We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional!”
Review of Villa Herencia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Herencia
Ranked #4 of 30 San Juan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2017

We just got back from five days in San Juan and really loved this hotel. It is located within walking distance of everything in Old San Juan (near the cathedral), which couldn't have been more convenient. The property is beautifully decorated and landscaped, and has a mediterranean feel to it. We stayed in one of the smaller rooms, but did not lack for space. Decorated with antiques and canopy style mosquito netting, it had a very romantic feel to it. The room was taller than it was wide, making it feel like we were staying in a castle. Great for couples.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms open to the courtyard. Upper floor rooms opened to the rooftop terrace and had sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Donald Joseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of an island hopping holiday.

We were in room H7 which had a huge king size bed, double rain shower and was generally very spacious. One of the best things is that the villa is so so quiet and we all had a brilliant night's sleep.

The villa is very centrally located in Old San Juan right near the Cathedral. We could hear the choir singing when sunbathing on the epic roof terrace (see picture). It was Easter weekend so lots of services. If we had more time here I would have been on the roof terrace every day! It's beautiful at night, perfect to enjoy a glass of wine.

My only nit picks were that the shower pressure is very low and the breakfast very simple. Boiled eggs are the only hot option. I would have liked a bit nore choice as I'm not a fan of granola, cereals etc. You do have access to complimentary tea, coffee and water throughout the day which is a nice touch.

The service here is excellent and I know my husband had to move the booking around a lot due to our plans. Nothing is too much trouble and you are made to feel welcome. They Ipad type monitors in the rooms are great as you can request anything at the click of a button. My friend had a power cut in her room and it was dealt with quickly.

A note to travellers, if you are coming to Puerto Rico for luxury and want all the mod cons of a resort, this place is not for you. You will need to stay in a big hotel in Condado or Isla Verde. However, if you want unique accommodation in the cultural part of San Juan, I would recommend the Villa Herencia.

Would 100% visit again.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kas25Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaHerencia, Guest Services at Villa Herencia, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Thank you very much for this excellent review!
This is the reason why the staff strives to give the best every time. Again thank you! This is our best motor to improve every day.

All the best!
Marcia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2017 via mobile

This little gem provides easy access to everything in Old San Juan. Walk to and from the best restaurants and nightlife. When you've had enough, villa Herencia is the perfect quiet sanctuary. Best sleep we've had in ages! John was awesome in helping us plan activities and offer recommendations. Complimentary breakfast was a nice and delicious surprise. We can't wait to return.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CNBVI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017

The hotel is a very well restored and decorated Spanish colonial house with two levels. There are only 8 rooms but you will feel as if you where in other epoch. The service is excellent and friendly, the hotel is very private, and seldom saw other guests and the hotel was full. They have a good, simple breakfast and has all the amenities like WiFi,etc. The rooms were very clean, dreamy decorated and comfortable. Beautiful vintage furniture. The bath is ample, nice shower and everything worked fine. The TV has limited cable channels and was somewhat small, but who cares. The second level terrace is beautiful and a good area for reading or lounging. There is no restaurant nor bar at the restaurant, but at walking distance you have everything since you are in the heart of the walkable city of old San Juan. Right next to the grand hotel El Convento and next to the cathedral. The hotel has no parking, you have to use the public alternatives nearby which are cheap. The rates are perfect, and for a weekend escapade it has no match. Great for couples or solo. Not recommended for kids or big families.

Room Tip: second level rooms are the suites. the lower rooms vary in size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 750DRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2017

We stayed at Villa Herencia for four nights of our week-long vacation in Puerto Rico, and we loved it. It is well situated for walking around Old San Juan, the hotel is a lovely example of Spanish Colonial Architecture, cozy and charming. Beautiful rooftop patio, comfortable beds, a nice breakfast and friendly, accommodating staff round off a perfect city experience. Special thanks to Chris, who was always ready to help with any request, friendly conversation and recommendations for meals and activities.

Stayed: March 2017
Thank merrywench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.6 km away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 48 in San Juan
991 reviews
0.4 km away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#12 of 48 in San Juan
781 reviews
0.1 km away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 48 in San Juan
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 48 in San Juan
2,785 reviews
4.6 km away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 48 in San Juan
857 reviews
9.7 km away
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
#32 of 48 in San Juan
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Herencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Herencia

Address: 23 Caleta de Las Monjas, San Juan 00901-1575, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan
Price Range: $207 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Herencia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful boutique hotel in the middle of Old San Juan! Located just steps away from shops, restaurants and historical monuments in the city. Our hotel is filled with charm and history. Our beautiful rooms showcase antique Spanish and French furniture as well as true Spanish architecture. At our hotel, you will receive personalized service during your stay. Our primary goal is for you to enjoy what our city hast to offer and provide you with the best accommodations and information that there is to offer in Old San Juan! We hope you choose us as your place to stay in Old San Juan! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Herencia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Herencia Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing