We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing: Classic and modern in the old city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Caleta 64 Apartment
Ranked #12 of 30 San Juan B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
72
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

We were exhausted when we opened the door but immediately just overwhelmed at the cozy beautiful apartment. Hosts were just delightful and able to accommodate our needs when fights were changed dramatically. We are just grateful that we were able to stay two nights after all. Perfect location close to museums, forts, restaurants. The bath is modern, towels and sheets perfect. I can't say enough good things about Caleta 64.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2016

In all the traveling we have done, this apartment and location combined made for a most enjoyable way to spend our last 4 days. Betsy, was helpful, gracious and fun. We came away feeling we stayed on the most unique street in all of Old San Juan. We will always consider this to be one of the best experiences we have ever had. Thank you, again, Betsy...Wayne and Dana

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Wayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2016

First, Betsy (the condo manager) was very nice and helpful. The location is perfect for walking to almost any place you want in OSJ. However, it can be a challenge if you rent a car or even take a taxi, because of the very narrow old street as well as traffic. We had to get off and get picked up at the corner nearby as none of our taxi could get to the narrow street.

We had the Adoquin unit (2nd floor facing the lovely narrow cobblestones street). It has rustic, local flavor and is more like a studio, equipped with built-in breakfast table, dish washer, electric stove, laundry washer/dryer, AC, wifi and a patio. We left the windows open most time and never felt noisy or unsafe. The only down site about this unit is the small shower stall. There was a little leak near the glass door.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay and will stay here again if we return in the future.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
Thank Bel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2016

Our group of 7 booked two nights at both the first floor apartments. The street is colorful and central, though not noisy. It's convenient to walk anywhere in Old San Juan and the building itself is very authentic and pretty. The owners were helpful and friendly, and I would 100% recommend staying in one of these apartments! The only thing that can be improved is the wifi connection (it only seems to work in certain/specific spots on the ground floor). Thank you, Caleta 64!

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank aduncan415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2016

For the location, Caleta 64 is 5 star but the apartment we were allocated (Ballaja) was certainly not above a 3 for quality. There was nothing inviting about the atmosphere of the unit and it was just as well my husband is tall as I couldn't even reach the locks on the windows. and in the Ballaja apartment there is no reason to open them as there was nothing to look at from this apartment.

The front apartment on the same floor looked much nicer as it had a small balcony but ours felt like living in a box. The aircon in the bedroom was good but we were unable to operate the one in the living area. Without the a/c or fans, the apartment was stuffy without opening the windows (that lacked screens). The furniture is very basic, no hanging space at all & no storage apart from some shelves in the bedroom. The bed linen was very thin & way past replacement time but at least the towels were OK & the shower was hot. We thought we would cook a meal in the oven but this proved difficult as there was no oven-ware. In addition, the crockery was not clean & a sharp knife would have been nice.

Betsy was very charming but on the run so we had only a very quick introduction to the apartment. Apart from some tour maps at the front door, the only other tour information in the apartment was at least 4 years out of date and the other reading material was of a similar vintage. Overall, the apartment had the feeling of having loads of potential but being unloved & really only suitable for a couple.

Room Tip: A room at the front with an outlook - NOT the Ballaja
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
4.8 km away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
5.2 km away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
4.6 km away
Casa Santurce
Casa Santurce
#3 of 26 in San Juan
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
6 km away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
5.1 km away
Best Western Plus Condado Palm Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caleta 64 Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caleta 64 Apartment

Address: 64 Caleta de San Juan | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901-1506, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan
Price Range: $183 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Caleta 64 Apartment 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Heart of Old San Juan this luxury colonial structure dates back to the 1800s having been refurbished successively during the 1900s and most recently for the opening of Caleta 64 Apartments. It is comprised of 5 apartments on three floors.In Caleta 64 Apartments the seventeen high feet ceilings and twenty four inch thick brick walls depict the traditional style of Old San Juan. These features were designed to maintain these large structures aired by constantly circulating fresh air from its ample interiors. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Caleta 64 Apartment Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing