We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel in Old San Juan”
Review of Hotel El Convento

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel El Convento
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2010

This hotel is perfect if you are looking for location and comfort in the heart of Old San Juan.The rooms are nice, the hotel is beautiful, the pool and the gym are tiny.If you want to explore San Juan this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BlueBsAs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,797)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,232 - 2,236 of 2,797 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2010

My hubby and I spent two nights at El Convento at the end of our stay in Puerto Rico. The timing couldn't have been more perfect... it was the tail end of the low season so we got a wonderful rate (probably wouldn't have stayed there otherwise!). It was definitely one of the best places we've ever stayed at - clean, gorgeous, classy, but not pretentious and with character to spare! We loved the evening wine reception on the balcony. We would definitely stay there again - thank you!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2010

Most of the reviews are correct, great place for relax, in general is very clean, profecional service, every one is so nice.
This is a landmatk and a big boutique hotel, most of the rooms are good size, nice decor and confortable. Every floor have many sitting areas with well kept plants where you can relax is just beautiful.
Of course, some of the rooms always need maintenance; in my room for e.g. the safe-box need to be fix, so I called front desk and they sent ingeniering right away, it was fix in less that 10 minutes. One morning after rain all day and night the day-before, my wake up call was done by hitting on my door; the phones were out of service. This is an old building and is not a 5 Starts-Lux Hotel, but is the only great hotel in old San Juan.
The restaurant for e.g. only serve breakfast and lunch, no open for dinner ?.....The tapas restaurant on the 2nd floor doesn't belong to the hotel and is very informal and not well kept ( not clean ) is noticeable during the day. But at night with the candels and small lights it looks ok. The same with the common areas on the 1st floor of the hotel need better house keeping.
I enjoyed the wine tasting every day from 6 to 7 pm. They offer 4 white and 4 red wines with cheese and crackers. They also have 24 hrs complementary coffee, tea and bottle water service and a full honor bar till 11 pm. all this on the 3rd floor, nice setting.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ARMNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2010

I really enjoyed my stay - a beautiful & clean boutique hotel, with a charming history.

Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank Deborah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2010

We had room 324 from december 31, 2009 to January 2, 2010. Opposite this room across a narrow street is an open bar (El Batey) with very loud music and drunken people shouting, the first night until 06:30 in the morning, the next night we fell asleep at about 04:00 in the morning, the noise still going on.
Furthermore the plumbing was far from perfect (I had to use a string to be able to shower). The promised fast internet connection was not working during our stay, neither was the hotel WiFi working. Only internet on 2 computers in the so called library.
For the rest it was a nice room with ample space and nicely decorated.
The hotel itself was very charming, the staff friendly and helpful and the food delicious.
We would like to come back but in an other room!
We found Old San Juan highly-priced, e.g. simple breakfast more expensive than a traditional Christmas meal with wine in Salinas (Cruisers Galley) on the south coast of P.R.

M & R

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MR_Lzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
4.5 km away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.1 km away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 48 in San Juan
254 reviews
0.5 km away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 48 in San Juan
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 48 in San Juan
857 reviews
5.9 km away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
0.4 km away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#12 of 48 in San Juan
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Convento

Address: 100 Cristo St | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Juan
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#1 Business Hotel in San Juan
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: $328 - $688 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel El Convento 4.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Old San Juan, Hotel El Convento has set new standards of luxury, comfort and service while preserving the rich character of this former 16th century convent. This landmark treasure, a member of Historic Hotels of America and Small Luxury Hotels of the World, has earned four diamonds from AAA each year since its opening. This is the exclusive hotel experience to indulge the most discriminating of travelers, and is a hotel like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel El Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Convento San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing