured that we will undoubtedly assess and address where necessary. Our pursuit is to improve our services and amenities to exceed your vacation expectations, and we would be thrilled to have the opportunity of hosting you to future vacations.

Warmest regards,
Christina Mighty
Manager
Moon Palace Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

We arrived at moon palace knowing absolutely nothing about it as we are first timers to Jamaica. Their amazing staff welcomed us delightfully making us feel like we are home. Me and family are vegetarians and there weren't the best choices for us to eat at the dinner time restaurants. Although despite this we talked to the manager of the restaurant pier 8 (Bradley) as we were amazed by the view of the restaurant. He set everything up for us and brought the chef to speak with us. The chef's name was Chef Surrano and he cooked whatever we asked him to cook for us, keep in mind that this restaurant was very busy at all times and so he went above and beyond to meet our needs. We thought we had to struggle to find vegetarian food but chef Surrano was so kind to make our kind of food for us. Lastly, our waitress angela was so kind to us and did everything we asked her too. She brought whatever we asked her to bring to us and would keep checking up on us if we were doing alright. If you ever travel to Moon Palace Jamaica and meet these people, trust me they will be one of the nicest and kind hearted people you will ever meet. All in all the resort is amazing and you will never get tired of it as there is an abundance of activities to do.

Room Tip: the partial ocean view is practically like a ocean view so if you are tying to save money the partia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ishan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kemarlo C, Manager at Moon Palace Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Dear ishan p,

Thank you for the time invested to share your fantastic review expressing your awesome time spent with us. It was such an honor having been bestowed the opportunity of hosting your first Jamaican getaway,our team is ecstatic to have been deemed this preference. We are delighted that our staff's first class service and attitude was received with high gratification by you, our objective is always to exceed our guests expectation hence it is quite fulfilling to have seen this highlighted throughout your experience. As we aim to extend the 'over and beyond' treatment to all our guests we are pleased that this was delivered to you in order to fulfill your meal requests at our tranquil and magnificent Pier 8 restaurant . At Moon Palace Jamaica we cherish all our esteemed guests and hope to offer the epitome quality of service as an invite to revisit our piece of paradise.

Warmest regards,
Christina Mighty
Manager
Moon Palace Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Really enjoyed the pools, restaurants, and things the resort had to offer. Wonderful food...incredible steak out on the dock where the Steakhouse is located. Recommend upgrading to a good bottle of wine with your resort credits...wish we had thought of that earlier in our stay. Great times in the piano bar and the staff (Sabrina) was great there including the piano player (Andre). And Sabrina even went to the Italian restaurant to get our favorite after dinner drink, limoncello! Wife really enjoyed the spa and we had fun walking up Dunn River Falls. My brother, his wife, and I went to Magic Mountain and enjoyed the lift to the top, the pool with sliding board at the top with great view of bay (didn't have time to enjoy restaurant at top), hummingbird area and history area, the cool runnings ride was comparable to a one car roller coaster in which you control the speed-what fun! see videos on line, and we also did the zip lining as well (my first time) and even after major back surgery 2 years ago, it was all good! We took a boat cruise from the resort out along the coast and stopped at a small bay to go for a swim. They had some mixed drinks, beer, soda, water and fun music. Nice to get out and about and see a little of the coast line and other resorts. Used one of the small sailboat often, the big water pedal cycle also. The beaches don't have big waves. They have kayaks and sailboards too. They have the swim with the Dolphins area. You can see a mini-show to see a preview. We've done this elsewhere and enjoyed it!
Some of the staff who go above and beyond in service and personality were:
Corey at Momo Asian restaurant, Fitzroy at the Steakhouse, Nicholas and Kerona by the pool. We enjoyed the shows each evening. They had vendors there one night. The resort shop has a lot of things you might use for the beach or for souvenirs. We walked into town one day and went through some of the shops there and got a view things and sampled some rum. Didn't get to the infamous places for jerk chicken but had some at the restaurant by the water that was good. While the shuttle bus trip from airport is maybe 1:45, gives you a chance to see the countryside so keep your camera at the ready. The plus side is there's more to do close to Ocho Rios in the way of excursions.
As members we were surprised to find out that our 10 day stay was interrupted by our room cards not working after 7 days and our free benefits as members should have been used in the first 7 days. Had to call to verify my wife's extra spa benefits. These issues should be better explained up front (after asking a couple times at check-in).

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Viaggiante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kemarlo C, Manager at Moon Palace Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Viaggiante,

Thank you for sharing your phenomenal review expressing your extraordinary experiences achieved whilst vacationing with us.
Our team is ecstatic to have hosted your awesome family vacation at our beautiful Resort, we are pleased that our superb Restaurants, wonderful Steak House, Piano Bar and rejuvenation Awe-Spa captivated your undivided attention as highlighted in your review.
The team members to have extended outstanding services to you will most definitely be applauded for their impeccable execution
Thank you once more for selecting us as your getaway destination, we hope to be bestowed the opportunity once more in creating unforgettable memories and unparalleled experiences.

Warmest regards,
Christina Mighty
Manager
Moon palacee Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

We are here now. Booked with thomsons. Arrived very tired after a long journey from the uk then a 90 minute ride to the hotel. Greeted with a poor glass of orange juice a wet towel and a fend for yourself. No Thomson rep in sight.
We paid for 3 adults and an 8 year old child just over £15,000 for a 5 star fabulous hotel in Jamaica. We paid extra for a sea view room with a balcony. This hotel is NOT 5 star. We got a room with no balcony. A sparsely stocked mini bar a shower with no water pressure and no hot water. We asked to be moved to a room that we had paid for and were assured we would be able to move on Saturday ( tomorrow ). My husband went to reception earlier to see what time we would be moving ( we haven't unpacked by the way since Wednesday ) only to be told they had not written down our request to move therefore we can't move. I cannot express how disgusted and upset we are It appears to me that if you're not a diamond guest in here you are treated differently and you get the 'pontins ' like apartments as opposed to the apartments that are advertised in the Thomson brochure. If the management read these reviews please contact me in room 30919 as I can't seem to contact you !!!!!

Stayed: August 2017
26  Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
2.8 km away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,337 reviews
75.4 km away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
1.2 km away
Hermosa Cove - Jamaica's Villa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
6.7 km away
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
#8 of 35 in Ocho Rios
8,859 reviews
77.8 km away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon Palace Jamaica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Palace Jamaica

Address: Main Street, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Price Range: $578 - $1,276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Moon Palace Jamaica 5*
Number of rooms: 705
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moon Palace Jamaica is situated on the north coast of Jamaica, accessible from the Montego Bay airport. Palace Resort's newest resort boasts more than 700 guest rooms and suites with oceanfront views of the Caribbean Sea. It's also home to the largest spa in Jamaica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Moon Palace Jamaica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing