We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Harmony Suites(Castries)(Great Value!)
US$67
US$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$275
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Poinsettia Villa Apartments(Castries)(Great Value!)
US$124
US$116
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aanola Villas(Castries)
US$57
US$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Bel Jou Hotel(Castries)
US$235
US$186
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa del Vega(Castries)(Great Value!)
US$59
US$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apartment Espoir(Castries)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Serenite Vigie Saint Lucia Limited(Castries)(Great Value!)
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (4,147)
Filter reviews
4,147 results
Traveller rating
2,441
1,042
378
160
126
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,441
1,042
378
160
126
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsparadise poolquiet poolkelly's docksidest luciaour honeymoonla tocbeach vendorsroad noisebeach grilllaid backclub roomjoe knowswater sportsconcierge roomitalian restaurantmain poolshuttle bus
Filter
Updating list...
268 - 273 of 4,147 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2018

last year we went to le Toc for Christmas and this year decided to try Halcyon Beach. On arrival the concierge gave us a quick run down of the resort and said that, as we had just arrived, he recommended we simply go along to the Bayview restaurant as we didn't need to book. Good idea we thought. We obviously didn't know our way round at that stage but we found the restaurant. It was shut. Now a quick check of the resort's own daily newspaper would have told the concierge that it was shut but he didn't check. In the end, it didn't matter because we found Mario's which also didn't need bookings and it was superb.
On the first night however, and after a nine hour flight plus connections we just wanted to go to bed after dinner. Unfortunately the amplified "entertainment" from the pool made sleep virtually impossible. The resort is small and supposedly quiet. It is definitely small but quiet it isn't. The noise from the main pool carries around the resort and there is no escape. We went to the beach the next day and, unfortunately, it is right next to the main pool so the noise and amplified music carries on to the beach. It is not a relaxing experience!
The beach otherwise is fine. The sea is cloudy as others have mentioned and it is definitely not for snorkling. It also means you can't see the jellyfish and I and three others that I know of, were stung. That is not Sandals' fault.
The quiet pool has no music but it does have gardeners with extremely loud strimmers and blowers and they seem to use the afternoons to carry out their work. I know the gardens have to be maintained but maybe late afternoon or maybe about 9.00 am would be a better time.
The resort really needs to decide whether it is a quiet retreat (which it claims to be) or whether it isn't. At the moment it is much louder than Le Toc where you can at least escape from the noise. It also needs a bar in which you can relax in the evening. Le Toc has a piano bar and a pub. Halcyon simply has the pool bar where there is no relaxed seating and where there is extremely loud entertainment. Conversation is not easy to say the least. There is a function room near the pool bar which wasn't used during our stay and which could be made into a decent, quiet place to enjoy a drink in the evening.
The food was excellent. Kelly's, Marios and Bayview were all excellent. We never had a bad meal. On Christmas night we went to Le Toc (in Le Toc) as we did last year and, again, it was excellent. I think it's the best restaurant. A small touch but when we arrived at le Toc one of the receptionists came up to us and said that he remembered us from last year. He said that he had been on Le Toc's main desk and remembered dealing with us. We remembered him too. It wasn't sales patter, he remembered details and I was quite impressed.
We also booked Gordons at the Grand and when we arrived the booking had got lost somewhere between the Halcyon's concierge who took the booking and the restaurant. Irritating but they fitted us in. As with the other restaurants the food was superb.
In summary the restaurants and the food are excellent and so is the service. The "ambience" ought to be looked at and, in my opinion, Halcyon would benefit from becoming a truly quiet resort.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
9  Thank Hornbeams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018

We have just returned from a wonderful holiday at Sandals Halcyon Bay. The whole experience was fantastic, highlights including the lovely food and the friendly and helpful staff. We had no complaints, other than the fact that the red flag was up for a few days during our stay, which meant that the watersports team couldn't operate the speed boat. Also, other reviews have mentioned that the water isn't very clear, which is true - it's not a place to visit for snorkelling. Having said that though, they do offer a snorkelling trip twice a day to a nearby cove, which is brilliant and a good chance to see some underwater life. We also took part in a couple of trips from the resort which I would recommend, it's really important to try to help boost the economy of the country you have chosen to visit.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Skibunny130889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018 via mobile

This was our first time using a Sandals resort and we were somewhat disappointed!
The concept of ‘luxury included’ is a great strap line and generally it is true,apart from ,spa treatments that are 2/3 times more expensive than at home and the additional service charge which they accidentally forget to mention at the time of booking!!
During our stay we had a couple of occasions when our room was not made up and the evening draw down service was extremely hit and miss! The room itself whilst acceptable was certainly getting a little tired and, for the money we paid I would have expected a little better. We enquired about an upgrade only to be told there was nothing available!
Our most serious gripes concern the evening bar facilities and the beach itself.
The main bar is the place where all of the entertainment takes place, whilst not wishing to sound like a kill joy we,like many others should have liked a quiet bar to have a drink at where you can hold a conversation! This is not a problem during the day as the quiet pool with it’s swim up bar is a lovely haven!The ridiculous thing is there is a lovely beach bar which would suffice but,this shuts at six pm only to reopen at about ten pm to serve burger and chips and no drinks!!! You could possibly open the quiet pool bar for this purpose also?
As for the beach, I quote from the Sandals website ‘set along an unspoiled stretch of perfect white sand beach’. Simply not true!! The beach is known locally as choc beach...the sand is brown!! Not only that, the website says ‘explore beneath the waves with some snorkelling right from the beach’. I did, and saw a lot more brown sand!!!
Amidst all of this, the silence of the quiet pool would be shattered by the noise of drills and angle grinders from maintenance work that was going on around the place and the occasional siren or motorcycle revving from the road which nowhere is mentioned and is only meters away!!
Griping over, the good things are firstly the fantastic staff and secondly the excellent food.
Kelly’s restaurant was our personal favourite where, the wonderful Celina bent over backwards to accommodate my partners dietary foibles and the amiable Precious made sure our glasses were never empty!
Others who deserve special mention are the matriarchal Agnes who asks everyone’s names upon arrival at the quiet pool bar and never forgets who you are! She is ably assisted by the lovely Kathryn.
We chose this over the other resorts because it is smaller and in that respect they have it right! On visiting the Grand we were struck by it’s impersonal nature and La Toq is a little snooty for our tastes! At least here you feel that you belong,it’s just so annoying that some of our complaints could be easily addressed!!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
6  Thank MRMAGPIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmine J, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Hello and thank you for your review of Sandals Halcyon. I am happy that you found some aspects of your vacation with us enjoyable, however regret that you were not satisfied overall with your stay.

Our housekeeping team has served us very well and on rare occasions there can be errors; however as this area is a vital and primary asset of our resort, swift corrective response is always administered.

We are gratefully thankful that you took the time to share your concerns allowing us an opportunity to reflect on ways we can improve for you and future guests to know that you are valued and appreciated and that we genuinely care about your happiness.

We only hope that you will allow us the opportunity to turn things around and regain your trust on a future visit with us as we will do our very best to see that your next stay exceeds all expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018

Short version: The Halcyon is marketed as the smaller, quiet Sandals. What this translates to is a smaller location where the music, or at least the bass, will reach every corner of the resort and beach from 9am until 10pm. You cannot escape the noise.
The pros: Most of the staff is outstanding.
The butlers are very, very nice.
The food is good, the sushi (Soy) is A+. z
We met great couples at the Hibachi dinner and enjoyed our stay because we were able to hang out with them and commiserate over the money we wasted.

The bad: Small, non-private beach with some aggressive locals selling junk.
The noise: Even at the serenity pool you can hear the bass from the music at the main pool, with the added sounds of the ever-ringing sirens from emergency vehicles as they pass behind you on the road. The ocean cannot be heard over any of this. Even on the beach, at times, it's hard to hear the ocean crashing ten feet in front of you.
The few unpleasant staff members: speaks for itself.
The hard-sells: At the pool, daily (sometimes twice) you're badgered to join club sandals and book your next stay.
The room: We had a lot of tiny gnats, a water bug, and mites of some sort in the bathroom.
The mosquitoes.
The water: The sand is churned up quite a bit making it impossible to see your feet in the water, even when it's only ankle deep. The main pool is cold and sandy.
The night time entertainment: It's outdoors and so loud that you cannot enjoy a cocktail and conversation anywhere in the vicinity of the only bar that is open.
The wifi: The wifi is spotty and slower than a dial-up connection. But for $79 a day, you can get faster access. Unbelievable.
Most disappointing: The private room pools are frigid, there's no getting in them. The sun never directly bakes them, only hitting a small portion of the pool for part of the day. It's a terrible layout. It's a waste of money.

The Halcyon suffers from a poor layout. If they do refurbish it, I would recommend moving the main pool/noise of the pool to where the serenity pool is to drown out the noise of the cars & possibly leave the rest of the resort with some peace and quiet. I'd also move the night time entertainment indoors.

I was terribly disappointed. I have two small children at home and just wanted a relaxing atmosphere to decompress for a few days. Unfortunately, that was not meant to be. I had fun, but that was in spite of the accommodations, not due to them.

I've been assured Antigua is better and I should go, but I'm not sure I'm willing to risk several thousand dollars trying this again.

Room Tip: Get butler service if you decide to chance a vacation here.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
10  Thank 4Mel78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmine J, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review of Sandals Halcyon Beach. We found your review to be quite insightful as you pointed out the many highlights of your trip and also some points that you felt could be improved upon on our part.

We appreciate all of your helpful feedback which we will share with the Resort Management team for further consideration as we are always looking for new ways to enhance guest experiences. We look forward to welcoming you to one of our other lovely properties in the future for a stay that will definitely surpass all of your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018 via mobile

We visited the resort for 2 weeks over Christmas & New Year and particularly to celebrate my 50th birthday in between the two. The Halcyon Beach is a very beautiful resort set in lovely, well maintained gardens next to a nice, if small, beach. It has a relaxed atmosphere and is quieter than the other two resorts on St Lucia. I have read many negative reviews regarding the beach but we found it lovely. The water is a little sandy and maybe not as clear as it is at The Halcyons sister resort, The Grand, but the sand is much softer and less stony. We booked a Club Executive room with balcony & tranquility tub and couldn’t fault it - very spacious with lovely big bed, contemporary decor, spotless and well maintained (room 312 if you’re interested!). For the most part, the staff were excellent. We did have a bit of a run in with one staff member who was quite rude on our first day, however we pointed it out to the club exec manager and it was dealt with quickly and effectively. Many thanks to Sameera for that and also to her, Maverick, Shelsee and all the Club staff for being wonderful hosts and making our stay most enjoyable. They organised a great Christmas Day with lots of entertainment laid on and Santa on water skis and a Segway! My birthday was very special too with a candlelit dinner on the beach - thanks to Fina, our waitress for that. This is a really special extra that can be organised and is very worthwhile and romantic for an occasion. The bar staff at the resort are also lovely and kept us ‘refreshed’ day and night - particular thanks to Catherine and Dilan for being so great on New Years Eve and birthday eve (and other times as well!). New Years Eve was a massive occasion - the best spread of food I’ve seen in my life, free flowing champagne, dancers, fire eaters, fireworks - really fabulous night. This year was a Great Gatsby theme. The amount of work put into it was huge. The chefs who contributed to the feast deserve high praise indeed. In fact, the general standard of food was very good especially at Soy and Kimonos but our favourite restaurant was at Le Toc and the restaurant of the same name - the filet minion was very good indeed. There’s lots of water sports included at the resort which is great but it’s also possible to organise jet ski hire which we were not sure was possible. Ask at the water sports counter and they will direct you to Cassie who works in the vendors area. She will phone the jet ski hire people direct and they will bring one over to you. Should cost around $60 or ECD 160 for two people (on one jet ski). Lots of different trips are available and easy to book. There is a gift shop on site but it’s very expensive and there’s a little shopping centre about 15 mins walk away including a supermarket where you can buy a lot of the same stuff for much less. Turn right out of the resort gates and walk until you find a pedestrian bridge. Cross it and shops are right there. The only reason I am not giving the resorts 5 stars is that we had a few issues with things like toiletries not being replaced in the room and loop (internal emailing system) enquiries not being answered or taking a long time and also with shuttle buses being late. I’d probably give it 4.5 if that was an option though! Thanks Halcyon - it was a blast and we will be back as soon as we win the lottery!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Catherine2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews