We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value and so clean!”

The Golden Sunset Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Golden Sunset Hotel
Ranked #72 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

Stayed here with my husband for a few days at the end of our trip in Jamaica. Received a very warm welcome from Jenny at the front desk who also steered us in the right direction for restaurants, tours, and taxis.
The room was spotless, comfy, and welcoming. Loved having a little kitchenette to keep our drinks cold and make breakfast in before we went out for the day.

A wonderful spot just across the street from the beach and near coffee shops, restaurants, and tourist spots. Also loved the tropical gardens in front of the villas. We will be back!

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank VerityS0624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2015 via mobile

We booked via hotels.com and paid 75 usd per night, but when we arrived, we found that this is very small room with "private bathroom" near shared kitchen (not in our room). Then when we asked about upgrade, hotel manager said, that this room's price 49 usd. They called to Expedia, because hotels.com made a reservation with expedia.com.
So, expedia and hotels.come took an extra charge 36 usd per day.
I will never book with hotels.com and expedia.com

Room is terrible and very small.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Русские Курорты Т
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2015

It was supposed to be a four star hotel when I paid through priceline. But it was really not even a 3 star. They had basic amenities. And they had a restaurant/bar on site. But very few people stayed there.

Room Tip: They do not have a room i could recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ajoy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2014

Golden Sunset is a great place, with a beautiful garden full of tropical plants and amazing flowers even the location is perfect, just across the street and the Seven Miles Beach.
Thanks to Jenny and the staff to made me feel comfortable, safe and at home.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MilanoEasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

There is nothing worse than spending hundreds even thousands of dollars on a vacation and encountering the most terrible service. Fortunately, for me this was not the case at Golden Sunset. I loved this hotel for many reasons 1) Jenny was amazing. Very hospitable and willing to make my stay as comfortable as possible. Always pleasant and helpful 2) The price was fair 3) The grounds were beautiful--truly a garden view 4) Kitchenette in the room was such a great option to have. If you don't want to eat out the entire time and want to cook or hire someone to cook for you this is fantastic. 5) Free Wi-fi!!!!!! Need I say more. Friends at other hotels who paid more complained about poor service, not even a coffee pot in their rooms and wi-fi was an extra expensive charge. I would stay there again and strongly recommend.

Room Tip: Get the room with A/C. A fan when it is really hot doesn't help very much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pureAzure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
2.3 km away
Bourbon Beach Hotel
Bourbon Beach Hotel
#47 of 80 in Negril
116 reviews
1.8 km away
Mariposa Hideaway
Mariposa Hideaway
#75 of 80 in Negril
59 reviews
0.8 km away
Pure Garden Resort
Pure Garden Resort
#44 of 80 in Negril
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Coral Seas Garden
Coral Seas Garden
#55 of 80 in Negril
281 reviews
3.7 km away
Catcha Falling Star Gardens
2.2 km away
Villa La Cage
Villa La Cage
#77 of 80 in Negril
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golden Sunset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Sunset Hotel

Address: Norman Manley Blvd. | Westmoreland, Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Price Range: $77 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Golden Sunset Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Golden Sunset Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing