We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Night Before Cruise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Canario by the Lagoon
Ranked #24 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2017 via mobile

So far, so good. I'm currently staying here now and my first impression is that the property is very clean. Small but clean. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The location is also perfect as it is just one block from Ashford Ave where all the restaurants, shops and bars are located and it's only two blocks from Condado beach. One of San Juan's most popular beaches. I would recommend if you're looking for an inexpensive hotel to stay one night before a cruise or longer if you prefer.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank tiara j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, Owner at El Canario by the Lagoon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Thank you very much for staying with us. I also appreciate your taking the time to write a review. We are grateful for your business and hope we can serve you once again in the future. Come back and see us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

Hotel was very clean. Great location and the staff was fantastic especially Monica and Mr Hans. Breakfast room was extremely clean and food was fresh. We will definitely return. Priced very reasonably.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Cdvega1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, Owner at El Canario by the Lagoon, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

Thank you very much for your candid review. We appreciate your business and we look forward to your next visit. You are always welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017

A safe, clean, convenient hotel that has all the amenities of a fancier one (except for a pool) but at half the price. Staff bends over backwards to accommodate the guests in whatever they may need--from scrap paper and pens, to maps, to directions, to wake up calls, to advice on restaurants, etc., in either English or Spanish (your choice, as they speak both fluently). Free wifi is available on your device as well as on a desktop computer in the lobby alcove, and a printer is available if you need one for your boarding pass or a local map (complimentary as well). Air conditioning in the rooms is individually controlled and very strong. Housekeeping is attentive to your needs and times its visits based on your doorknob tag--green for requesting service at once or red if you do not wish to be disturbed at the moment.

The daily continental breakfast is included in the room rate and is all you can eat, so you probably will be able to skip lunch and save money as well. Cereal, oatmeal, artisan breads, Danish, corn muffins, bananas, milk, and orange juice provide plenty of options. I selected the pumpkin bread and cream cheese from the six choices of bread (toasters are available of course). You can dine inside in the a/c or outdoors in a breezy al fresco setting. I arrived very early from a morning flight my first day and was invited to go in the breakfast room even though it was hours before my check in (and my room was ready early as well). They also offer free luggage storage in a locked area after your checkout, a free in room safe with a key only you have, and even a stand of loaner umbrellas if you forgot yours and a rare rain shower should hit the area. Hans, the owner, is always around to chat with the guests and hear what you have to say.

This truly is one of the best deals in the Condado area. My only suggestion for improvement would be to add a water cooler in the lobby--while they do offer free coffee there 24/7, given the hot climate it would be heaven to have some ice cold water available during the day (but each room has a mini fridge for you to make your own). Names are not allowed in reviews but all I can say is you will be well taken care of with S in the morning and A in the afternoon.

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of the hall away from the elevator are quieter, but there is very little noise anyw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedro L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, Owner at El Canario by the Lagoon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Thank you for your candid review. We do try to meet all of our guests needs, and its great to hear when it is noticed. I have to admit we can't think of everything, but we try. You are always welcome at our hotel and we do hope to see you again. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017

First, we arrived well before check in as we had disembarked a cruise ship. The person at the front desk could not have been more gracious- offered us access to the breakfast room and gave us beach towels to use. Gorgeous beach is a very short walk from the property. Lovely courtyard with flowers, fruit trees- can take your breakfast out there, which we did. The rooms are not fancy, but clean and have everything we needed, including a small refrigerator and safe. Pleasantly surprised that we had a little deck as well. Different person at the front desk the next morning and just as pleasant. Great value for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MJoan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, Owner at El Canario by the Lagoon, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2017

Thank you for your candid review. We strive to provide a clean, friendly, and economical experience for our guests. It is a great pleasure to know you had a pleasant stay with us. Come back and see us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017 via mobile

This small hotel is in the heart of condado- walking distance to nice bars and restaurants.

A fresh coat of paint and a re-decor can do magic to this building! It is a great property it just need better attention!

Breakfast was nice and fully stacked at all times! Very friendly staff!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Alejandro R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, Owner at El Canario by the Lagoon, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.3 km away
Coral Princess Hotel
Coral Princess Hotel
#14 of 47 in San Juan
940 reviews
6.3 km away
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
#30 of 47 in San Juan
262 reviews
4.5 km away
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Best Western Plus Condado Palm Inn & Suites
1.0 km away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#20 of 47 in San Juan
823 reviews
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Canario by the Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Canario by the Lagoon

Address: 4 Clemenceau Street | Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Juan
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#12 Business Hotel in San Juan
#13 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: $130 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Canario by the Lagoon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your El Canario by the Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Canario By The Lagoon Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing