We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bedbugs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Condado Plaza Hilton
Ranked #22 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
Reviewed 7 April 2012

booked package on travelocity. Ocean rooms were nice, staff unfriendly or helpful. pool and beaach were great. housekeeping slow and not too thorough. Daughter woke up with what appeared to be bebug bites (we encountered these several years ago and it was a nightmare, so we knew what to look for.) Manager unconcerned when we reported this, we filled out a report. they could have cared less. I will be spending the next few days running all things through dryer before we can bring them in the house to avoid an infestation now that we are home. Frustrating and scary! They opbviousl;y have no plan in place for dealing with bedbugs which can cost thousands to get rid of. we were on the 8th floor ocean tower.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank E A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeahRossi, Front Office Manager at The Condado Plaza Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with us. Our Executive Housekeeper and our Chief Engineer visited your room to let you know about all the precautions our hotel takes in order to avoid these bugs; unfortunatelly they did not find you in your room. Nonetheless, we called our exterminator to make sure, and this confirmed there was no trace of bed bugs. In case of doubt you can contact me and I will provide you with additional information.

Thank you and regards,

Leah Rossi
Guest Services Manager
leah.rossi@conradhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,935)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,436 - 3,440 of 4,935 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2012

We lucked out selecting this place, it's a great hotel! Well located, the rooms are spacious and cute, bright orange curtains, clearly recently renovated, balcony with views of Condado lagoon. The bathroom is a treat - huge, with glass shower in the middle, a rush of hot water, awesome!!! The lobby is modernistic, not my fave, but cute nonetheless.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
Thank NatalyaVqs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeahRossi, Front Office Manager at The Condado Plaza Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Dear NatalyaVqs,

Thank you very much for your review of your stay with us. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed our facilities and wish that you will consider us in the future. Please contact me for anything you may need.

Regards,

Leah Rossi
Guest Services Manager
leah.rossi@conradhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

I am writing this review while I am staying at this property. I typically stay at Hilton properties and I am a HIlton Honors member. The property appears dated and not very well maintained. The shower is just gross. For nearly $400/night including the 16% resort fees, I expect a shower that appears clean and without visible mildew/mold. Neither television worked properly and we had to put a call into maintenance. I booked a city view junior family suite. I guess I have a different vision of what a city view should be. It should not be a view of the ocean tower of the same property. I am staying on the third floor and the road below is very noisy. If you think that you might want to enjoy the beach, forget it. It really is not a beach. It is a small strip of sand next to the main drag and it certainly is not private in any way. Stopped at Aqua for lunch at around 2:30pm. Not many patrons but there sure were plenty of tables--all of them dirty. Waited several minutes for someone to remove dirty plates and utensils. Waited another 20 minutes for someone to actually clean the table. Went for two drinks and some appetizers, finally left nearly 1.5 hours later, not because we took our time but because the service was terribly slow. Perhaps they were short staffed due to Good Friday. Perhaps the service is just poor. I also don't appreciate the resort fee add-on when we did not use any of the amenities. Overall, it is hard to believe that this is a Hilton property. I will not stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room facing the road between the two towers, it is too noisy. I would look for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

great view of ocean and sounds from 9th floor,very clean..huge room,huge bathroom.staff were all very nice and polite,got an hour later check-put,couldn't check in early,but still used all the facilities.fantastic value,great location

Room Tip: request ocean view,theni'd prefer to be on side of road of main lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yankeeboy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeahRossi, Front Office Manager at The Condado Plaza Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2012

Yankeeboy28,

It is so nice to see positive feedbacxk. Thank you for this nice review and we hope to see you in the future. Please contact me if you need anything.

Sincerely,

Leah Rossi
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

My best friend and I stayed here for 4 nights this March (we're 29) and I would not rush to come back. The hotel lobby is very outdated- looks like it hasn't been remodled since the 70s. We had a very long line to check-in and were not told how to access pool towels or given any helpful information. The staff isn't the friendliest. We were told that we would be called when our room was ready and we were not, we had to wander back and wait on the line all over again. The room was nice- I would DEFINITELY request the main building with an ocean view. We were on the 8th floor and hear no noise, but the view of the street/roof is ugly. The shower was very relaxing and the beds very comfortable. Our room was cleaned daily.

The pools are the best part- it is very pretty outside, but if you are looking for a beach, there really isn't one. It is right by the road/ bridge and the sand is very orange and not smooth. The larger pool with the slide has a younger atmosphere with very loud party music. Luckily you can't hear the music from the back pool if you want more of a relaxing reading environment. The hotel food was not good, and the drinks were not mixed- they hand you a pina colada and all the rum is at the top- how hard is it to mix it for a second? If you go I would definitely walk left out of the building for food or go to Starbucks for breakfast.

There is no night life at the hotel, I would recommend going into Old San Juan.

This hotel was OK, it ended up being fine because we met some fun people and really just hung out by the pool. We had a great time but I would stay in Old San Juan if I were to go back.

Room Tip: Request the main building on a higher floor with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank limegreen28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.6 km away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 48 in San Juan
7,212 reviews
1.2 km away
Best Western Plus Condado Palm Inn & Suites
2.1 km away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.7 km away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 48 in San Juan
857 reviews
3.3 km away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Condado Plaza Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Condado Plaza Hilton

Address: 999 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico (Formerly Conrad San Juan Condado Plaza)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#15 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: $242 - $453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Condado Plaza Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 572
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Condado Plaza Hilton, the only hotel overlooking both the Atlantic Ocean and Condado Lagoon, is an enchanting alternative to typical San Juan hotel. Our unique location boasts cool ocean breezes, breathtaking sunsets, and a shimmering, protected beach. Whether you're traveling for work or play, this sparkling hotel offers it all, superb dining options including the award-winning Pikayo restaurant, elegant event venues, three glistening pools, water slide, waterports, 24-hour fitness center, tennis, poolside massage and bustling nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Condado Plaza Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad San Juan Condado Plaza Hotel San Juan
San Juan Conrad
Condado Plaza Hotel San Juan
Hotel Resort Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing