We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$104
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$118
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$176
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$148/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$169
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
CasaBlanca Hotel(San Juan)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$149/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$159
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$259
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,878)
Filter reviews
2,878 results
Traveller rating
2,093
540
138
79
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,093
540
138
79
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine and cheesetapas restaurantold san juancourtyard restaurantwine receptionformer conventevery eveningplunge poolpuerto ricoopen courtyardcentral courtyardvista roomthird floorturn down serviceacross the streetour honeymoonbottled water
Filter
Updating list...
1,219 - 1,224 of 2,878 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed at El Convento with my husband and daughter while scouting out rehearsal venues for our son's November wedding. Lovely hotel, friendly staff and comfortable rooms. We enjoyed seeing the main banquet area of the hotel where our son's wedding reception is to be held and getting a first hand look at the accommodations, since many of our wedding guests will be staying there. The building is unique and stunning when you walk in. Beautiful Spanish oil paintings (Velazquez?) flank the gate as you enter the side foyer. You feel instantly transported to another time. The entire hotel is graciously appointed and one can spend hours admiring the art and architecture. The pool area is small, but relaxing and the "happy hour" wine and cheese buffet in the late afternoon was a nice offering, despite the hoards of guests that descended upon the small buffet and loaded mountains of food on their plates. Oh well. Not the hotel's fault...(The coffee service in the morning is a much more pleasant time to enjoy the third floor hospitality area.)
Can't wait to come back for the wedding in November and once again enjoy the wonderful atmosphere of El Convento.

Room Tip: Room 504 overlooked the pool area, but was not the least bit noisy and proved very convenient when we needed to call our sunbathing daughter!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LillyAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Unless you're dead set on staying beachside or spa treatments, I'd highly recommend this hotel. The staff is incredibly friendly, and the property is spotless, gorgeous, & located a few minutes walk from any Old San Juan destination. My only complaint was that their room service menu is pretty light & closes early. Other than that, El Convento has everything. To some extent, corporate hotels all look & feel the same. El Convento is the perfect blend of old world feel & modern amenities. If you still want the beach, they have free day passes to their other properties, a short drive away. Otherwise, their rooftop pool & lounge area was plenty for some sun & a quick dip. I also found it very affordable, especially given its beauty, service and historic pedigree.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DM0ss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We recently had a wedding at Castillo San Cristobal in Old San Juan with our wedding reception to follow at El Convento. Last year we flew to San Juan from Pittsburgh and visited a variety of hotels in Puerto Rico to consider them for our wedding venue - but once we visited El Convento, our choice was easy. The hotel itself is gorgeous and full of history and the staff provides excellent service. It was just a cut above any of the other venues we visited. Its location is great in Old San Juan since you are able to walk out and enjoy all of the unique shops, bars and eateries that Old San Juan has to offer.

For our reception, we worked with Glorimar Ortiz and she was fabulous. Once we selected El Convento, we were able to coordinate almost everything with Glorimar via email which was very helpful for my spouse and I as we both work full time. Once the wedding date came closer, we had a phone conference with her and reviewed all of the final details. Between Glorimar and our wedding planner Karisha, my now husband and I felt completely at ease and were able to fully enjoy our wedding day knowing that all of the details would be handled. Glorimar also coordinated a wedding brunch the following day with my mother and it was lovely. El Convento handles their events with class and once we made basic selections, they took it from there and pulled of the events very well.

We also had a room block for our guests through El Convento that filled up quickly. All of our guests who stayed at El Convento loved the hotel and especially the complimentary wine and cheese from 6-7pm every night - something small but they just really enjoyed it and it served as a sort of daily meeting spot for everyone. Even some of our guests who are world travelers and very picky enjoyed their stay at El Convento.

El Convento is a pricier venue in Old San Juan so some of our guests were not able to stay there but it is close to many other smaller and nice hotels (Villa Herencia, Hotel Casa Blanca). We had some guests stay at those venues and that worked very well.

Overall we were so pleased with El Convento and its staff and would recommend it to anyone considering Old San Juan as a venue for their wedding or special occasion. It was beautiful, classy and the service was excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 5th floor have beautiful views of the bay and city, rooms on the second floor have high ceilings, and rooms on the third floor are close to the wine and cheese :)
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

You certainly can't beat the locations of El Convento - right in the heart of Old Town mere steps from the San Juan Cathedral, beautiful cobblestone streets and the beautiful San Juan Gate. It is a perfect spot to serve as your home base when exploring the city and an oasis to return to after a long day of walking.

Normally the hotel requires a two night minimum when staying on weekends but we were able to get a reservation for just one night. This might explain why we had one of the less desirable rooms on the main floor just off of the courtyard. However, it was private (behind a locked door that led to the hallway) and our room was comfortable and more than large enough for my wife and I and our 18 year old son. We had two bathrooms which was fabulous and the room was cool and quiet (even being on the main floor).

What we loved about the hotel were the extras. The wine and cheese served in the late afternoon to hotel guests was very good and the pool deck and other adjacent terraces were great places to wind down and cool off (don't count on swimming laps in the very tiny pool, however).

Our only real disappointment was with the restaurant. At breakfast we couldn't get a table as they were short staffed (we could have waited 45 minutes but that was out of the question) which meant we had to work hard to find a place for coffee and food early on a Sunday morning and our lunch in the patio restaurant was not great.

That being said it is a beautiful place to stay and definitely worth the expense (it is not cheap!).

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The hotel was great, from the bellhop who was super courteous to the restaurant most everything was great. The 24 hr outdoor pool on the 4th floor was relaxing. The jacuzzi had a bit too much chlorine for me though. The cheese and wine reception hr with free bottled water and coffee/tea was very pleasing. Most taxis are parked outside in front of the church. The only thing I didn't like was the "turndown"(as the front desk called it) of the room in the afternoon, after we had gone out, housekeeping came in the room and moved/added some things in the room, plants, pillows etc. We were not expecting this intrusion in the afternoon but rather in the morning. We had initially checked in and the room was perfectly set. Double doors between hallways blocked noise from exterior balcony downward facing bar/restaruant. High ceilings with fan. Overall, still a very nice hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor and had no issues with noise, however, we had a view of the alleyway.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominick197241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfredo A, General Manager at Hotel El Convento, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Dominick -

Thank you for your positive feedback. Nightly turndown service to all our guests is one of the exclusive amenities of hotel El Convento. Our commitment is to provide everyone with a perfect stay. We are well aware that an immaculate room at all times is a key component to achieve that goal.

Always at your service,

Alfredo Arroyo
aarroyo@elconvento.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews