We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ROMANTIC”
Review of Villa Herencia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Herencia
Ranked #4 of 30 San Juan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2017

Great location in Old San Juan. Very romantic setting. 350 year old extremely unique and quiet building with only 9 rooms. A neat rooftop deck. Nice continental breakfast and great service. Loved the coffee!!

Room Tip: King rooftop suite with the atrium the first night. Second stay was a beautiful queen off the courty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jonell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 317 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2017

We loved this hotel and though it was an especially good value. We stayed in one of the smaller rooms on the ground floor. (Another review mentioned it had no window which is true.) We loved the quaint architecture and unique decor. There is a beautiful courtyard on the ground floor with a fountain. Upstairs there is a roof deck with old bathtubs you can enjoy in the open air. The staff was gracious. We would have loved to have stayed longer because it was so romantic. I will say that our room was on the small side and lacked storage, next time I would chose something larger. Also breakfast was just ok. Cereal, hardboiled eggs, fruit. Toast was good. But all in all a delightful bargain in a great location ideal for exploring OSJ.

Room Tip: We liked our dark quite room on the first floor but it was on the small side, next time I will upgra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Newsysuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2017

My wife and I stayed for two nights at the Villa Herencia, in the heart of old San Juan. This hotel has about nine guest rooms, each individually furnished with antiques that give a warm, authentic feel to the property. We stayed in room H9, one of the two upstairs rooms. These two rooms are not adjacent but are across from each other across an open patio that features a courtyard complete with sitting area and a hammock. The room itself was probably one of the larger rooms, and actually was a suite of three rooms. The entry to the suite opens into a sitting area with a large skylight and a refrigerator. Off this room is a small bedroom with a single daybed, and a hallway leading to the master bedroom and bath. The king size bed was very comfortable, and an outside door from the master bedroom leads to a sitting area/patio. If you are traveling with another couple, you may want to ask for rooms H8 and H9, as you'll pretty much have the whole upstairs courtyard to yourselves, and you can enjoy sitting and talking in the warm evening air.
The hotel is located on a small, narrow street very close to the main cathedral and the Governor's House. The proximity to the governor's house means there plenty of police on duty in the vicinity at all hours, and you will feel very safe. You are also very close to the fort, and the old city gate. Be warned, however, if you plan to drive to the hotel, there is no parking available at this hotel, and street parking is a nightmare to be avoided in the crowded streets of the old city. Your best bet is to park about five minutes' walk from the hotel at the La Puntilla public parking lot. This is a large, safe, open-air lot, open 24 hours. Parking was about 7 dollars a day at this lot.
The breakfast (included with the room) was served at a large common table in dining room, where we enjoyed meeting other guests each morning. The breakfast was tasty, but somewhat limited in options. It was definitely enough to get me fueled up for the morning, and the coffee was outstanding!
The front desk staff was helpful with dinner recommendations, and they made us feel right at home.
I would definitely recommend this hotel, and would stay there again if I were to return to San Juan.

Room Tip: Rooms H8 and H9 have access to the upstairs open-air patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2017

We stayed for 2 nights in January prior to a cruise in this lovely small hotel.
Loved the Spanish styled decor and rooms, and the individual breakfast served on a silver tray!
Coffee/tea throughout the day and staff very helpful with any restaurant or sightseeing advice.
Comfy bed, large shower {for 2}. Didn't get time to use the sun terrace.
Managed to get locked out one night as came back after reception closed, but our fault for not taking the code!
Will be happy to book when returning but will need to be quick as books up fast.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DAVID S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2017

The only problem is the roof is leaking water. So the floor on one side of our bed was wet. The staff was great, location is great, and the breakfast serving is great too. I wish we could stay a few more days!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ying L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaHerencia, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Herencia, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2017

Hello!
We are very thankful of your great review. It makes us really glad that you have enjoyed our little historic gem and that our service have pleased you. We very sorry for the inconvenience, we had a few weeks of very heavy rains and keeping this more than 300 years old buildings in excellent shape is a really hard work. We would like compensate you with a 20% discount for a next stay with us. Our best interest is to give our guests the best experience and we would love to have a chance to do that with you.

Very Best Regards
Marcia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.6 km away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 47 in San Juan
976 reviews
0.4 km away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#9 of 47 in San Juan
776 reviews
0 km away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 47 in San Juan
236 reviews
4.6 km away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 47 in San Juan
850 reviews
9.7 km away
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
#30 of 47 in San Juan
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Herencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Herencia

Address: 23 Caleta de Las Monjas, San Juan 00901-1575, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan
Price Range: $217 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Herencia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful boutique hotel in the middle of Old San Juan! Located just steps away from shops, restaurants and historical monuments in the city. Our hotel is filled with charm and history. Our beautiful rooms showcase antique Spanish and French furniture as well as true Spanish architecture. At our hotel, you will receive personalized service during your stay. Our primary goal is for you to enjoy what our city hast to offer and provide you with the best accommodations and information that there is to offer in Old San Juan! We hope you choose us as your place to stay in Old San Juan! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Herencia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Herencia Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing