We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
San San Tropez Villa-Hotel(Port Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$171
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moon San Villa(Port Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Cliff Hotel(Port Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$138
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Great Huts(Port Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$72
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Germaican-Hostel(Port Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rio Vista Resort(Port Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$82
US$73
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Search-Me-Heart(Port Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Geejam(Port Antonio)
US$462
US$425
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Trident Hotel(Port Antonio)
US$480
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
9
9
6
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
9
6
1
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2008

The family that owns the guest house is so nice! They have a guy there that does tours and he gives a fair price and provides a taxi. The breakfast is $5 American and they will make whatever you want, tranditional Jamaican or a hearty American breakfast! The rooms have a great view and they are clean and basic. There is no AC so just be mindful of that when planning your trip, most places in Port Antonio do not have AC, so just be aware! It has a great location and the walk downtown is about 5 minutes and the beach is about 10minutes. This is the best place to STAY! The Jones family is GRETAT!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Engelska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2007

I stayed at Ocean Crest July 8th -12th 2007. Ms. Lydia is the owner/
proprietor, and a very sweet lady. I had contacted her via email regarding my accomodations and she did not require a deposit prior to arrival. In fact, I had to find her the next day just so I could pay her after my arrival, LOL!

This is a basic guesthouse, two levels. I stayed on the top level, and the view overlooked the east Harbour. My room, "B", was simple and clean - a full size bed, small dresser, small TV w/4 channels and a bathroom. There was no A/C, but a fan was provided, as well as one towel for the length of stay (i.e. no daily maid service, but I had known about that). July in Jamaica is more hot and humid than say, December, so A/C would have been very nice indeed. The rate was $50US per night.

I found out on my last day that Ms. Lydia would have made breakfast in the mornings had I arranged that ahead of time. Because PA is not as developed as other parts of the island, there are no restaurants within walking distance (except for Norma's at the harbor, for dinner), so for most of my stay, I ate fruit and packaged food from the local supermarket. No coffee or breakfast each morning, bummer.

The property is in a quiet residential neighborhood; a Jamaica Defense Force compund is right across the street, and another guesthouse, "Ivanhoe's", is right next door. In order to get a route taxi to other nearby areas and attractions however, you must walk down the hill into downtown Port Antonio.

To get up to my room, I had to first decend 10 stairs, then ascend 29 of them.

This guesthouse is perfect for the carefree, healthy and fit budget traveller.

If you want or expect a little more comfort, I would suggest one of the area hotels.

2  Thank yamangurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews