We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definition of HOSPITALITY!”
Review of Villas Sur Mer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villas Sur Mer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2013

So I'm writing this review a little late, as my husband and I stayed last October. But...this place was so fantastic that I've been meaning to write a review ever since. We had a wonderful and super relaxing week thanks to Kimi, Richard, Cliff and Erdley. They are all so kind, helpful, and genuinely nice. They are truly a blessing to the hospitality industry and did everything they could to make our trip perfect. The property is beautiful, and there is nothing better than relaxing in the cave and hopping in to go snorkeling in the beautiful turquoise water. We had the bungalow that sits above the pool, and it was great. We also did not have to share the property with many others as we went during the rainy season. It was the perfect secluded romantic getaway. This was our first trip to Jamaica, but will not be our last!! If your looking for an alternative to the cookie cutter resort vacation this is your place.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanEmC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reggaeboyz1, General Manager at Villas Sur Mer, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

Thanks so much for posting this review ! We are gratified in knowing you remembered your time here and took the time to let others know. We appreciate the thoughtful sentimentsand hope you will return. We also hope that your husband and yourself will continue to enjoy memories of beautiful villa # 8. We try to make the vibe here at Villas Sur Mer easy going and comfortable and ideally your home away from home - from reading your review - I think we got it right : ) That is always a plus !

Villas Sur Mer does offer a unique vacation experience for travellers wanting to create unforgettable memories and so I agree not your "cookie cutter resort"

So thanks again - take care of each other and know that you always have a great vacation choice here at Villas Sur Mer.
Walk Good
Kemilee Williams
General Manager
Villas Sur Mer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 76 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2013

I stayed at Villa Sur Mer early February to celebrate a friends 50th birthday and have to say from beginning to end it was a great experience. Kimi, Cliff, Richard and all the staff are amazing and really keen to help and with a smile. The grounds are very clean and it feels like living in a tree house ....lovely pool area, underground cave to the sea, just all round fun for everyone.

During the same trip I also stayed at an "all inclusive" for a couple of days and the experience is like night and day ........I would happily go back to Villa Sur Mer again but doubt I would try the all inc. type place again.

All in all just a great place that has made the effort to hire great people and it shows !

Room Tip: I would say poolside away from the road would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngusMac_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reggaeboyz1, General Manager at Villas Sur Mer, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2013

Thanks for your thoughtful and sweet review !
This birthday party celebration remains a very unforgettable experience for the entire VSM team...it was an awesome weekend ! For the VSM team it presented a really unique opportunity to share in how wonderful your friends really are.

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and your interactions with the staff. We also thought you guys were "fantastic"

I miss them all the time - I really hope they consider maybe coming back for the 51st - BIGGER AND BETTER @ VSM ?

The VSM team enjoyed hosting the entire group so very much and to say we would welcome the opportunity to do it again is an understatement. Again thanks for lovely review and taking the time to post it - hope we see you again-until then ...

Walk Good !!!
Kemilee-Ann Williams
General Manager
Villas Sur Mer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We rented the seaside villa for our wedding and it was the perfect choice for our celebration. The villa is even more beautiful in person that in photographs. The rooms are huge so there is plenty of room for a large group. Our guests were blown away by the setting - the cliffs are very dramatic and absolutely breath taking. We had no trouble swimming in the ocean from one of the seaside entries. The water is deep but crystal clear and great for snorkeling.

The staff was fantastic. Kimi was on top of everything and always there to answer any questions or concerns. She wears many hats and can assist with anything from transportation and dinner reservations to wedding planning and decor. She is AMAZING! This goes for the rest of the staff as well. Donna kept the house looking spotless, Bulle cooked some amazing and authentic Jamaican breakfasts for us and Richard jumped in to help with anything that we needed. Thanks also to Cliff (bar) and Marlon & James (security) - all did a great job and had personalities to match!

Friends and family also stayed at some of the other villas which were also beautiful and well-equipped. Each villa that we saw was very clean and decorated tastefully. The lagoon pool and bar area was a very relaxing place to hang out. The rocking lounge chairs were a huge hit!

Our family is eager to return to Villas Sur Mer so we are already discussing our next trip. Thanks for helping us create a beautiful wedding and a very memorable trip - it was a wonderful experience for all of us!

See you guys again very soon!
Kara

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marvinlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reggaeboyz1, General Manager at Villas Sur Mer, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a beautiful review. The Villas Sur Mer team is humbled by your thoughtful and kind sentiments. Can I just say what a pleasure it was to host your family and friends for your incredible wedding. Here at VSM we always say how easy things are because we continue to be visited by the best travellers the world over and become during their stay a part of our family ....forever ! So thank you again for allowing us the honour of sharing in your recent nuptials . Sincerest wishes for your long life together to be filled with an awesome happiness and peace ! Lots of love from us to you and thanks again ...until we meet again . Thanks for the shout outs to the staff - I agree we do have quite the team : ) I wait with abated breath to get the mail where we can start to plan your return - your crew knows how to party and we stand ready ! Thanks again - my regards to you and the Mrs. : )

Walk Good !
Kimi Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

My wife and I just stayed here last weekend with 3 other couples. I cannot put into words how great it was to meet the staff. Kimmi is one of the most genuine, kindest, helpfull and lovely people I know. Her attention and flexibility to what we were looking to do was spot on, which is difficult to do with 8 people and have a wedding going on at the same time. The rest of the staff was also very helpfull. Mike was our driver and he went above and beyond my expectations. He not only drove us around but became a trusted guide and friend. Richard took care of all our needs on the property, anything we needed he was there with it. William and James thank you for helping us as well, you made us feel like we were at home. I recommend that everyone staying have dinner cooked and served in your villa. Bulle did an amazing job with the lobster, salt fish and jerk chicken and Donna and girls did a great job setting up the villa and serving. The property it self was very nice our villas were very comfortable and quiet. Our whole experience was amazing! Respect and blessings to the staff. Great place!

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
Thank V R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

It was our first trip to Jamaica, and from the time we arrived we were greeted with the BEST HOSPITALITY in Negril, Jamaica by Kimi, Richard, Carol, Cliff and the rest of the Villas Sur Mer staff. They make you feel like family. Kimi made excellent recommendations for excursions to do in Negril, and was very much on top of coordinating transportation throughout our stay. The cottage was beautiful, as was the pool and hot tub area. This was the perfect private getaway villa to be with your significant other. Great location near the cliffs, Rick's cafe, Catch Under a Falling Star. Also try the Jamaican jerk chicken and lobster grilled fresh by the guy outside Villa Sur Mer. Fantastic! Great overall experience, would come back again!

Room Tip: Our room was the very first villa when you arrive, but we were very happy with it. You hear a littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
2.7 km away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
1.4 km away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 81 in Negril
262 reviews
0.4 km away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#4 of 81 in Negril
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#31 of 81 in Negril
1,396 reviews
5.9 km away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#18 of 81 in Negril
698 reviews
0.2 km away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#5 of 81 in Negril
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Sur Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Sur Mer

Address: West End Road, Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Negril
Price Range: $206 - $553 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villas Sur Mer 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the stunning cliffs of West end Negril, Villas Sur Mer offers luxurious accommodations that offer privacy, and tranquility. Villas Sur Mer is only steps away from the cliff divers of the famous Rick's café or a short drive to seven mile beach. We offer unforgettable guest experiences that will leave you wanting to return again and again. Our six bedroom seaside villa is truly the jewel of the cliffs of Negril. The breathtaking views of the turquoise waters of the Caribbean Sea can be seen while sipping a red stripe at your own private bar, in the hot tub or lounging in our private pool. Across the road, we have several beautifully appointed villas nestled in a tropical garden setting. Don't forget, we also have an underground cave leading to an ocean deck that allows ocean access for swimming/snorkeling. A Villas Sur Mer vacation will give you long lasting memories that will have you missing Jamaica the moment you get back home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Villas Sur Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Sur Mer Hotel Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing