We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$98
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$129
AC Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$176
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$123/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$115
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$108/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

CasaBlanca Hotel(San Juan)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
US$163
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$220
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$189/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$95
US$92
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,879)
Filter reviews
2,879 results
Traveller rating
2,094
540
138
79
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,094
540
138
79
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine and cheesetapas restaurantold san juancourtyard restaurantwine receptionformer conventevery eveningplunge poolpuerto ricoopen courtyardcentral courtyardvista roomthird floorturn down serviceacross the streetour honeymoonbottled water
Filter
Updating list...
2,222 - 2,227 of 2,879 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2010

El Covento in the heart of Old San Juan is oozing with character. You walk to most everything Old San Juan as the hotel is very well located. The hotel staff are fantastic and are extremely helpful. The wine and cheese they offer in the evenings for FREE is also a nice touch. The actual accommedations are not of high quality. The beds are middle of the road at best. However, all the other truely amazing things this hotel offers easily masks any downside it may present. This is not a beach resort, but those are a dime a dozen, this place is uniquely special. I would highly recommend El Covento to anyone considering a trip to Puerto Rico.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lv_gedney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

We very much enjoyed our stay here! The room was immaculate, we had nice views from room 510, and each staff member we encountered was very pleasant. We really appreciated the quality of service here and it appeared that every other guest got the same great service. We had breakfast downstairs and it was delicious. We liked the free daily wine & cheese available at 6pm on the 3rd floor. The courtyard was beautiful and quiet even when there were weddings & parties - never a disturbance or the feeling of being overcrowded (but then again we were on the top floor). Valet was very convenient, though driving out of OSJ can be quite a pain. Great walking distance to shops/restaurants/sightseeing. Our room was a perfect size. I was worried about sleeping in a smaller bed but we slept like babies! The small business center has access to 2 computers & printers which came in handy when looking for activities & for booking our return flight. Only negative was the pool (which is ridiculously tiny, even for a private backyard pool) was closed due to them renovating the deck. We were not notified of this at booking, & found out when we arrived. We got the room for an excellent price ($150/night) by booking directly from the hotel's website (I love a bargain!!!) and I can see why their regular rates are usually much higher, it's worth it! On 2 occasions we spent some time at their sister hotel, La Concha to use the pool & beach access. The property was beautiful, trendy and a great place to relax. The crowd was very mixed & we even made some new friends there, but the pools are a lot smaller than they appear to be on the website. There wasn't enough outdoor lounge space to accompany the amount of people they cater to and it got even more crowded when they closed down the beach front pools for a private party. The beach is not impressive and there are run down/abandoned buildings & graffiti in plain sight when on the beach. I was relieved we stayed at El Convento in comparison!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

I got married here in January 2010. The perfect most amazing wedding! Do not hestiate to (a) get married here (b) go to a wedding here (c) stay the night here. It's such a beautiful property and is romantic for all.

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

We stayed for two nights in mid August and absolutely adored this place. It was a relaxing jewel of a place in a hustle and bustle atmosphere of OSJ. I got up each morning and had coffee out on the third floor terrace. It was so beautiful and relaxing. Beautiful view both from the room and the terrace. The room was terribly small, but the view and the ambience of the hallways outside more than made up for the room. The lobby staff was excellent. They were all extremely friendly. The pool is very small, but serves the purpose. The reception each nice was very nice. Tasteful and just enough to unwind after a day of sightseeing and prior to going out for dinner. All of us loved the hotel and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginga90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2010

to start at the beginning, i looooooooove the look of this place! i'm going to say that on an asthetic level, this is one of the most beautiful hotels that i have even stayed in. now, i know that there are bigger, more all-inclusive, fancy schmancy hotels out there, but for us, this place was perfect!!!

the hotel staff were nothing but helpful in advance of our quick two day trip to san juan, and they only continued to be even more helpful once we arrived. Zoraida, at the front desk, checked our bags since we arrived early, so that we could get out and about to start our sightseeing, and she also helped make renting a car for the next day all but effortless.

our room was fabulous, even though it was only one of their standard room. we found it super comfy and perfect of our needs...including the extra door within the room to block out the noise from the inner courtyard of the hotel.

we loved the rooftop pool! great for a nice couple of hours in the afternoon after a busy morning of taking in the sights, or first thing in the morning after breakfast while you're waiting for the shops to open.

the afternoon wine reception was nice...a great way to unwind after being out and about for the day before we cleaned up to head out for dinner.

one of the bellmen/porters, Ivan, recommended a wonderful restaurant nearby when we told him that we wanted something a little less touristy and "off-the-beaten-path."

now that our first visit to puerto rico and the hotel el convento are over, we cannot wait to return!!! and with PR only being a shirt flight from south florida, it won't be long at all...

joel

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wjbatten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews