We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (211)
Filter reviews
211 results
Traveller rating
58
92
42
8
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
92
42
8
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews white river jamaican breakfast onsite restaurant breakfast was included authentic jamaican experience enjoyed my stay waves crashing luxury resort beach bar balcony door jamaican dishes mini fridge party atmosphere nude beach salted fish reception area caribbean sea
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 211 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2018

At check-in I was told "don't give me that face" when front desk staff searched for 5 minutes and said she could not locate our booking (had reserved via booking.com, been in touch with hotel by phone and email and entered payment card details as security).

Shockingly dirty, stained bedding which I requested a replacement for, only to be handed sheets just as dirty.

We were not provided with the WiFi password nor breakfast times when we were shown to our room at check in. There was a safe in the room, two actually, but no details or instructions for use given to us. Our room was directly above the hotel bar so there was music for much of the day which can be heard from indoors with balcony doors closed. We requested but were not given an opportunity to move rooms for the duration of our stay. Warning of a private party was passed under our room door on the day of, this meant unavoidable, booming music for much of the night, though this finished at the scheduled time.

Paid for laundry service and our load was returned with colours washed out and some items with bleach spots all over. Reported this and my mother was told by the female hotel manager that my sweater "wasn't new", and I would be able to tuck away the front of it when worn (the stain was near the bottom of the front).

Later the hotel manager came to our room with one of the housekeepers in tow and explained how it was the housekeeper who would have to pay any compensation for our damaged clothing, not the hotel. It was also explained that the housekeeper responsible for the laundry had been crying uncontrollably downstairs as this would mean she loses a large percentage of her monthly wage. Awfully immoral and wrong of hotel management to have dealt with the issue this way. We ended up receiving no compensation for our clothes and there was never an offer or mention of the laundry fee being returned to us. This was the last day of our stay, I spoke to the manager on behalf of my mother, expressing my disappointment and upset. The manager apologised and asked "what do you want me to do?".

The taxi we booked through the hotel for an early morning pick up was half an hour late and incredibly expensive (+$2000JMD) for the short, roughly 10min journey to Knutsford express bus terminal. I recommend you source your own taxi!

The view, access to beach, lovely breakfast and breakfast staff were clear highlights to our stay

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VickM111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

We came across this hotel by chance when visiting Oche to do some scuba diving. The staff were very friendly and helpful and booked us a room on the spot. The room was basic but beautiful, had a stunning view of the ocean and beach front. The bar was right on the beach, we also had lunch one day and the food although quite pricey was delicious! Breakfast was lovely too and they had plenty of options, the lady who served us breakfast was friendly and even did us breakfast earlier than specified.

Whenever we wanted to go anywhere the hotel would call a taxi and advise us on local excursions.

Thanks again

Room tip: Second floor room we found to be better than ground floor!
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chiara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018

Booked this site unseen. Needed to find a place in Ochi for two nights. With Sandals and other "all-inclusive" resorts requiring 3 night minimums. Kaz was great. Approach for those less travelled in Jamaica may be intimidating. (you drive a long the river where a local car wash operates and taxi's cue as well as river raft guides gather) . When the roads hits the sea you have arrived. Private Parking. A/C room with an ocean view. Jamaican breakfast included with the room ;) not preferred to the American style offered. My friend from Kingston declared the chef "lazy" upon discovery of too many bones in the salt fish. Juice and coffee delicious and the fruit! Location is amazing on the sea 100 meter walk to where the White River flows into the sea. Fresh and saltwater mix cool and warm combine. Feels great! Little bar down at the water super friendly. You can have your meals on the dock too. Watch the marble floor in the room can be slippery when wet! Great location for exploring the Blue Hole and further up the river Spanish Bridge - Rope swing, floating swimming - Labyrinth.

Date of stay: July 2018
2  Thank tim p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

Far from being a resort but definitely the best decision ever. For someone that really wants to see and enjoy the beauty of Jamaica this is the perfect choice, not luxury but comfortable no kids around for the ones that really want to relax and have a good time. You can have a continental breakfast or Jamaican the rest of the meals is delicious all Jamaican making it hard to peak just one we loved all of them and only went to a local restaurant at the last night because the food they had at the hotel was more than perfect for us. Beside the problem with hot water we had a perfect stay and can’t wait to go back all the staff was friendly and attentions. If what you are looking for is a place where you can relax read a good book looking at the ocean be far from a full and busy resort and get to see Jamaica how it really is this is your place to stay. Only for the ones that love a good adventure

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank DayTrip786031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018

This hotel had a great View, all rooms have an ocean view. The coffee and Breakfast were terrible., The hotel has one beach bar on site. The food was good. The staff were helpful,/ The rooms are out dated and old . The beach is very small . It is not private as every morning the locals play soccer on the beach next door. The hotel on the other side is vacant. The owner should buy that and make this property into a mega hotel. As I said this hotel has some great potential but needs a make over. The road down to the hotel goes through the white river area and you get harassed every time you pass by that area by the locals. The hotel is hard to find initially. The internet is spotty in the rooms. Mixed bag. No frills

Room tip: all rooms are ocean view
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 857,376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews