We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, but somewhat spooky...”
Review of Hotel El Convento

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel El Convento
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2011

My husand and I stayed here after the 7 day South Caribbean cruise (it was awsome!!). You can't ask for any better location than this. There are many nice shops right in front of the hotel. Coach, Burberry, Ralph Lauren, etc... to name a few, but they are all 30 to 50% off of the outlet price. Amazing! The hotel is chic and romantic. The service was excellent. We enjoyed the hot tub and pool overlooking the view of Old San Juan. Our room was nice and clean with very comfy bed. However, at night time, it was very dark, extremely quiet and spooky. I didn't want to be left alone in the room by myself. (I read about the ghost stories of this hotel when I returned home from this trip.)

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank texasmamaof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,797)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,039 - 2,043 of 2,797 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2011

My mom and I returned from San Juan yesterday after a 4 night stay at the El Convento Hotel. What a gorgeous hotel with wonderful staff (very friendly, and helpful), excellent location and beautiful and well-appointed rooms, with really comfortable beds. The hotel itself just exudes history, and what a fabulous location to be in OSJ. Everything is in walk-distance (except a true beach) and the wine/cheese reception every evening was a very nice and classy touch at a classy hotel. They have complementary bottled water also (this was a great perk for my mom and I because we are used to drinking several liters of water a day). 2 computers for guests' use and free wifi. This hotel had it all. Dont go expecting a beach resort though, and the pool on the rooftop is very small. We ate at all 3 restaurants and found them to be pricey (except for Pizza e Birra, which was very reasonable and good value) and to have exceptional service. I would have given this hotel 5/5 if it were not for the 2 weddings that occurred on the property over the weekend (Saturday and Sunday nights). The guests were outside late into the night on Sunday, and as our room was on the first floor (101) facing the street and the front of the hotel, we could hear the noise from outside as I guess they went into town for an after-party. We also found that Saturday a few of the guests were staying in the room next to ours, and were going in and out of their room every half an hour or so (perhaps to have some drinks or whatnot, dont see why you'd go in and out of your room otherwise), which I found really annoying and it made it difficult to sleep. I think the hotel should enforce quietness better when they have wedding parties on the property that go on til all hours of the night. That was my only complaint, but it was relatively minor. The second 2 nights were very peaceful and quiet, as there were no more weddings!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank windvalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2011

Loved our stay at this hotel. Although the rooms and bathrooms are small and need some touching up, the atmosphere, location and evening wine reception are great! The hotel is whithin walking distance of all the attractions in Old San Juan and you don't need a car. The mojitos at the tapas restaurant were great too! Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chachi07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2011

This is an absolutely beautiful hotel. The rooms are spotless and the bathrooms were notably above good expectations. The food at the available on site restaurants is amazing. Starting your evening at the wine social is a must! Do not miss it. The small pool on the third floor has an excellent view. It is perfect for catching rays and cooling off. You are smack in the middle of Old San Juan which makes everything walkable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ernie_Valdez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2011

Beautiful property, service beyond expectations. Very accommodating staff. The daily wine tasting was in very good taste and an excellent way to meet the staff and other guests. The location was excellent as it allowed you to walk to any place you desired in Old San Juan. a Beautiful courtyard. The pool was not large enough to swim but was good to jump in to cool off.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimmysim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
4.5 km away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.1 km away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 48 in San Juan
254 reviews
0.5 km away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 48 in San Juan
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 48 in San Juan
858 reviews
5.9 km away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
0.4 km away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#12 of 48 in San Juan
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Convento

Address: 100 Cristo St | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Juan
#1 Family Hotel in San Juan
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: S$329 - S$696 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel El Convento 4.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Old San Juan, Hotel El Convento has set new standards of luxury, comfort and service while preserving the rich character of this former 16th century convent. This landmark treasure, a member of Historic Hotels of America and Small Luxury Hotels of the World, has earned four diamonds from AAA each year since its opening. This is the exclusive hotel experience to indulge the most discriminating of travelers, and is a hotel like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel El Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Convento San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing