We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best yet ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 January 2018 via mobile

My wife and I and another couple recently stayed at Sandals Halcyon Beach and had a great time. We have traveled to other resorts in the Caribbean and this is the best yet. The dining was amazing Kelly's dockside had great steak and the staff was amazing. The kimono was our favorite for evening dining very good food and entertainment. However, we ate at The Bistro just about every afternoon the food was delicious and it was the best service thanks Nathalie! As far as the evening entertainment that was great as well. When you're looking for a good bartender ask for Jonathan. We had a fun at the swim up bar with the afternoon activities and drinks. The beach was well manicured and very comfortable and quiet for sunbathing. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The only downside to our trip was a few rain showers.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,929)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

49 - 53 of 3,929 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2018

last year we went to le Toc for Christmas and this year decided to try Halcyon Beach. On arrival the concierge gave us a quick run down of the resort and said that, as we had just arrived, he recommended we simply go along to the Bayview restaurant as we didn't need to book. Good idea we thought. We obviously didn't know our way round at that stage but we found the restaurant. It was shut. Now a quick check of the resort's own daily newspaper would have told the concierge that it was shut but he didn't check. In the end, it didn't matter because we found Mario's which also didn't need bookings and it was superb.
On the first night however, and after a nine hour flight plus connections we just wanted to go to bed after dinner. Unfortunately the amplified "entertainment" from the pool made sleep virtually impossible. The resort is small and supposedly quiet. It is definitely small but quiet it isn't. The noise from the main pool carries around the resort and there is no escape. We went to the beach the next day and, unfortunately, it is right next to the main pool so the noise and amplified music carries on to the beach. It is not a relaxing experience!
The beach otherwise is fine. The sea is cloudy as others have mentioned and it is definitely not for snorkling. It also means you can't see the jellyfish and I and three others that I know of, were stung. That is not Sandals' fault.
The quiet pool has no music but it does have gardeners with extremely loud strimmers and blowers and they seem to use the afternoons to carry out their work. I know the gardens have to be maintained but maybe late afternoon or maybe about 9.00 am would be a better time.
The resort really needs to decide whether it is a quiet retreat (which it claims to be) or whether it isn't. At the moment it is much louder than Le Toc where you can at least escape from the noise. It also needs a bar in which you can relax in the evening. Le Toc has a piano bar and a pub. Halcyon simply has the pool bar where there is no relaxed seating and where there is extremely loud entertainment. Conversation is not easy to say the least. There is a function room near the pool bar which wasn't used during our stay and which could be made into a decent, quiet place to enjoy a drink in the evening.
The food was excellent. Kelly's, Marios and Bayview were all excellent. We never had a bad meal. On Christmas night we went to Le Toc (in Le Toc) as we did last year and, again, it was excellent. I think it's the best restaurant. A small touch but when we arrived at le Toc one of the receptionists came up to us and said that he remembered us from last year. He said that he had been on Le Toc's main desk and remembered dealing with us. We remembered him too. It wasn't sales patter, he remembered details and I was quite impressed.
We also booked Gordons at the Grand and when we arrived the booking had got lost somewhere between the Halcyon's concierge who took the booking and the restaurant. Irritating but they fitted us in. As with the other restaurants the food was superb.
In summary the restaurants and the food are excellent and so is the service. The "ambience" ought to be looked at and, in my opinion, Halcyon would benefit from becoming a truly quiet resort.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
9  Thank Hornbeams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018

We have just returned from a wonderful holiday at Sandals Halcyon Bay. The whole experience was fantastic, highlights including the lovely food and the friendly and helpful staff. We had no complaints, other than the fact that the red flag was up for a few days during our stay, which meant that the watersports team couldn't operate the speed boat. Also, other reviews have mentioned that the water isn't very clear, which is true - it's not a place to visit for snorkelling. Having said that though, they do offer a snorkelling trip twice a day to a nearby cove, which is brilliant and a good chance to see some underwater life. We also took part in a couple of trips from the resort which I would recommend, it's really important to try to help boost the economy of the country you have chosen to visit.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Skibunny130889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018 via mobile

This was our first time using a Sandals resort and we were somewhat disappointed!
The concept of ‘luxury included’ is a great strap line and generally it is true,apart from ,spa treatments that are 2/3 times more expensive than at home and the additional service charge which they accidentally forget to mention at the time of booking!!
During our stay we had a couple of occasions when our room was not made up and the evening draw down service was extremely hit and miss! The room itself whilst acceptable was certainly getting a little tired and, for the money we paid I would have expected a little better. We enquired about an upgrade only to be told there was nothing available!
Our most serious gripes concern the evening bar facilities and the beach itself.
The main bar is the place where all of the entertainment takes place, whilst not wishing to sound like a kill joy we,like many others should have liked a quiet bar to have a drink at where you can hold a conversation! This is not a problem during the day as the quiet pool with it’s swim up bar is a lovely haven!The ridiculous thing is there is a lovely beach bar which would suffice but,this shuts at six pm only to reopen at about ten pm to serve burger and chips and no drinks!!! You could possibly open the quiet pool bar for this purpose also?
As for the beach, I quote from the Sandals website ‘set along an unspoiled stretch of perfect white sand beach’. Simply not true!! The beach is known locally as choc beach...the sand is brown!! Not only that, the website says ‘explore beneath the waves with some snorkelling right from the beach’. I did, and saw a lot more brown sand!!!
Amidst all of this, the silence of the quiet pool would be shattered by the noise of drills and angle grinders from maintenance work that was going on around the place and the occasional siren or motorcycle revving from the road which nowhere is mentioned and is only meters away!!
Griping over, the good things are firstly the fantastic staff and secondly the excellent food.
Kelly’s restaurant was our personal favourite where, the wonderful Celina bent over backwards to accommodate my partners dietary foibles and the amiable Precious made sure our glasses were never empty!
Others who deserve special mention are the matriarchal Agnes who asks everyone’s names upon arrival at the quiet pool bar and never forgets who you are! She is ably assisted by the lovely Kathryn.
We chose this over the other resorts because it is smaller and in that respect they have it right! On visiting the Grand we were struck by it’s impersonal nature and La Toq is a little snooty for our tastes! At least here you feel that you belong,it’s just so annoying that some of our complaints could be easily addressed!!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmine J, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Hello and thank you for your review of Sandals Halcyon. I am happy that you found some aspects of your vacation with us enjoyable, however regret that you were not satisfied overall with your stay.

Our housekeeping team has served us very well and on rare occasions there can be errors; however as this area is a vital and primary asset of our resort, swift corrective response is always administered.

We are gratefully thankful that you took the time to share your concerns allowing us an opportunity to reflect on ways we can improve for you and future guests to know that you are valued and appreciated and that we genuinely care about your happiness.

We only hope that you will allow us the opportunity to turn things around and regain your trust on a future visit with us as we will do our very best to see that your next stay exceeds all expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018

Short version: The Halcyon is marketed as the smaller, quiet Sandals. What this translates to is a smaller location where the music, or at least the bass, will reach every corner of the resort and beach from 9am until 10pm. You cannot escape the noise.
The pros: Most of the staff is outstanding.
The butlers are very, very nice.
The food is good, the sushi (Soy) is A+. z
We met great couples at the Hibachi dinner and enjoyed our stay because we were able to hang out with them and commiserate over the money we wasted.

The bad: Small, non-private beach with some aggressive locals selling junk.
The noise: Even at the serenity pool you can hear the bass from the music at the main pool, with the added sounds of the ever-ringing sirens from emergency vehicles as they pass behind you on the road. The ocean cannot be heard over any of this. Even on the beach, at times, it's hard to hear the ocean crashing ten feet in front of you.
The few unpleasant staff members: speaks for itself.
The hard-sells: At the pool, daily (sometimes twice) you're badgered to join club sandals and book your next stay.
The room: We had a lot of tiny gnats, a water bug, and mites of some sort in the bathroom.
The mosquitoes.
The water: The sand is churned up quite a bit making it impossible to see your feet in the water, even when it's only ankle deep. The main pool is cold and sandy.
The night time entertainment: It's outdoors and so loud that you cannot enjoy a cocktail and conversation anywhere in the vicinity of the only bar that is open.
The wifi: The wifi is spotty and slower than a dial-up connection. But for $79 a day, you can get faster access. Unbelievable.
Most disappointing: The private room pools are frigid, there's no getting in them. The sun never directly bakes them, only hitting a small portion of the pool for part of the day. It's a terrible layout. It's a waste of money.

The Halcyon suffers from a poor layout. If they do refurbish it, I would recommend moving the main pool/noise of the pool to where the serenity pool is to drown out the noise of the cars & possibly leave the rest of the resort with some peace and quiet. I'd also move the night time entertainment indoors.

I was terribly disappointed. I have two small children at home and just wanted a relaxing atmosphere to decompress for a few days. Unfortunately, that was not meant to be. I had fun, but that was in spite of the accommodations, not due to them.

I've been assured Antigua is better and I should go, but I'm not sure I'm willing to risk several thousand dollars trying this again.

Room Tip: Get butler service if you decide to chance a vacation here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
9  Thank 4Mel78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmine J, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review of Sandals Halcyon Beach. We found your review to be quite insightful as you pointed out the many highlights of your trip and also some points that you felt could be improved upon on our part.

We appreciate all of your helpful feedback which we will share with the Resort Management team for further consideration as we are always looking for new ways to enhance guest experiences. We look forward to welcoming you to one of our other lovely properties in the future for a stay that will definitely surpass all of your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
21.5 km away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
987 reviews
4.6 km away
Sandals Regency La Toc
Sandals Regency La Toc
#4 of 11 in Castries
7,515 reviews
6.9 km away
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.6 km away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
1.2 km away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
2.6 km away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 15 in Gros Islet
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort

Address: Choc Bay, Castries GM910, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#5 Romantic Hotel in Castries
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
Price Range: $620 - $1,717 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Friendly to the physically challenged with low rise architecture •Fully air-conditioned Caribbean cuisine restaurant on its own 150 ft pier over the •Caribbean Sea •Houses 169 Rooms with true personal service and intimate experience •English-style afternoon tea served at the Paradise pool •Tableside service at the Beach Bistro •“Stay at one, play at three” free shuttles to Sandals La Toc Golf Resort & Spa and Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort•Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row •Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand”, 18 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia Hotel Castries
Sandals Halcyon Beach Castries
Sandals St Lucia
Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing