We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$104
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$118
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
CasaBlanca Hotel(San Juan)(Great Value!)
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$235
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$176
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$159
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
US$259
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$218
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (791)
Filter reviews
791 results
Traveller rating
579
137
43
19
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
579
137
43
19
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop terracefull kitchenplunge poolliving roommodern amenitieswasher dryerboutique hotelsmall poolfirst floorhome away from homebed was very comfortablethe location is perfectfew blockssmall hotelcruise portjosecalle
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 791 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2018 via mobile

Super attentive staff. Awesome location. Super comfy bed. Cold AC. Breakfast served on rooftop and coffee available 24-7. Cute place. Would definitely recommend it. Close to all of the bars and restaurants. Took a trip out to fajardo for snorkeling on the reefs. Very easy to get to with guided trip.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

I stayed here in November 2018 for two days after I departed my cruise ship. This was 2 months after Hurricane Maria and much of San Juan was still very much affected. The room was on the 1st floor and it was a 1 br suite. We didn't have AC but we did have ceiling fans and really that's all we needed. The room pleasantly cool. The staff was very pleasant and accommodating. Me and my fiance were very understanding of the limitations of the hotel due to the hurricane and would defiantly go back when the hotel is at it's fully glory.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank antish82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

I stayed here in Mid-January 2018 and like everywhere else on the island the hotel was still dealing with the devastating effects of Hurricane Maria. Some of the "polish" that one would expect from a high end establishment is obviously still on it's way back as the city is still in the midst of picking up the pieces and trying to return to normal. People need to realize exactly what this community went through in order to appreciate the extent of the amenities that are already back on tap (for example, much of the country still has no power or plumbing).

That said, the building itself, the rooms we stayed in, and the staff of La Terraza were absolutely fantastic. The facade and entrance to the building feature classic old world architecture. Instead of walking in to a reception desk there is an open foyer with fresh native flowers and comfortable lounging space. The desk is behind a partition, giving things less a sense of "hotel" and more a sense of "villa".
The rooms featured handmade tropical hardwood doors and windows with louvered blinds, which was a beautiful feature, but also allowed us to open things up for a very bright and breezy "at home" feeling vs being cooped in a typical hotel room. The beds, pillows, and towels were all comfy and our larger room featured a kitchen with all appliances which makes any stay over a couple days much more comfortable.

They friendly staff was happy to share coffee and help me with my Spanish as they pointed out must-see sites on a map of the island. The location is perfect for sight seeing in the heart of Old San Juan. We were able to walk just about everywhere we wanted to go. In all, I was very happy with our stay and quite impressed at how the hotel had bounced back from the effects of the storm. I won't bother to look for another hotel in San Juan on my next trip.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
7
Reviewed 15 March 2018 via mobile

The decoration is very pretty antique but that's the only thing I can said its good. I'm staying at the hotel at the moment and the pool is green so dirty and too small for family vacation. Is more for just sitting and watch. The walls are broken and lots of stains. Air conditioner was not working when I arrived and the room was hot. The bar is closed it looks like they don't have permission to open it. Food very poor not tasty and very low options. I really didn't like it.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

If you're going to spend time in old San Juan this is where you want to stay. It is surrounded by excellent restaurants, a few blocks to the Super Max, and a few blocks to museums, the sea wall, the historic forts, historic graveyard etc. You can even walk the few blocks to explore where the video for Desposito was filmed. The hotel itself is a designated historical property and it feels elegant. The rooms vary so check for what you're booking. Do the upgrade superior room and you'll be very happy. The rooftop has a great view of the city. The front desk staff are excellent,speak Spanish and English, and will help you with whatever questions you have. The area is very safe to walk in including late evening. Free fast internet.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank StravaG71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews