We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Restaurant”
Review of La Guerite

La Guerite
Ranked #25 of 71 Restaurants in Gustavia
Price range: US$35 - US$116
Description: ***ANNUAL CLOSING - REOPENING NOVEMBER 2018*** Located on the point of the Port of Gustavia, facing the dock where small fishing boats float alongside with the mega yachts that visit the island every winter, La Guerite offers a unique setting in the most fanta​stic spot. Visit us to discover the flavors and simplicity of Mediterranean cuisine created by one prodigy of Greek gastronomy, Yannis Kioroglou. Inspired by sea treasures and his Greek roots, this talented chef and his team will take you on a culinary journey that offers a large variety of appetizers, followed by a selection of fresh local fish and seafood imported from all over the world such as Mediterranean bass or the blue lobster of Brittany.The entire team at La Guerite looks forward to welcoming you. Reservations are strongly recommended.
Restaurant details
Description: ***ANNUAL CLOSING - REOPENING NOVEMBER 2018*** Located on the point of the Port of Gustavia, facing the dock where small fishing boats float alongside with the mega yachts that visit the island every winter, La Guerite offers a unique setting in the most fanta​stic spot. Visit us to discover the flavors and simplicity of Mediterranean cuisine created by one prodigy of Greek gastronomy, Yannis Kioroglou. Inspired by sea treasures and his Greek roots, this talented chef and his team will take you on a culinary journey that offers a large variety of appetizers, followed by a selection of fresh local fish and seafood imported from all over the world such as Mediterranean bass or the blue lobster of Brittany.The entire team at La Guerite looks forward to welcoming you. Reservations are strongly recommended.
Reviewed 9 March 2016 via mobile

We ate here on our first night and was surprised to find such a lovely restaurant. It has a great view of the harbor. It has valet parking. It is a special setting. The food was surprisingly good. We had several small plates that were out of this world and very unique. I would definitely recommend this restaurant. We liked it so much that when we finished the other five high-end restaurants in ST Barts we ate here again. It is a must when you going to ST Barts.

Thank 790christopheru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skand M, Responsable relations publiques at La Guerite, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2016

Dear customer,
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in our restaurant.
Seeing you satisfied is our best reward.
We do our best everyday, in order to get better.
We look forward to seeing you again among us.
Truly yours, La Guérite team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 47 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2016

Coming since the opening always great vibes and the food is just unbelievable so fresh the service getting much smarter since the opening. They are in our top 3 definitely strong recommendation a St Barth must do
Cant wait to go again!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JerryMorgank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skand M, Responsable relations publiques at La Guerite, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2016

Dear customer,
First of all, thank you for recommended our restaurant. We are pleased to see you appreciated your stay at La Guérite. We want our customers to feel comfortable in our place, that is why we care about the food and the service as much as the atmosphere.
We do our best everyday, in order to get better.
We will welcome you again with pleasure.
Truly yours, La Guérite team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2016

This location has had many different identities over the past 5 years. This iteration is a lovely renovation n a great setting but the service was laughable. Actually as the prices are so high the service is insulting. Would not go back. Were treated like second class citizens which is unacceptable on this chi-chi island. If the owner wants to fawn over his friends that is fine. However, when these friends come in 20 minutes after we do and they get served immediately that is bad, but can we get our drink order taken at least? Major service confusion. Not ready for prime time. Food is good but VERY expensive for what it is. Again - would NOT recommend.

3  Thank mrcreosote2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skand M, Responsable relations publiques at La Guerite, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2016

Dear customer,
We are sorry for you that you did not like everything in our restaurant. We can see you liked the food but did not like the service.
It seems that you had been served after some people that had arrived after you. We want to clarify things : this is only a mistake of service but no favouritism.
Dear customer we would like you to know that your feedback are very important to us, we are really sorry that you did not enjoy this experience with us and hope you will give us another opportunity to please you.
Sincerely yours, La Guérite team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2016 via mobile

We noticed very mixed reviews on this restaurant but our hotel recommended it so we gave it a try, and mixed it was, food average but they tried hard, wine that we buy in Barbados was 3 times the price here. A great waitress in Pauline who probably saved the night. Would not rush back.

1  Thank Sprebble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skand M, Responsable relations publiques at La Guerite, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2016

Dear customer,
You seem reserved concerning your stay in our place and we are really sorry about that. We want our customers to feel comfortable in our restaurant, that is why we care about the food and the service as much as the atmosphere.
Dear customer we would like you to know that your feedback are very important to us, we are really sorry that you did not enjoy this experience with us and hope you will give us another opportunity to please you.
Truly yours, La Guérite team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2016

Great location,Chic elegant restaurant,great service, huge cocktails. A restaurant with a real soul,Pascal Ramette who makes sure his clients are all treated like royalty. Ask for the Pastas du chef,a pure bliss!

Thank ChapiChapo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skand M, Responsable relations publiques at La Guerite, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2016

Dear customer,
We are glad to hear you had a nice experience in our restaurant.
Seeing you satisfied is our best reward.
We do our best everyday, in order to get better.
We look forward to seeing you again among us.
Truly yours, La Guérite team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Guerite also viewed

Gustavia, St. Barthelemy
Gustavia, St. Barthelemy
 
Gustavia, St. Barthelemy
Gustavia, St. Barthelemy
 
St. Jean, St. Barthelemy
Gustavia, St. Barthelemy
 

Been to La Guerite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing