We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best spot in Old San Juan”
Review of Hotel El Convento

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel El Convento
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2010

Perfect jumping off point for exploring Old San Juan, and the fort ruins. Great rooms. Near lots of great bars and restaurants. Small pool. Great staff.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJBNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,800)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,147 - 2,151 of 2,800 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2010

El Covento in the heart of Old San Juan is oozing with character. You walk to most everything Old San Juan as the hotel is very well located. The hotel staff are fantastic and are extremely helpful. The wine and cheese they offer in the evenings for FREE is also a nice touch. The actual accommedations are not of high quality. The beds are middle of the road at best. However, all the other truely amazing things this hotel offers easily masks any downside it may present. This is not a beach resort, but those are a dime a dozen, this place is uniquely special. I would highly recommend El Covento to anyone considering a trip to Puerto Rico.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lv_gedney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

We very much enjoyed our stay here! The room was immaculate, we had nice views from room 510, and each staff member we encountered was very pleasant. We really appreciated the quality of service here and it appeared that every other guest got the same great service. We had breakfast downstairs and it was delicious. We liked the free daily wine & cheese available at 6pm on the 3rd floor. The courtyard was beautiful and quiet even when there were weddings & parties - never a disturbance or the feeling of being overcrowded (but then again we were on the top floor). Valet was very convenient, though driving out of OSJ can be quite a pain. Great walking distance to shops/restaurants/sightseeing. Our room was a perfect size. I was worried about sleeping in a smaller bed but we slept like babies! The small business center has access to 2 computers & printers which came in handy when looking for activities & for booking our return flight. Only negative was the pool (which is ridiculously tiny, even for a private backyard pool) was closed due to them renovating the deck. We were not notified of this at booking, & found out when we arrived. We got the room for an excellent price ($150/night) by booking directly from the hotel's website (I love a bargain!!!) and I can see why their regular rates are usually much higher, it's worth it! On 2 occasions we spent some time at their sister hotel, La Concha to use the pool & beach access. The property was beautiful, trendy and a great place to relax. The crowd was very mixed & we even made some new friends there, but the pools are a lot smaller than they appear to be on the website. There wasn't enough outdoor lounge space to accompany the amount of people they cater to and it got even more crowded when they closed down the beach front pools for a private party. The beach is not impressive and there are run down/abandoned buildings & graffiti in plain sight when on the beach. I was relieved we stayed at El Convento in comparison!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

I got married here in January 2010. The perfect most amazing wedding! Do not hestiate to (a) get married here (b) go to a wedding here (c) stay the night here. It's such a beautiful property and is romantic for all.

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

We stayed for two nights in mid August and absolutely adored this place. It was a relaxing jewel of a place in a hustle and bustle atmosphere of OSJ. I got up each morning and had coffee out on the third floor terrace. It was so beautiful and relaxing. Beautiful view both from the room and the terrace. The room was terribly small, but the view and the ambience of the hallways outside more than made up for the room. The lobby staff was excellent. They were all extremely friendly. The pool is very small, but serves the purpose. The reception each nice was very nice. Tasteful and just enough to unwind after a day of sightseeing and prior to going out for dinner. All of us loved the hotel and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginga90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
4.5 km away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.1 km away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 48 in San Juan
256 reviews
0.5 km away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 48 in San Juan
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 48 in San Juan
855 reviews
5.9 km away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
0.4 km away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#13 of 48 in San Juan
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Convento

Address: 100 Cristo St | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Juan
#1 Business Hotel in San Juan
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: $337 - $723 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel El Convento 4.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Old San Juan, Hotel El Convento has set new standards of luxury, comfort and service while preserving the rich character of this former 16th century convent. This landmark treasure, a member of Historic Hotels of America and Small Luxury Hotels of the World, has earned four diamonds from AAA each year since its opening. This is the exclusive hotel experience to indulge the most discriminating of travelers, and is a hotel like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel El Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Convento San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing