We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“eric”
Review of East Winds

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
East Winds
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2012

visited just prior to christmas. not as rustic as I thought, but the rooms were lovely and the showers were very unique. my 4 year old liked talking to eric the parrot and we liked playing table tennis. the sea was fairly rough so no water sports whilst we were there which was a shame and we heard about the lady who had the spines in her foot. we managed to paddle though in the waves which was fun and the children enjoyed the pool and the swim up bar. memories of east winds are: cocktails watching the sunsets which were just beautiful, eric, the delicious pork spare ribs at the lunch bbq, all the birds eating the cakes at tea time, and the food generally , although we thought this could be hit and miss occasionally. however being all inclusive it did not matter too much if there was a course you did not enjoy... you had plenty of food. staff all friendly except one who just did not smile at all. did trip to pigeon island which was good and we saw the rough atlantic surf and managed to swim on a really calm beach which was lovely as I missed swimming in the sea at east winds. all guests mainly english and obviously there were repeat guests - you really should make a few trips though out of resort. next time we will hire a car as taxis very expensive.
tip: My husband hit his head on the corner of the safe and had a big gash, so be careful to keep the safe door shut before bending down to get anything out of the cupboard.

Room Tip: a bit further back from the beach so you don't get people walking past all the time
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank pendulwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2012

ERIC THANKS YOU FOR YOUR FRIENDLINESS

Your kind remarks about Eric and the various other aspects of East Winds Inn are most appreciated. For those who are not frequent repeat guests, you will likely not know about Eric’s longtime friend – Mac – who unfortunately passed away last year – leaving Eric a very lonely fellow. We are still looking for a new parrot who can help keep poor Eric company – but in the meantime, it seems your four year old did a very good job of that.

You also state “the rooms were lovely and the showers were very unique”, the fact you enjoyed the beautiful sunsets with cocktail in hand, that the food was very good overall. We are sorry that your husband hit his head on the open safe door while crouching down in the closet – an unlikely accident which has never happened before. Thanks for warning our other potential guests of this low probability occurrence.

It is unfortunate that you stayed at East Winds during a period of high seas – this does happen from time to time, depending on the lunar cycle and the strength of the Trade Winds further to the north on the Atlantic side of the island. However, for most times, the sea is calm and makes for excellent swimming. For those rare occurrences when it does not, as you so graciously point out, the swimming pool is an excellent alternative.

Many thanks for your posting, and we hope to see you return to East Winds again soon.

Best regards,

George J. Reti
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (870)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

585 - 589 of 870 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2012

Complete relaxation at East Winds Inn. I recently spent a stunning week at East Winds with my fiancee. I have travelled all over the world staying in 5 star hotels in every continent but this was was my first trip to St Lucia and first experience of an all inclusive package - something that I have always intentionally avoided before. We were recommended to stay at East Winds by family friends who have been going for nearly 20 years. The whole experience was perfect and most importantly so relaxing, it felt like being as comfortable as you would be at home except you are staying within 14 beautiful acres of botanical-esque gardens directly fronting 200 metres of serene sandy Caribbean beach front! We stayed in cottage 24 and from day 1 the whole experience matched 5 star service and quality but with the relaxed informality of being amongst friends and family. The accommodation was superb - large, airy room with giant king size bed, lovely mahogany furniture and all relevant mod cons (wide screen plasma with multiple channels and dvd and ipod deck). The character of the accommodation was completed by a beautiful stone floor, generous wardrobe space and stunning stone clad shower pit ! After many days relaxing by the beach or in the gardens, each evening we used our terrace for drinks before wandering down to the giant traditional bamboo lounge for a glass of champagne before dinner. There is an elegant and charming feel to the dining room and bamboo lounge - from the furnishings through to the nightly live music, a highlight being the Steinway piano and amazing pianists!

The food and associated service absolutely make East Winds what it is. The resort is absolutely beautiful but this is more than matched by the spirit and hospitality of the East Winds staff - from GM Gareth through to the waiting and bar staff, chamber maids and gardeners ! We found most of the staff have been at East Winds for more than 8 years which says so much about the place. My favourite element of the whole stay though was the food and wine. It really was special and clearly extremely well thought through by some talented chefs. We met Tomislav who a young and exciting Sous Chef and responsible for much of the evening menu - his training in London and europe has set him up for East Winds which I cannot believe is not the best restaurant on the island - during the St Lucia PM, the British Commissioner and many non-residents from other hotels also ate there....

Each night the dinner menu provided for 4 courses with 3 choices of dish. The food was stunning michelin star quality yet did not leave you feeling bloated in any way. Fresh local ingredients coupled with an international sophistication left me so eager every night to see what might enjoy! The bbq lobster/creole salad lunches were also a high point ! Also my fiancee is gluten intolerant so the kitchen made gluten free bread and adjusted every dish to accommodate her needs. I thought that was amazing and something that even the greatest hotels in the world would struggle with such a personal touch.

We went off the resort early on in the trip for a tour of the island but thereafter just could not drag ourselves away from the place. You feel like there are few people there at all yet everything you need is always available - I think there are more staff than guests !

We thoroughly recommend East Winds and will definitely go back as a couple, family or with friends. Our entire experience is credit to the GM Gareth and the owners for putting together such a great team which more than match the classic caribbean beauty of the resort.

Room Tip: The deluxe cottages are worth every penny - views of the gardens and great air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

THANK YOU FOR THE HOME RUN REVIEW

This detailed and most informative review is greatly appreciated, and should be of considerable assistance to anyone who does not know East Winds Inn. Not only does it capture the essence of the resort, but your enthusiastic and explicit descriptions of so many elements clearly demonstrate the extent to which you and your fiancé enjoyed yourselves. And to think, it was on an ‘all-inclusive” basis – your first ever such experience which evidently exceeded your expectations.

Your kind acknowledgement of the staff and their efforts to please, including Gareth, the GM, is also welcomed, as without these people, it simply would not be the same kind of relaxing place. Oftentimes, it takes a seasoned traveler such as you report, to properly appreciate and understand all of what goes on behind the scenes to make a resort like this a place you want to come back and visit time and time again – which you have already indicated you wish to do.

Thank you for all the generous superlatives you have utilized in your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back to what is obviously a new “home” from here on in.

Warm regards,

George J. Reti,
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

This is a place people come back to again and again - and it's easy to see why. With only 30 rooms, it's ideal for a quiet, luxurious break in great accommodation. The facilities are excellent - try a sail in the Hobie Cat with Johnnie - and the food is first class, with a choice of different wines by the glass being offered with each course at dinner. Altogether a great experience, with nothing much to be added to the wish list, except slippers to go with the Frette robes - and a shaving mirror!

Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
13  Thank Merantum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2012

A HUGE GEM OF A REVIEW – THANK YOU

So succinctly and naturally, you have captured the essence of East Winds Inn – thank you for your gracious posting – it embodies the efforts of all those who work so hard to make this type of holiday escape possible. If you noticed the Frette robes, you have a good eye. We will work on the slippers and the shaving mirrors so that they will hopefully be there for your return.

Your support of East Winds Inn is greatly appreciated – it would be lovely to see you again soon.

Best regards,

George J. Reti,
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

My husband and I spent the first half of our honeymoon last October at East Winds Inn and looooooved it. We were so relaxed and were thrilled with the service, environment, food, rooms and beach. We didn't know what to expect but enjoyed every aspect of East Winds Inn. We are a younger American couple and enjoyed the overall "more mature" European atmosphere. It was very quiet and we weren't distributed by a younger audience looking to party (ie the place down the beach) rather than relax. If you are looking to relax and enjoy time with your spouse/family, this is the place to be.

The beach/pool was amazing--we never had to fight for chairs. The drinks were bottomless and served with a smile. Food was great--actually too great. We definitely overate because we enjoyed all the meals.

The set up in the rooms and the restaurants was beautiful. We enjoyed pre-dinner drinks in the gazebo while playing games each night.

The beach area is rather small but very pristine and the water is so calm and warm because it's in a bay.

We went to a newer, not all-inclusive resort farther south on the island after East Winds Inn. We were honestly hesitant about the all-inclusive package at East Winds because we had never done it before. However, considering all the food, drink, entertainment, environment and service you get--it's a steal! Really, in comparison, we were so relaxed ordering whatever we wanted and enjoying the surroundings together.

As a warning, if you plan to go into town to visit/eat dinner, it's definitely doable but not convenient. We had to go into town once but spent a lot on cabs. If you don't want to incur more transportation cost, I would plan on staying on the resort itself

Go to East Winds Inn--you won't regret it! Thank for a wonderful time and memorable honeymoon :)

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2012

MEMORABLE HONEYMOON REVIEW A HOTELIER’S DELIGHT

Thank you for sharing your experience at East Winds Inn with so much enthusiasm – we are grateful that you made mention of so many of the aspects you enjoyed at the resort. Likely, you have noticed that a common thread in most reviews like yours is the simple word “relax”. That is becoming an ever decreasing commodity in our fast paced lives – relaxation - and the fact that you clearly got into the natural vibe at East Winds on your honeymoon suggests you are on the road to a long, happy life together.

Also, the mention of the embedded value in our offering was greatly appreciated – we will remind our existing and future guests that “it’s a steal!” Actually, when one adds up all the individual quality elements of the day – in quantities of your choosing – you are absolutely correct. Sometimes it takes going out in St. Lucia for a full four course gourmet dinner with entertainment, champagne, paired wines and after dinner drinks to properly realize the evening proposition alone – not to mention the lunches, breakfasts and afternoon tea.

We appreciate your kind support of East Winds Inn, and look forward to your next visit. May you enjoy many, many happy years together.

Best regards,

George J. Reti,
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We were in sore need of a warm, relaxing holiday in idyllic surroundings. East Winds provided this in abundance and lived up to all the positive feedback we had read on Trip Advisor and elsewhere on the web. The accommodation is very comfortable, the gardens luxurious and beautifully maintained, the food and wine excellent and the company - many returnees amongst them - the kind of people who you would want around you on a relaxing holiday - pleasant, friendly but not overbearing. Gareth Leach, the manager has been there for many years and has developed a high effective approach and style that is as professional as it is unobtrusive. Most of the staff are longstanding and it shows in their attention to the small details in service that make all the difference. It has a real feel of a friendly, family hotel resort.

It is small, quiet and not the sort of place for those who want lights, music and dancing. Rodney Bay is close enough for those who do. Highly recommended for those who in need of restoration and repair!

We shall go back.

Room Tip: It is worth going for the duplex cottages in the garden with air conditioning. They are slightly fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Christopher L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2012

SINCERE THANK YOU ESSENTIAL FOR IDYLLIC REVIEW

We greatly appreciate all the gracious comments and positive feedback you have provided in your articulate review of time spent at East Winds Inn. We are pleased that we met your expectations and lived up to all the positive feedback which is posted on this and other websites. This actually introduces an interesting challenge for all of us at East Winds Inn – one which our staff are eager to accept and deliver upon to the best of their abilities. We are glad you felt part of the East Winds family – either near or at a distance – whatever one prefers. And of course, to have met Gareth and see him in action is an extra plus – he is like the conductor of the orchestra. Thank you for noticing his efforts.

It was good that you had a chance to relax, and furthermore, that you will be back. We look forward to that.

Best regards,

George J. Reti,
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
23.9 km away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
969 reviews
27 km away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
26.1 km away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 km away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
5.6 km away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 5 in Cap Estate
762 reviews
23.9 km away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Winds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Winds

Address: La Brellotte Bay, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range: $891 - $1,593 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — East Winds 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Saint Lucia’s best kept secret and immerse yourself in true Caribbean luxury. East Winds Saint Lucia is a breathtaking garden-by-the-sea, planted on the island's most picturesque sandy bay. Our Island Hideaway is Saint Lucia's original boutique resort featuring 30 cottage style suites, tucked away amongst lush plants, trees and a kaleidoscope of colourful bird-life. East Winds is home to what many consider the finest beach on the island and our guests share it with very few others just like them; travellers looking for personalised care and all-inclusive service in the most authentic of Caribbean experiences. Come experience the Caribbean the way it was meant to be experienced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your East Winds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Winds Hotel Gros Islet
East Winds Resort All Inclusive
East Winds St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing