We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary dinner”
Review of Santaella

Santaella
Reserve with OpenTable
Santaella is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #42 of 1,114 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, International, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: La Placita de Santurce
Transit: Stop #19. Bus lines: A5, B21, M3, B16
Description: Chef José Santaella has trained with some of the best chefs in the world, including Ferrán Adriá, Eric Ripert, and Gary Danko. His apprenticeships and successful catering career paved the way for Santaella, his signature restaurant in Santurce's La Placita Marketplace. The decor is rustic yet elegant, with exposed walls, Edison light fixtures, an interior garden, and a sparkling bar. Chef Santaella fuses local and international ingredients to perfectly execute Puerto Rican nouvelle cuisine. The menu is dominated by tapas, which you can easily make into a meal. Favorites include the ahi tuna skewers, goat cheese quesadilla, 'alcapurrias' topped with crab, and foie gras terrine with fruit jelly . The cocktail bar is one of the best on the island, so don't leave without trying one of the concoctions by Santaella's mixologists. -Fodors
Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

From the outside it doesn't' say much from the outside. But once you're inside, the ambience feels like fine dining without the suit and tie. It's an expensive restaurant, but the experience is well worth it. Everything is good here, the appetizers, the entrees, drinks are outstanding. I would classify it as an special occasion restaurant.

Thank VALIDARY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ktoro, Owner at Santaella, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Thank You for taking time in reviewing us.

We are thrilled you had a great experience and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (641)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

77 - 81 of 642 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2017 via mobile

My girlfriend and I went to Santaella on a Thursday night. Luckily we had made a reservation for 9pm because it was PACKED when we got there and they weren't seating non-reservation tables until after 10:30 pm.

We got a quiet seat in the back, which was nice because it was very loud in the restaurant. We ordered appetizers, drinks, and a dessert. The drinks we good, wine was a little over priced. AMAZING appetizers-we got the cheeseburger croquettas and mini sliders. Yum!

The highlight of the meal was the chocolate treasure dessert!! Best lava cake I've ever had.

Service was okay. Had to wait a while to get drinks and seemed to be forgotten about a few times. Didn't ruin the visit though. HIGHLY RECOMMEND.

Would advise them that they need more bathroom stalls though because the women's bathroom always had a very long line that got in the way of servers coming from the kitchen!

Other than that, definitely go! Especially if you want to enjoy La Placita afterwards.

Thank Mackensey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ktoro, Owner at Santaella, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Thanks for your review!

We strive to give you a much better experience next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2017

Cocktails are the draw they are excellent. Bartenders are amazing and are definitely the big draw for the hipsters. Food was very good. Loved the goat cheese quesadillas and the ahi tuna kabobs. The whole red snapper delicious. Only drawback was the service was not very attentive but to be fair they were very busy.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cynthia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ktoro, Manager at Santaella, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Thanks for taking of your time to write a review on us.

We strive to make your service experience much better next time. Your feedback is of great help. Gracias!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017

6 people in our party all said the same thing, it was Excellent. Their service was teriffic, food fantastic, dessert, wish we had more room.

Thank chpncin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ktoro, Owner at Santaella, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

We are so thrilled you had a great experience. We hope you return!

Thank You / Gracias!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017

Get there early because it gets really busy. Make reservations. We had the morcilla, alcapurrias and the mini tacos for appetizers and all were amazing. The main dishes were: lamb chops, Lacón and a filet Mignon; all were great! Will go back, it is a little pricey so not this week but will try to go back as fast as I can!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jessicaopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ktoro, Owner at Santaella, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Thanks for your review! Your feedback really helps us get better.

Gracias!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Santaella also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Santaella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing