We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced!”
Review of Lazy Dayz

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Negril
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lazy Dayz
Ranked #36 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Negril
Reviewed 1 December 2010

A group of us stayed at Lazy Dayz in Negril. The location is the best and the property overall is really cute. The cost of the rooms, however, were terribly overpriced. I paid $110 for a room with a shared bathroom, no light! Imagine being that close to the beach and living in a dark, dingy room for that price! The place does have some nice rooms for a hefty price though. The tree house cabins, yellow mellow and the sea view room are the only good ones. Avoid the other rooms, they are expensive and not worth the money!

The location overall was spectacular, and the maids and caretaker are wonderful.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Piano79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2010

I have been to Negril 5 times and like to check out resorts/hotels for future visits. I stopped in on the beach side, the gate was wide open, looking for someone to ask for a tour. I was scolded for entering a private place and shooed away immediately. I apologized and told him that the gate was wide open and he wouldn't even look at me! The name should be changed to Uptight Dayz. I have never met anyone so rude.

Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
5  Thank majz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2010

We loved Lazy Dayz. It is a small property with about 8 rustic cabins/gazebos and a beach house with 3 separate apartments. All of the cabins/gazebo have outdoor (but still private showers. Both times we were there the place was barely over half full. Their website (we believe deliberately) does not do the place justice. It is beautiful. Very lush, very private. It is right in the center of 7 mile beach, so it is right next to plenty of bars and restaurants. It does not have it's own bar or restaurant, but we found this preferable as there was never any foot traffic other than our few fellow guests and about 6 local staff. BTW, make friends with the grounds guys and the maids. They are very nice and helpful and will find people for you. But please tip them nicely if you do ask them for help. We ended up getting a private trip for 6 to YS Falls for a good price.

Lazy Dayz is definitely not the place for people who are looking for more up-scale accommodations. My husband and I, along with friends, have stayed at Lazy Dayz in 2008 and came back in 2009, so between all of us, we have stayed at the Gazebo, Green Door, Coral Door and the Sky House. The "Door" cabins are pretty standard cabins closer to the road, and thus more noise, and we felt the Gazebo and the Sky House were well worth the extra money. The Sky House is in the treetops, so it is very private and the view down is great. The Gazebo is 50 feet from the water and overlooks the beach. Listening to the water was wonderful. The only downside is that the bathroom is detached and downstairs and sometimes used by other guests. Since the place is so small, this really isn't an issue. It is definitely still worth sleeping next to the ocean. Take a look at our pictures. You'll see.

Overall, this place is perfect for independent travelers looking for private cabins who don't mind figuring out the area food for yourself.
A few food recommendations: Right next door is a field used for events, but during the day there are little shops. Get a patty from Niah's. They make them fresh (be ready to wait 10-15 minutes) and only cost about 5 dollars. Perfect food to take right back to your beach chair. And see if Pansy is still a couple doors down. She is the sweetest thing and will make fresh squeezed juice for you to pick up the next day. We go to this place almost everyday we're there. Breakfast at Charela's , dinner at Marley's on the beach. Those and patties for lunch are 3 meals you can't go wrong with.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lorax76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2009

Lazy Dayz is by far one of the best places I have ever stayed. The grounds are so beautiful, it's like , garden of eden. If you want to be service by a wonderful staff, clean accommodatons and steps from beach then I hope u stay at Lazy Dayz u get so much more for the few dollas it costs. Happy Traveling.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandleFeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2009

Was in Lazy Days for four nights and this place is awesome. We had a cabin with a beautiful ocean view and could hear the waves at night. This may not be the four seasons but if you want a low key quiet place within feet of the beach you simply can not beat this place.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonnyrosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
1.5 km away
Roots Bamboo
Roots Bamboo
#18 of 51 in Negril
56 reviews
0.3 km away
Travellers Beach Resort
2.1 km away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#8 of 80 in Negril
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Hedonism II
Hedonism II
#15 of 80 in Negril
2,442 reviews
3.8 km away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#4 of 80 in Negril
1,028 reviews
2.0 km away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy Dayz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Dayz

Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Negril
Price Range: $68 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for simple paradise, laid back living in a cozy setting? Lazy Dayz will make you feel right at home with your own cabana or beach house suite amidst crystal clear blue water and tropical sunshine. Nestled in the centre of our world famous seven mile beach on one acre of lush tropical gardens, the Lazy Dayz tranquil environment is an awesome spot to watch nature's glorious sunsets. Cook your own meals or walk to enjoy authentic Jamaican cuisine. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lazy Dayz Hotel Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing