We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of El Momo Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El Momo Cottages
Reviewed 3 May 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at El Momo for 8 nights in the Iguana cottage and couldn't have been happier. The bed was comfy, the views outstanding , Andreis the owner was the perfect host... just remember there are a lot of stairs and it's a pretty good uphill walk back from town.

Saba itself was perfect for us. The diving was fantastic (dove with Sea Saba - who I highly recommend). Great restaurants: Brigadoon, Eco-lodge and the place with smoothies and great burritos were our favorites.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terryll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 166 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2009

This was our first trip to Saba and we are so glad that we visited Saba and stayed at El Momo. We stayed for 10 nights in the Turtle Cottage. We loved this cottage and the view is outstanding. Probably one of the best views on the island. Andries was an awesome host with a terrific sense of humour. He was very helpful when needed and gave you space which made the trip more relaxing. He also makes a delicious breakfast. The rum is outstanding and the fact that he is so trustworthy with the honour system bar was something I never experience in North America. We were very pleased when we checked out. The room was beautiful and we loved the way the cleaning staff made our beds and put beautiful fresh flowers in various spots in our room and bathroom. Having a pool was indeed a bonus. Nothing beats swimming at El Momo and lounging in the hammock with a view of a mountain with a cloudy peak. Even on a cloudy day, it is bright and the colour of the blue ski and blue ocean are out of this world. Saba Island and El Momo definitely took a peice of my heart and we will treasure this trip forever! We are hoping to visit Saba again next year and and/or the year after and will stay at El Momo. EL MOMO - PLEASE don't change anything!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackAnge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2009

El Momo was great! I only had 2 nights on Saba. When I arrived, Andries told me all about the hiking on the island, helped me pick places to eat, and took care of setting up rides for me whenever I needed one.

The rooms were clean, the view was wonderful, the breakfast was great, and the pool was refreshing. They had great internet service and plenty of available snacks and refreshments.

I am looking forward to my next trip to El Momo!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barmstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2009

I stayed at El Momo for 4 nights last week. The place is so incredibly relaxing, with stunning views and wonderful service. Nothing was too much trouble for Andries (the owner) and I left feeling refreshed and relaxed - I would definitely recommend El Momo to my friends.

Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
Thank global_traveler_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2009

My husband and I stayed at Cottage in the Sky for two weeks and couldn't have been happier. The cottages are simple, yet the surroundings are total luxury. The breakfast is also simple, yet absolutely delicious. We bought them out of banana jam before we left! The homemade yogurt, bread and tea blends are also very good. The owner was always available to make reservations for us, give us info about the island, whatever we needed. Even when they were fully booked we felt like we had the place to ourselves. Cottage in the Sky offers a good amount of privacy and is surrounded with beautiful vegetation--elephant ears, passion fruit trees--it's really incredible.

It can be quite a climb to get home after full day of hiking or diving, as it's located up a steep hill. We got into great shape just being on vacation. Something I wish I had known earlier in the vacation is that there is a local gardener nearby who grows organic produce. We had a kitchenette in our cottage and his lettuce was delicious! Check out the garden up on the Level if you want fresh produce--the produce available at the supermarket is average at best.

We checked out some other lodgings while we were on Saba, and wouldn't hesitate to return to El Momo. It's well worth the hike up the hill. A wonderful vacation experience.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mvymermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windwardside
30.1 km away
The Old Gin House
The Old Gin House
#1 of 4 in St. Eustatius
128 reviews
2.1 km away
Queen's Gardens Resort & Spa
0.3 km away
Selera Dunia Boutique Hotel
Selera Dunia Boutique Hotel
#2 of 4 in Windwardside
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Cottage Club
The Cottage Club
#3 of 4 in Windwardside
112 reviews
0.5 km away
Scout's Place Hotel
Scout's Place Hotel
#4 of 4 in Windwardside
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Momo Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Momo Cottages

Address: Booby Hill | Box 542, Windwardside, Saba
Region: Caribbean > Saba > Windwardside
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Windwardside
Price Range: $111 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Momo Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peace - Nature - Silence. Nature lovers who enjoy priceless amenities of tropical flowers, palm trees and hammocks overlooking a deep blue sea and warm hospitality will find El Momo to be the perfect retreat. It's small, quiet, charming and a little "Robinson Crusoe like"; A little piece of paradise where time moves slowly and attention is paid to details. We have breathtaking sea views and fantastic ocean sunsets from October to March. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your El Momo Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Momo Cottages Hotel Windwardside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing