We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$88
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/02/22
Hotels.com
US$88
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/02/22
Trip.com
US$68
View deal
TravelocityUS$88
Orbitz.comUS$88
CheapTicketsUS$88
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (539)
Filter reviews
539 results
Traveller rating
302
162
36
23
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
302
162
36
23
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews west end real jamaica cottage omar cliffs bartender vibe rum
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 539 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2021

My 15 year old son and I spent a week in Cottage 24 (the 2 bedroom cottage that used to be part of the owners' suite) during a 3 day pandemic- related lockdown and a 2 day tropical storm, and let me tell you, we had a great time!

Grounds were immaculate, pool was cleaned every day, the fruit trees (mangos, guineps, breadfruit, and the best ackee I've ever tasted) were abundant, and everyone- front desk, housekeeping, grounds crew and bar staff- was so lovely! The owner, David, and one of his sons were a very visible presence, which was super nice. Just an all around good vibe.

I've stayed in pretty much every type of room at Xtabi over the years, but this was my first time in Cottage 24. We loved it! Beautiful porch, spacious full kitchen (4-burner stove and full-sized refrigerator) and living room (with flat screen tv, which we never bothered to use), 2 big bedrooms (the main bedroom has a brand new air conditioner) and a large bathroom (with bathtub/shower) in the back, directly connected to the main bedroom and separated from the other bedroom by a little hall area.

The only upgrade they really need to take care of is to get a new refrigerator- the one they have doesn't work at all (fridge is hot and freezer is warm). To be fair, I never mentioned that it was broken. There was too much going on with the lockdown and the storm to bother anyone over that.

So yeah, Xtabi is still one of my all-time favorite places to visit. Thank you everyone for another wonderful stay.

Room tip: room 24 is amazing, just ask them to make sure the fridge is working before you book.
Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank fltbsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 March 2021

Xtabi Resort is on the West end cliffs. Very nice spacious rooms. Excellent restaurant and access to the Caribbean Sea. The restaurant prices were average and the food is outstanding. I had friends staying at Xtabi so i utilized their services when i visited.

Date of stay: January 2021
1  Thank topwaterjig
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 November 2020

We’ve been to Xtabi three times. In 2006, 2008 and 2020. We’ve stayed in the two bedroom suite (24), cottage 1 and 21. Cottage 1 is on the sea side and highly recommended - outside of the rainy season. 24 is nice and spacious with a proper oven and stove, really nice for cooking your own meals!! 21 is in the garden and a bit set back. This cottage is really cute if you like being tucked away. Beware mosquitos are fierce during the rainy season, bring bug spray. You can expect more rustic accommodations at Xtabi, however the heart of this place is the people. We love the housekeeping staff and reception staff: Novine, Cherie and Charmaine. They really made sure we were taken care of. The towels and sheets could use an update. Perhaps a coat of fresh paint in the place too. Omar, the bar tender and creator of ‘dirty bananas’ (an amazing rum drink), is your go to for anything you need such as ganj or edibles. He’s young, fun and has a great way about him. George is another bartender we absolutely love. Lively and energetic George can make anyone smile. He’s sweet as pie! Lily was the Manager on-site while we were there and made sure we were comfortable. She also knew about all the hotspots and delish places to eat which was great since we had not been there in soooo long. Lily truely was an incredible delight and we are so happy to have met her. Xtabi has awesome drinks, great food, fabulous views, the best people, and is perfect for those that like more down to earth accommodations and can go with the flow. We hope Xtabi survives all of this Covid mess and that it gets the love it needs in the areas that need a bit of fixing. Xtabi also has a pool which is great for lazy days or evening swims. Nothing better than the stunning sea when it’s calm tho!!

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank ZeeMerch
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 April 2020

of all the islands, Jamaica is the best. I have been staying on the cliffs for 35 years and Xtabi was one I stayed in years ago. It's convenient for getting up and down the road, getting over to Ricks. Staff work hard, and the area is just great

Date of stay: December 2019
1  Thank Shuggiplum
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David Preble, General Manager at Xtabi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2020

thanks for your nice words.
we appreciate your input and hope to see you again soon.
DPreble

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2020

The food and snorkeling here are excellent. However, do not stay here, there are far better options for the same price. They do have a number of return guests, and after staying at Westenders, I am puzzled why anyone would return to Xtabi. We rented room #17 which had a leaking AC. I woke up in the middle of the night to a flooded floor and after using up the available towels to try and mop up, I had to place the trash can under the AC to catch the water. It filled up to 3 inches from the top by morning. The sound also kept us up for most of the night. Although someone did check it out on day 2, they said couldn't identify the issue. The room smelled strongly of mold, so obviously not a new issue. We opted to check out after three nights of this. We were offered different accommodations, but at this point we had lost faith. The front desk first checked to see if we had a restaurant bill, we didn't, then told us we were free to go. We had paid for NINE days! We simply wanted to pay for the time we had been there and leave. We didn't even ask for a refund for the flooding room. It was to no avail. The front desk person (there are two, and one of them is just wonderful) stated that they don't give refunds. We had to argue our point at length while other staff members filed in to see what was up, and one guy (I suppose their strong man) came to take a seat cross-armed in office for some reason... Eventually, they located the registration document that states that they refund but keep 3 days rent. SO LYING IS AN OPTION. We got it down to two days. So we not only paid for a room that clearly wasn't fit for guests, had a moldy smell evidencing it wasn't a new problem, but also paid for the night we left and one more day. DON'T STAY HERE. LEAVING WAS THE BEST VACATION DECISION WE MADE!!

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank clairekinuthia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Xtabi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2020

Greetings Travelers,
Sorry to hear that you are upset with XTABI.
We do from time to time have guest that want to move around to see Negril and Jamaica, and we do respect that. Its your holiday and you should enjoy your holiday. Now with this at hand we think you should respect that when you make a reservation for a week you should consider that there is a cancellation policy. Which is on our website. Your request was made extremely sudden with no warning that you wanted to leave. On the second day when you reported this leak, we went to you room and did not find this leak? On the 3rd day of your stay you came to the office in the afternoon to tell us that you were going to leave . We did work with you on your refund but you are not happy that you were not refunded days that you had already stayed.
We are happy to hear that enjoyed your stay at the Westender Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews