We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$118
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$109/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$176
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$203
US$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$319
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
US$209
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Andalucia House(San Juan)(Great Value!)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (338)
Filter reviews
338 results
Traveller rating
242
75
14
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
242
75
14
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssan juan gateold san juanclaw footquiet streetmain cathedralmosquito nettingrooftop terraceyogurtsitting areaboutique hotelel morroboiled eggsfirst floorgreat boutiquehotel elstayed here for one nightrooms are small
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 338 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of an island hopping holiday.

We were in room H7 which had a huge king size bed, double rain shower and was generally very spacious. One of the best things is that the villa is so so quiet and we all had a brilliant night's sleep.

The villa is very centrally located in Old San Juan right near the Cathedral. We could hear the choir singing when sunbathing on the epic roof terrace (see picture). It was Easter weekend so lots of services. If we had more time here I would have been on the roof terrace every day! It's beautiful at night, perfect to enjoy a glass of wine.

My only nit picks were that the shower pressure is very low and the breakfast very simple. Boiled eggs are the only hot option. I would have liked a bit nore choice as I'm not a fan of granola, cereals etc. You do have access to complimentary tea, coffee and water throughout the day which is a nice touch.

The service here is excellent and I know my husband had to move the booking around a lot due to our plans. Nothing is too much trouble and you are made to feel welcome. They Ipad type monitors in the rooms are great as you can request anything at the click of a button. My friend had a power cut in her room and it was dealt with quickly.

A note to travellers, if you are coming to Puerto Rico for luxury and want all the mod cons of a resort, this place is not for you. You will need to stay in a big hotel in Condado or Isla Verde. However, if you want unique accommodation in the cultural part of San Juan, I would recommend the Villa Herencia.

Would 100% visit again.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kas25Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaHerencia, Guest Services at Villa Herencia, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Thank you very much for this excellent review!
This is the reason why the staff strives to give the best every time. Again thank you! This is our best motor to improve every day.

All the best!
Marcia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2017 via mobile

This little gem provides easy access to everything in Old San Juan. Walk to and from the best restaurants and nightlife. When you've had enough, villa Herencia is the perfect quiet sanctuary. Best sleep we've had in ages! John was awesome in helping us plan activities and offer recommendations. Complimentary breakfast was a nice and delicious surprise. We can't wait to return.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CNBVI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017

The hotel is a very well restored and decorated Spanish colonial house with two levels. There are only 8 rooms but you will feel as if you where in other epoch. The service is excellent and friendly, the hotel is very private, and seldom saw other guests and the hotel was full. They have a good, simple breakfast and has all the amenities like WiFi,etc. The rooms were very clean, dreamy decorated and comfortable. Beautiful vintage furniture. The bath is ample, nice shower and everything worked fine. The TV has limited cable channels and was somewhat small, but who cares. The second level terrace is beautiful and a good area for reading or lounging. There is no restaurant nor bar at the restaurant, but at walking distance you have everything since you are in the heart of the walkable city of old San Juan. Right next to the grand hotel El Convento and next to the cathedral. The hotel has no parking, you have to use the public alternatives nearby which are cheap. The rates are perfect, and for a weekend escapade it has no match. Great for couples or solo. Not recommended for kids or big families.

Room Tip: second level rooms are the suites. the lower rooms vary in size.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 750DRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2017

We stayed at Villa Herencia for four nights of our week-long vacation in Puerto Rico, and we loved it. It is well situated for walking around Old San Juan, the hotel is a lovely example of Spanish Colonial Architecture, cozy and charming. Beautiful rooftop patio, comfortable beds, a nice breakfast and friendly, accommodating staff round off a perfect city experience. Special thanks to Chris, who was always ready to help with any request, friendly conversation and recommendations for meals and activities.

Stayed: March 2017
Thank merrywench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017

We stayed here for one night with another couple, on our way to a villa near the rain forest. Upon arrival we immediately said we wished we had planned to stay longer! The hotel is lovely, over 300 years old with period pieces but updated with very comfortable beds, linens and bath. Very comfortable and romantic. Management (Chris) was very helpful and gave us an insight into the history of the hotel. The lobby had the soothing sounds of a waterfall feature. Located in the oldest part of the city and in a safe area, close to everything. it rained during our stay so we could not use the terrace, but we certainly will be back!! definitely recommend.

Room Tip: we had room 5, downstairs, our friends had 7 I think. ours was a bit smaller but very comfortable!
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sharonmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews