We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely new restaurant”
Review of Ociela

Ociela
Ranked #18 of 71 Restaurants in Gustavia
Restaurant details
Reviewed 5 January 2018

Following hurricane Irma there are many restaurants in Saint Barth still closed, especially at the larger hotels, so it was nice to discover this newcomer, which just opened in November 2017. Formerly The Strand, Ociela is in a great location, with bar and dining room overlooking the port of Gustavia and providing a great view of the boats at dock and in the harbor. The interior is relaxed and very pretty, while the menu proved very interesting with a Mediterranean accent... there were four of us and all found the food to be very good... from risotto with roasted shrimp to a kebab with beef and lamb... a very nice addition to the St Barth restaurant scene.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank elgreaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan L, Responsable relations publiques at Ociela, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

We are very happy that you enjoyed Ociela dining experience as much as our environnement. Thank you for your visit, looking forward seeing you amongst us soon.

Ociela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2018

We were in St. Barth's to celebrate 2 friends birthdays and this was our first dinner in town on the night of one of their birthdays. New restaurant that I was excited to check out after not having been to St. Barths in about 5 years. I emailed to make a reservation in advance (the restaurant was opening that week) and picked the creme brulee for them to write "Happy Birthday Rena" on. When we got to the restaurant the hostess and waitress made it clear that they knew that we were celebrating our friend's birthday and asked me to point out the birthday girl.

We got a bunch of food to share amongst the 3 of us which was all delicious. We started out with some mezze: avocado (which came with delicious chips), kefta (both of the dips that came with it were yummy), then had some appetizers: zucchini and shrimp and fatoush (SO good, definitely get it), and for mains we split the lobster pasta (which was my favorite) and the veggie pasta (also very good). The dessert came with a sparkler and Happy Birthday Rena written on it and was yummy as well.

Definitely book in advance and ask for a table at the window so you can overlook Gustavia while you dine. There is also a night club downstairs that our server offered to take us to. We stopped by for a few minutes to check it out, they had a great DJ and really nice space but were exhausted after traveling all day. Will definitely be back (to both) next time I'm in St. Barths.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Alana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan L, Responsable relations publiques at Ociela, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Dear Alana,

Thank you so much to have celebrated your friends birthdays with us.
We are delighted to hear that you loved the food and atmosphere of our restaurant.
We are looking forward to your next visit at Ociela!

Kind regards,

Ociela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018

We had an excellent dinner tonight at Ociela. This Mediterranean inspired restaurant is overlooking Gustavia Harbor and has gorgeous views. The appetizers were amazing and the dinners were great. (I hope they add more of the Lebanese appetizer items to the dinner menu!). The hoomus, baba ghanoosh, fatoosh salad, and tabouli were excellent....we will go back for these items for sure!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Anne5008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan L, Responsable relations publiques at Ociela, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Dear Anne,

Thank you to share your experience with us.
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our food experience and the atmosphere at Ociela.
Looking forward seeing you again amongst us.

Kind regards,

Ociela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

This restaurant offers you the best view in
Gustavia of the harbour and the sunset The staff is very friendly and professional the cocktail are delicious and the food great with a mediterrian touch Sometimes Soley is playing I loved it

1  Thank web140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan L, Responsable relations publiques at Ociela, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

We are so delighted to hear that you love your experience amongst us at Ociela.
Thank you very much, looking forward seeing you again.

Kind regards,

Ociela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017 via mobile

We were very pleased to try this new restaurant. The setting, views of the Gustavia harbour and the friendly atmosphere created by all the staff make this a great dinner experience. We will definitely be back. They seem to still be working on perfecting the menu items which are Mediterranean inspired.

Thank sunmol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan L, Responsable relations publiques at Ociela, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2017

Hello,

Thank you very much for your review.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the atmosphere and the environnement as much as our Mediterranean menu, that's been perfected and finalized since you came.
We are looking forward to see you again for an even better experience amongst us.
Happy Holidays in St Barth.

Kind regards,

Ociela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ociela also viewed

Gustavia, St. Barthelemy
Gustavia, St. Barthelemy
 
Gustavia, St. Barthelemy
Gustavia, St. Barthelemy
 
Gustavia, St. Barthelemy
Gustavia, St. Barthelemy
 

Been to Ociela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing