We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection......”
Review of East Winds

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
East Winds
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We wanted a relaxing, sunny, perfect holiday to celebrate our anniversary and our first holiday in 30 years without any of the off-spring. We reviewed East Winds and hoped that all our requirements would be met. Oh Boy did we underestimate this hotel !!!!!!!!!!
Reviews before ours have covered all the superlatives I could possibly use. Suffice to say that we had the most wonderful 2 weeks. Room, food, beach, staff, company, pool, grounds and even the weather ( half day of rain in the rainy season ) all created our perfect get away.
We loved the peace and quiet, the laid back atmosphere.
We loved all the staff..nothing was too much trouble, every task was done with a smile :) and we would like to say a huge thank you to all involved in making our anniversary dinner so special x x
We have been back in the UK for a week now and are still looking for negatives to add to this review, but can only come up with things that are down to personal taste and real nit picking, so here goes. The entertainment was mixed, we loved the steel band and the piano player was awesome but were not at all fussed with the jazz or the duo at the managers party and the only nit pick we could think of was that there were tea and coffee making facilities but only coffee mate was provided (tastes awful in tea..LOL). However on a good note we asked for milk and were given a carton to keep in the fridge so alls well that ends well.
So if you are looking for perfection and relaxation with no noisy discos or lager louts PLEASE please try East Winds I guarantee you will not want to leave..I know we did'nt and we are so looking forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NAM231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2012

PEFECTION REVIEW HAS GENUINE SINCERITY – THANK YOU

The challenge of providing a great holiday for the first time in 30 years without your children and on your anniversary is quite daunting, but it seems that East Winds Inn certainly rose to the occasion. You have to love the line “Oh Boy, did we underestimate this hotel!!!!!!!” That basically says it all, and perhaps helps reinforce why East Winds Inn was named the number 1 All-Inclusive resort in the entire Caribbean on this website for 2012. We couldn’t be more flattered and appreciative of all your glowing comments, and know we earned your praise honestly from a full two week stay with us.

As indicated by the majority of reviewers, the staff is what makes East Winds Inn what it really is – all 84 of them. “We loved the staff…nothing was too much trouble, every task was done with a smile, and we would like to say a huge thank you to all involved in making our anniversary dinner so special” – these are your own words, not an advertisement. Thank you for your frank honesty – especially when you finish by stating “….please try East Winds, I guarantee you will not want to leave…I know we didn’t and we are so looking forward to returning in the future.” What more could we ask for? We look so forward to welcoming you back to "the small resort with a big heart."

Best regards,

George J. Reti,
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (869)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

513 - 517 of 869 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2012

East Winds provides us a wonderful opportunity to unwind and truelly relax. Being here we were able to give each other the full benefit of ourselves, while taking in the beautiful sunsets along with the sounds of surf, song birds and tree frogs. I thank my wife for her tasteful choice of this island locale for celebration of our 5th wedding aniversary. (We were married on St Lucia).
The Staff, from reception, to housekeeping, diningroom, food prep, bartending, gardners, yoga etc. were courteous, considerate, and engaging.
Like some others who have reviewed, we did find some things a bit out of sync; the self serve pool bar was not as presentable as other areas on property, the pool patio was somewhat rough around the edges, and some common mixers and drink menu ingredients were "out of stock". But over all, those things were insignificant to our enjoyment and feeling of total tranquility over our 7 nights at east Winds Inn. The comfort of the natural surroundings together with the attentive service far outweigh the negatives. For whatever was lacking, there was always a pleasing alternative.
The desire to meet the needs of any guest were apparent when I asked for a "pumkin" to be delivered to our room. Hannah didn't hesitate to ask when I would like it delivered. And the housekeeping staff made sure it would be a surprise for my wife. And when I told her it was an anniversary surprise, Hannah took it upon herself to ensure we were treated to some special touches during our anniversary dinner. The dining room staff went out of there way to make us feel even more special that next evening. There were beautiful flowers at our table. A chilled bottle of Sparkling Srawberry Wine. A deliscious appettiser added to the already marvelous dinner. Even a fantastic dessert made just for us !
I wish I could remember all the names, but when so many people are so kind, in a short time, it is difficult to remember all teh names. The faces and smiles we will not forget. I would like to thank you all for making this long awaited vacation, and escape from our daily committments and stressful ways, such a peaceful and refreshing time.
And for all of the other reviews regarding Wifi, phone service, and Television... REALLY?
You concider that vacation? You need another !

Room Tip: Luckily, we chose the perfect room. Covered varanda, ocean view, close to the beach, resteraunt an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antny-Viki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2012

THANK YOU FOR THE PEACEFUL REVIEW

It is clear from all your positive comments, that you greatly enjoyed your anniversary visit to St. Lucia and more specifically, to East Winds Inn. Your feelings of “total tranquility”, the appreciation of the “courteous, considerate and engaging staff”, the memorable anniversary dinner with all the special touches and even the fact that Hannah took it upon herself to get you a surprise pumpkin for your wife, underscore the quality of your experience. We thank you for all of those positive recognitions.

As you so graciously point out that you wish you could remember all the names of the staff who made it such a special holiday, but “the faces and the smiles we will not forget”. And to summarize by stating “ I would like to thank you all for making this long awaited vacation and escape from our daily commitments and stressful ways, such a peaceful and refreshing time.” – that is truly gratifying for everyone at East Winds Inn.

We do hope to see you again for another special anniversary, and the same smiles and genuine attention will be waiting for you.

Best regards,

George J. Reti
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We had read all the reviews and although we wouldn't normally go on a full board basis, we thought we'd try it. So glad we did: none of the normal queues and monotonous buffets, this was really, really good. You'd want to go here for dinner if it wasn't included anyway.
The staff were all so friendly and helpful, nothing too much trouble and it really was genuine as opposed to polite nods and smiles.
September is the quiet season so it wasn't that busy but we wanted to take it easy and relax so that was fine with us. If you want a wild night out, this isn't for you but if you want to relax, chat and eat well, this is perfect. The Manager, Gareth even went out of his way to take us to a local gallery as we expressed interest in the art they have. This really is a little gem.
If you want to be more adventurous, they can organise tours, diving, zip wires and rainforest hikes but you can also use the hobie sailing cats at the resort or just use the snorkel gear.
You really don't feel you're in a conventional hotel, which is perfect if you travel on business a lot but you do have mod cons such as tv, a/c and wi-fi, which is great.
They certainly set a very high bench mark for all inclusive and we wouldn't go anywhere else in St Lucia, despite it being our first time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sallyCantan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2012

THANKS FOR THE AMAZING REVIEW – TOP CLASS

“This was really, really good”. Any review which starts out like that has to be taken seriously – which we certainly do, and we thank you for your enthusiastic remarks. We are so pleased that you found your first trip to St. Lucia, and more specifically, to East Winds Inn, so gratifying. Again, the highlight, as pointed out by so many guests, is the “friendly and helpful staff – nothing was too much trouble and it really was genuine”. This acknowledgement is most greatly appreciated by all.

To culminate your review by stating that East Winds Inn “certainly sets a very high benchmark for all inclusive and we wouldn’t go anywhere else” is very rewarding for everyone who participated in making your stay so memorable. We like to refer to East Winds Inn as the small hotel with a big heart, but seeing you say “This really is a little gem” is also a wonderful summary – thank you for expressing yourself so openly.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another relaxing holiday.

Best regards,

George J. Reti
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Having just rebooked our 9th visit to the beautiful East Winds and reviewed some of the current comments on Tripadvisor I am pleased to read that everything apppears to be as perfect as our last visit. I really cannot stress how wonderful this place is - from the lovely rooms to the gorgeous surroundings, the amazing friendliness of all the staff and the food is to die for. Having recommended this to many of our friends noone has returned disappointed. November here we come. Can't wait to get my first banana daiquiri and see Gareth and the team.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JudyandD0ug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

WE WELCOME YOUR PERFECT REVIEW – THANK YOU

There are few hotels in the Caribbean which are as fortunate as East Winds Inn relative to our staunch supporters and repeat guests. Coming for your ninth visit is wonderful, especially when we are fully aware that you have many potential choices of where you could spend your holiday. This is an East Winds trademark, where guests become so relaxed and enjoy their time to the extent they do, that repeat guests are becoming nearly as common as the new ones.

Thank you for being so candid and forthright about your previous experiences – the East Winds Team will do everything possible to ensure that your holiday is just as memorable as the ones you have enjoyed in the past.

We look forward to welcoming you again to the small resort with a big heart, and thank you for all your past support of East Winds Inn.

Best regards,

George J. Reti
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

This was our third stay and again it was completely perfect.
We are already booked for next year as we know we will have the best holiday we could have. Why go anywhere else when it would be second best!
As soon as the taxi approaches the familiar entrance we know we have returned to our holiday heaven. Our third visit was all the more exciting as we knew what to expect and we were not disappointed. We were greeted delightfully with a cold towel and a chilled glass of champagne and we then proceeded to be shown to our usual, as requested, superior cottage. The superior cottages are luxurious and the installed air conditioning this year was a welcome addition. Each year a few things change but only for the added comfort of the guest; the fundamental values of the resort remain untouched and are not to be faulted.
The grounds are exquisite and the gardeners do a marvellous job at maintaining all the natural beauty and each day we marvel at a certain plant or tree we had not spotted previously. The beach area is picture perfect and the pool area is delightful.
The food is plentiful and the best we have ever tasted. Aunty Paula is just lovely and makes the best breakfasts in the world with so much choice and variety. Lunches are superb and either a BBQ or buffet but always delicious and we always indulge despite still being full from breakfast but we cannot resist the temptation! Saturday lunches are fabulous fun with accompaniment from the steel band.
Dinners are our absolute favourite time of the day, the restaurant transforms into a candlelit magical place (it is extremely beautiful throughout the day too). The musicians who play are exceptionally talented and they compliment the delicate ambiance perfectly. The four course meals are always delectable and complimented throughout by a plentiful supply of good quality wine.
The drink choice is immense and we enjoy a luxurious pre and after dinner drink or two every evening whether it is a lovingly prepared cocktail or a chilled champagne. During the day we have delicious milkshakes; scrumptious cocktails and rosé wine; you can have anything you desire.
Now, everything mentioned so far is wonderful but the real beauty of Eastwinds Inn is the staff. They all truly make the holiday an exceptional experience and one we dream of throughout the year. The service and attitude is incomparable and I do have to mention a few names. We spent fun and memorable evenings enjoying Titus’s expertly made cocktails and great company; he is a marvellous asset to Eastwinds Inn and we miss the laughs we shared. Hanna is a competition winner in cocktail making and a winner in our eyes for being totally lovely. We appreciate Windel’s kindness and the ability to always make us laugh. Kerwin; Hague and Ellie are all superb and Mavis is an amazing waitress. The attention to detail within the service offered is truly outstanding and friendly without being intrusive.
We do not like big hotels with many restaurants and timed dining and we would have never dreamt of utilising a children’s club; holidays are about spending time together and there is nowhere better to do so and have a true chill out experience. We do not require discos and all night parties but we do have exceptional fun throughout the holiday. My son enjoyed the table tennis this year and several members of staff played with him in their own time and this was very touching. He enjoyed the water sport facilities that are on offer but like us, preferred to relax on the beach more than anything!
The guests all have a similar agenda and the majority of them are like minded individuals who enjoy the finer things in life.
There is no reason why you would not be able to totally relax soaking in all the wonderful Caribbean surroundings whilst being completely pampered and feeling entirely content at East Winds Inn.
We are completely missing this beautiful place and now look forward to next August!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Rose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2012

LUXURIOUS REVIEW MOST GREATLY APPRECIATED

From your opening sentence to the confirmation of your return visit next year, we could not ask for a more generous and fulfilling review for all the East Winds Team to be so proud of. Thank you for providing such a detailed and appreciative recap of your third experience at East Winds Inn – which clearly made a positive impression on you once again. The ability to identify so many individual staff members who helped make your holiday so memorable is just one example of the ways in which guests such as you, who are clearly outgoing, can integrate with the people who make East Winds Inn what it really is.

Your appreciation of the fine four course dinners in the “magical” open air dining room, the sounds of the talented musicians, the lushness of the beautiful gardens, the natural splendour of the beach, and the quality of fellow guests is also noted. In the end however, you go back to the staff, repeating – “Now, everything mentioned so far is wonderful but the real beauty of East Winds Inn is the staff. They all truly make the holiday an exceptional experience and one we dream of throughout the year.” Those words mean so much to everyone, but your commitment to already return next year really says it all.

Thank you for your ongoing support of East Winds Inn, and we look forward to see you coming down the road to paradise once again. Your friends will be waiting with open arms.

Warm regards,

George J. Reti
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
23.9 km away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
968 reviews
27 km away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
26.1 km away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 km away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
5.6 km away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 5 in Cap Estate
761 reviews
23.9 km away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Winds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Winds

Address: La Brellotte Bay, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range: $889 - $1,612 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — East Winds 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Saint Lucia’s best kept secret and immerse yourself in true Caribbean luxury. East Winds Saint Lucia is a breathtaking garden-by-the-sea, planted on the island's most picturesque sandy bay. Our Island Hideaway is Saint Lucia's original boutique resort featuring 30 cottage style suites, tucked away amongst lush plants, trees and a kaleidoscope of colourful bird-life. East Winds is home to what many consider the finest beach on the island and our guests share it with very few others just like them; travellers looking for personalised care and all-inclusive service in the most authentic of Caribbean experiences. Come experience the Caribbean the way it was meant to be experienced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your East Winds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Winds Hotel Gros Islet
East Winds Resort All Inclusive
East Winds St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing