We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Home Sweet Home Resort(Negril)(Great Value!)
US$99
US$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Beach House Condos(Negril)
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$250
US$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$189
US$141
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Boardwalk Village Hotel(Negril)(Great Value!)
US$115
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Catcha Falling Star(Negril)(Great Value!)
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$88/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Alvynegril Guest House(Negril)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Bourbon Beach Hotel(Negril)(Great Value!)
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveller rating
208
18
6
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
208
18
6
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsround houseltu pubrick's cafecomplete privacywest endevery morningcliff divingcolettecottagecavespropertysunsetoceanjamaicavacationduplexsnorkel
Filter
Updating list...
167 - 172 of 236 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2011

If you like to vacation outside the big resorts and get closer to the culture of the island or you want to try a villa instead of a hotel, I love Citronella. Some of the villas have a kitchen which I also like and there is a grocery store a short walk away but that's just my thing. The real beauty is the property. Privacy rules and you can't see the other villas on the property. There is a great house where you can socialize if you want and where the continental breakfast is served. Each villa has sea access and the coves are so beautiful to swim in! The staff are wonderful and keep everything so clean! I have come here 3 years in a row and it's like home away from home ( with housekeeping!)

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marylynncaruso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2011

We are a family of 7, with five kids ranging in age from 10 to 20. Our family has been to Jamaica 12 times, always staying at all-inclusives. It was time for a something new, and what a welcome and positive change Citronella was. We were apprehensive before arriving, regarding the lack of air conditioning, rustic accomodations, and NO TV, yet within minutes after arrival our fears were put to rest, we had stumbled upon paradise. The grounds are truly breathtaking, with beautiful foilage and outstanding views of the beautiful sea. Although there are 5 houses on this property it is a private oasis.

We rented the entire Conch house, which had 4 double beds, as well as ample living space with two bathrooms with showers, it proved to be a perfect fit. The front porch has two hammocks, tables and chairs and wonderful views. The Conch house has a great sea access with a shower which proved to be a hit with the kids. Our days were spent cliff jumping, enjoying the water with rafts and snorkel gear, and taking in the beauty of our surrondings.

The three housekeepers were lovely women who did a very thorough job and were unobtrusive. Trevor was always on hand to help pump up a raft or help whenever needed. John and Cathy were such lovely hosts, always making certain we were happy.
A tasty breakfast of raisin toast and fruit skewers was offered in the Great House each morning.

Never have I experienced such a relaxing and peaceful vacation with our 5 kids. Not once did they ask for TV or long for other modern comforts of home. In fact this trip allowed our family to just enjoy being together. Thank you John and Cathy, and everyone at Citronella for sharing your piece of heaven on earth with us.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank preppy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2010

For our very late honeymoon: one week in what promised to be paradise. Our expectations were exceeded in every way--from the environment, to the landscaping, the clever architecture, the Jamaican laid-back feeling all around, the incredible staff, every single one of them...

Citronella truly is the most idyllic, magical place either of us have ever been. The sea was our private swimming pool in the Round House. Rode rolling swells on our rafts, snorkeled easily around all the amazing geology. The private sea entrances are exactly as hoped for, truly private and safe, easy access to the MOST jewel-like water, lapping at your back door. Well, 50 feet down from your back door. The extra outdoor shower at the Round House, down by the sea entrance, is so much fun. Exciting and relaxing at the same time.

All the rave reviews are TRUE. True, true. Take yourself here, if you are not wanting to stay in an all inclusive tourist trap. The kitchen in the Round House is more than adequate, has everything you need--pick up some Blue Mountain coffee at the Hi-Lo in town (better than Starbucks, I swear, right out of the tiny coffee maker.) The bathroom and outdoor shower were just awesome, so refreshing and clean, we loved it. The L.T.U. Pub next door has fantastic food with variety of dishes, all with an island twist. Nice place, lovely view, and right next door.

The only reason I gave the sleep quality only 4 stars was because D.J. Sexy Rexy hooted and hollered on his P.A. across the street very late into the night, into morning, three nights in a row. We don't regret having lived through his rapping for hours over the same loop of samples--a dog bark, a very real sounding hurricane siren, a baby laughing... at top volume. Not cool at all. I think maybe he was celebrating something special, or lamenting someone's passing. Who knows. But the management at Citronella marched down and took care of it, along with other neighboring property owners, and the late night karaoke stopped. Whew. THEN the sleep was the best I've ever had, hands down. No mosquitoes in November, really. A few geckos. The water outside makes everything amazing.

If you like a more rustic, self-catered experience--do it. This place has the connections you need. Junior, of Junior's House of Joy Tours (see To Do page on Citronella's website for his info) drove us to and from the MBJ airport, and he knows those roads like the back of his hand. No worries, in spite of crazy driving, which seems to be the norm all over Jamaica.

Our new friend, whom we'd met hanging out around LTU and all over town in his taxi, Patrick Tate drove us around the island on a tour to YS Waterfall (bring swimsuits, we did not, it looks like great fun) and down through St. Elizabeth. Beautiful. Jamaica is something to experience, behold. Get used to pot holes in some spots. I'd never drive myself in Jamaica. No way.

After our tour we went to eat lobster and chicken at Erica's with Patrick, right up the road from Citronella. This is not to be missed. It looks like a cute little place to have a meal as you walk or drive by at noon, but go at sunset, or after, when the vibe is cool. Amazingly delicious. Cold Red Stripes, and our lovely young hostess, who seemed to be alone but had a veteran cook behind her in the kitchen, was listening to NPR. She said the BBC keeps her informed about her world. Great conversations all around.

Most of all, the quietude, the gentle seas, the rain (didn't get the thunderstorms we wanted, which was good, as the owners and staff were exhausted after cleaning up after the last one), the bright moonlight on the stone steps, the water; new friends, Sam in the kitchen cooking up sweet breakfasts for us every day, people hanging in the Great Lodge, chatting, playing games, checking their electronic devices for email and what not with the free wi-fi (we left ours at home--what a relief!)

Citronella, we are coming back soon to see Trevor, Samora, Jennifer, Millie, Marie, and hopefully Adrian! What a wonderful cast of characters. You will totally dig it. My favorite quote was from a guide in the YS Falls park. I spilled some water on the beautifully shined wood floor of the lodge/office/gift shop there and tried to tell him I needed help. He said, "No worries. This is Jamaica, mon, we have no problems, only situations."

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gigisisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Tucked away from the big citys in Jamaica is a litlle gem called Citronella. Beautiful views at the cliffs. You climb down ladders into the crystal clear water right there outside your own unit! So cool! Reefs with so many fish are close to shore.You can snorkle around the resort- little caves and beautiful areas to see! Owners are very nice- as well as staff. Can't wait to go back again!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CherylVaBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

My friends and I decided on a trip to Jamaica; however, none of us had ever been there before so we were clueless on where to stay. After researching and comparing several places, we chose Citronella. What attracted us were the private villas overlooking the cliffs to the ocean, so we booked three cottages.

Upon arrival, we were completely taken by the natural beauty of the premises, the lush jungle vegetation, the fragrant breezes, and the stunning ocean views. We found that the house(s) were perfectly arranged. We could hang out together in one area and then retreat to our own private space to read, take a nap or just relax. One big surprise was the restaurant staff, who were not only extremely accommodating, but prepared gourmet meals for our party of seven on a nightly basis. John and Cathy, who own the resort, obviously take great pride in ensuring that their guests’ needs and wants are fully met. They recommended everything from local island activities and events to a wide variety of pristine beaches. All three of the houses were well kept and wonderfully decorated. Everyone that we encountered, from the housekeepers to the gardeners, were not only efficient and friendly, but non-intrusive. If what you need is a relaxing moment in your life with great accommodations and healthy food, then Citronella is the place for you! We have already booked a return stay and can’t wait to go back to absolute paradise!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank decox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews