We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$118
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$111/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$176
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$98
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$289
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
CasaBlanca Hotel(San Juan)(Great Value!)
US$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$191
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
Andalucia House(San Juan)(Great Value!)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (362)
Filter reviews
363 results
Traveller rating
119
146
61
21
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
119
146
61
21
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront deskold san juanpuerto ricorecommend elbreakfast roomlaundry facilitiessmall balconysmall hotelcondado beachrooms are cleanstay there againashford avenuewalking distanceair conditioningmini fridgefree breakfastwater pressure
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 363 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2017

First, we arrived well before check in as we had disembarked a cruise ship. The person at the front desk could not have been more gracious- offered us access to the breakfast room and gave us beach towels to use. Gorgeous beach is a very short walk from the property. Lovely courtyard with flowers, fruit trees- can take your breakfast out there, which we did. The rooms are not fancy, but clean and have everything we needed, including a small refrigerator and safe. Pleasantly surprised that we had a little deck as well. Different person at the front desk the next morning and just as pleasant. Great value for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank MJoan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, Owner at El Canario by the Lagoon, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2017

Thank you for your candid review. We strive to provide a clean, friendly, and economical experience for our guests. It is a great pleasure to know you had a pleasant stay with us. Come back and see us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017 via mobile

This small hotel is in the heart of condado- walking distance to nice bars and restaurants.

A fresh coat of paint and a re-decor can do magic to this building! It is a great property it just need better attention!

Breakfast was nice and fully stacked at all times! Very friendly staff!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Alejandro R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, Owner at El Canario by the Lagoon, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017

This is our second year to stay before leaving on a cruise. The rooms are simple,.comfortable and clean, bathrooms are small, but you can begin adapting for the cruise ship. Cold breakfast is included with drinks, cereal, fruit, pastries & drinks.. Management accommodating, since we couldn't board ship until 1:00 they let us have room until 12 rather than 11. We love the location in Condado just a block off Ashford Avenue in the heart of restaurants and shops. Good value.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 793SandyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, Owner at El Canario by the Lagoon, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

We appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017 via mobile

Very clean and the staff is incredibly friendly, answered all my questions and advised me on streets and places to go since it was my 1st time in Puerto Rico. I highly recommend if you need a nice, affordable and safe place to stay. Muchas Gracias por todo El Canario Lagoon.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank alejandroivh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, Owner at El Canario by the Lagoon, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

Thank you for your review. I appreciate your comments, and I am happy we were able to meet your needs during your travel. I hope we see you again on a future trip to Puerto Rico.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2017

First, the hotel was nice clean and all we expected. But the staff is what truly makes this hotel a gem. Every staff member we came across was friendly, helpful and made it a joy to stay there. We stayed both before our cruise and after. The breakfast room was clean and pleasant with an outdoor courtyard to enjoy. There was laundry facilities also. We will stay there again!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sonadorcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, Owner at El Canario by the Lagoon, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

I am very happy we met your expectations. It gives us great pleasure to have you visit us. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews