We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent surprise.”

La Monserrate Sea Port
Ranked #43 of 175 Restaurants in Ponce
Restaurant details
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were going to a restaurant just past this one. It wasn’t open. So we walked back to this one and went in. The view was spectacular. The food was incredible. Some reviews mentioned slow service. We didn’t experience that, but we were at a leisure dining pace. I had the red snapper filet creole style and he had the skirt steak and has done nothing but rave about how tender it was. It was a happy accident that we ended up here.

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank ashleyjX2485OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2020 via mobile

La Monserrate is nicely situated right by the sea shore, it advertises for fresh seafood. We had a Conch salad and shrimp cocktail, both fresh but otherwise disappointing: both dishes had no seasoning and no dressing, just a little cup with ordinary ketchup. At a price of more than 20$ for the conch salad this is unsatisfactory.

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank Prizzis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2019 via mobile

We’ve been here many times en route between San Juan and Yauco. The view and sounds of the crashing waves can’t be beat. The food is very good. Traditional seafood choices like mofongo w/shrimp, pulpo (octopus), chillo entero (whole fried red snapper - watch out for bones!!). Tostones (plantain) or fried panapen. It’s all good. Start with some sweet deep fried corn sorullos and empanadillas de chapin. Be sure to check out the huge Sabado (tarpoon fish) swimming in the lighted surf after the sun sets.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank DJMXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2019

The menu is delightfully straightforward and uncomplicated, and everything we had was so fresh and delicious. The server offered the Mahi mahi either grilled or sauteéd, and the shrimp cocktail and conch salad appetizers were wonderful. Generous portions of food carried over to good cocktails from the bar! This is a place where the view enhances, rather than distracts from, the food. Great value, too. OK, parking is a bit precarious - try to back in, if you get an opening, to make your departure (after sunset, most likely, easier). We did find the mosquitos came out the Instant the sun was set, and the restaurant had a mosquito deterrent coil burning elsewhere on the patio.

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2019

This place is awesome, the view is spectacular, the food delicious and the staff is very friendly. We visited this place for the first time and we will come back when in Ponce for sure. Tasty Seafood while watching the Caribbean Sea.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Axel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Monserrate Sea Port also viewed

Ponce, Puerto Rico
Ponce, Puerto Rico
 

Been to La Monserrate Sea Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.