We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation Central”
Review of East Winds

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
East Winds
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Staying at East Winds is such a treat. My boyfriend and I badly needed a very relaxing holiday and this place definitely exceeded our expectations. We were upgraded on arrival to a deluxe cottage which was furnished to high standards and extremely clean. I don't think I have ever experienced such amazing standards of service and I really hope all of the staff are rewarded as they are extremely astute, empathetic and good company. I think, in fact, they should be hired to train staff in the UK on customer service standards : ) The food is definitely 5/5, I loved the evening four course meal and very happy with the wine on offer. The cocktails were delicious, (I very much wish I had one to hand on this rainy October evening), and the entertainment was just right, in particular the band on a Friday night which was our favourite night with the BBQ (fantastic lobster and steak etc). It's definitely the place to go to really unwind and do as you please. We met some really lovely people there and St Lucia is a beautiful island with justifiably proud and knowledgeable residents. We went to Redruit beach in Rodney Bay for the day and that is a beautiful white sand beach, we also did the catamaran trip which is great as you get to see a lot of the island, the mud bath made my skin feel amazing afterwards!
Basically this place has true class which a lot of other all-inclusive resorts lack. You should go there, at least once!

Room Tip: Deluxe room was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank RonniePrince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

THANKS FOR THE RELAXATION CENTRAL REVIEW

To begin your complimentary review by stating that East Winds Inn “definitely exceeded our expectations” is a great start to a stellar posting. The deluxe cottage you occupied “was furnished to high standards and extremely clean” – this, thanks to our excellent housekeeping team who pride themselves in doing a good job in preparing all rooms for guest arrival as well as during their stay.

“I don’t think I have ever experienced such amazing standards of service…the staff are extremely astute, empathetic and good company . In fact, they should be hired to train staff in the UK on customer service standards”. That is a powerful statement which goes a long way toward job satisfaction, which for many, is a good portion of the reward they seek. The fact that so many of the staff have remained employed at East Winds Inn for over 10, 15, 20 or even 30 years, speaks volumes for their sense of pride in what they do, as well as the manner in which they are treated by the guests as well as the resort itself. We thank you for noting such an important part of a quality hotel offering.

Your positive comments about the food (5/5), the wine, cocktails and entertainment are all so gratifying, as well as your line “It’s definitely the place to go to really unwind and do as you please”. The obvious appreciation of St. Lucia as a beautiful country, as well as its exceptional people is pleasing to read. Ending your review by suggesting “this place has true class which a lot of other all-inclusives lack….. You should go there, at least once!” – that is more than we could ask for.

Thank you for your support of East Winds Inn, and we look forward to seeing you – at least twice!

Best regards,

George J. Reti,
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (870)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

508 - 512 of 870 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2012

The answer to this can be summed up in a few words ... within a couple of minutes of arriving at East Winds it was as though we had never left 12 months previously. When you return to a hotel you have visited before there is a bit of apprehension that there will have been changes from previous visits, any changes from the previous year have not changed our minds about East Winds at all. Everything was as perfect as is had been on our previous visits, right from the cold towel and drink on arrival to the send off on leaving. So what makes East Winds so special? Importantly for us, the resort is tranquil, the feeling of peace is a far cry from the hussle and bustle of so much in life these days. It has been said that a organisation's major asset is its people. This is certainly true at East Winds. Everyone at East Winds, from Gareth down, strives to make your stay as relaxed and memorable as possible. It's difficult to single people out, but there are a few that deserve a mention; Titus, your sense of humour is wicked and you mix a mean drink (and my Hawaiian shirts have been put away for another year); Hannah, how on earth do you remember all those drinks in a round? We trust the cocktail competition in Antigua went well and you did East Winds proud with Velvet Oak; Windell, your smile is infectious; Elie and all the dining room staff, as efficient and happy as ever; Francis Reynolds, we always enjoy the chats on the beach. And Claudius, your happy smile all day long always makes us smile. The cuisine and wines are as good as ever, in fact we thought the presentation was better than in the past. Tomislav, you and your culinary team are a credit to East Winds. And many thanks to all the unseen staff in guardening, housekeeping and maintenance who work so hard in the background.

And what else? The entertainment in the evenings, not at all obtrusive but adding to the ambiance of the resort. The rooms are very well presented and furnished (and the A/C works!), in fact the matresses are the most comfortable we have experienced in any hotel. We particularly like the way the cottages are laid out in the grounds, there is always something to see from the balcony - the grapefruit tree in front of our cottage was a magnet for birds. The grounds are kept in tip top condition, well tended and not a spot of litter to be seen. The beach is well kept and swept each day and sunbeds are plentiful. It was nice to see that this year there were a number of younger people staying, many of whom were honeymooners. From speaking to them it was clear they were impressed by East Winds and a number said they intended to return. And then there were old friends who had returned, Tommy and Karen, Bill and Pat, Ronnie and Helen, good to see you all again and perhaps next year?? Oh and one more person to mention, our "lodger" , Thomas the Hotel Cat, who decided our balcony would do for 2 nights!

Our flight home was cancelled by British Airways, who put us up in a hotel in Marigot Bay overnight, and this made us realise even more why East Winds is so special. If you want a hotel with entertainment and noise until the early hours of the morning then there are other hotels in St Lucia to go to. If you want to chill and relax in friendly surroundings with good food and wine and impeccable service and let the outside world carry on at 100 mph, then East Winds in the place for you. East Winds is a real star and George and Marilyn should be proud of that.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Onh0lidayagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

WHY ARE WE SO LUCKY TO HAVE HAD YOU BACK AGAIN?

They say the true way to differentiate between a great hotel and a mediocre one, is the level of repeat business it receives. Your testament to the fact that you have visited East Winds Inn on numerous occasions is a great compliment for everyone at the resort, and we thank you for that. More importantly however, you have noted that if anything, despite your understandable apprehension for disappointment based on wonderful past memories, your experiences have actually improved the more times you have stayed at East Winds Inn. That is a true accolade which we greatly appreciate.

Noting that the entire team, from GM Gareth Leach to the hard working gardeners and housekeeping staff, is the resort’s “major asset” is most gracious of you, as is the specific singling out of certain staff members such as Titus, Hannah, Windel, Elie and the dining room staff. Even mentioning our chief of security, Francis Reynolds, as well as newer staff members such as Claudius demonstrates your involvement at the resort, which is certainly part of the experience.

Recognition towards our chef Tomislav is also a nice gesture, as he has worked very hard at East Winds Inn over the past two years to bring our culinary offerings to even greater heights. He certainly takes pride in his presentations using only the freshest of ingredients and techniques. Thank you for noticing that as well.

We are honoured that you have chosen to become a regular repeat visitor to East Winds Inn. Knowing that there are so many alternatives throughout the Caribbean, the commitment you make has significant meaning to everyone who tries to make each and every holiday an unforgettable one. Each member of staff thanks you from the bottom of their hearts for believing in them and entrusting your valuable vacation time in their capable, yet humble hands. Even Thomas the cat.

Warm regards,

George J. Reti,
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

After 4 nights at Jalousie Plantation and 4 nights at Ti Kaye Village (see separate reviews), surely a week at East Winds could not match those standards. But they certainly did, exceeding our already high expectations.

Once again, the great thing is the contrast in character; this is a really relaxed, spacious all-inclusive property. On arrival we were greeted by two charming receptionists with cool towels and cooler drinks, and by Gareth Leach, the General Manager. (Why does nobody mention him in all the compliments? The standards are set by the owners and then maintained by the management, and that's Gareth).

We were shown to our beach-side suite and were delighted. Stepping out onto the lawn and then the beach each morning was a delight. The bedroom and sitting room were very well appointed, mini-bar well stocked (although very small glasses if you wanted a beer), good bathroom, two wardrobes with loads of hangers.

The beach and gardens were lovely and there were more than enough sun loungers even when the hotel is full. The pool area is very pleasant and the swim-up self-service bar was popular, as one would expect.

Reviewers have used many superlatives for the restaurant, and I would agree with all of them. Paula does excellent work at breakfast (even fried bread if you ask nicely) and there is always a good selection of buffet dishes at lunch, while dinner is an experience in itself. Excellent food, great wines (although we mainly drank the good local Piton beer), a variety of entertainment, including the (in)famous Steinway piano (the piano tuner must have his work cut out to keep it in such good shape). Their barbecue is great.

Both the bars were really welcoming and fun. And to get a single malt whisky (Glenmorangie) on an all-inclusive deal is pretty good. The fact is, you really don't want for anything - if your waiter brings you after-dinner coffee in the bar, he or she tries to anticipate your drink preference (if any) and gets it without needing to fetch another member of staff. Don't call it multi-tasking; it's better than that.

We didn't have anything to do with the Pilates or Yoga, but we did walk the fitness trail and were most impressed, and might just give it a go next time!

This is a very special property, made even more so by all the boys and girls who work so hard and are so enthusiastic to anticipate your needs and make sure you are having a nice time.

We cannot express any preference between the three hotels we stayed in because of their differences, but one thing is for sure: they are a pretty special bunch.

Many thanks to the island of St Lucia for making two old people very happy.

Room Tip: Beach-front suite is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YHH99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

EXCEEDING EXPECTATIONS REVIEW DOES JUST THAT – THANK YOU

When a Senior Reviewer on this website arrives at the number one rated all-inclusive resort in the Caribbean, and number three in the world, after already visiting two reputable hotels on the island of St. Lucia, one can imagine the level of expectation brought to bear on East Winds Inn. To then have that guest publically state that we “exceeded expectations” is a true accomplishment, for which we are so grateful for being given the opportunity.

It is not necessary to repeat all the wonderful things stated about St. Lucia and East Winds Inn in this exceptional and eloquent review, other than to read it carefully a few times over, as there are many little hidden gems throughout. The fact that the reviewer has called out Gareth Leach, the General Manager of the establishment for over 20 years, is a true compliment – in fact, he questions why more people do not. All the excellent superlatives and adjectives used throughout this review give it such character and feeling, you certainly have captured the essence of East Winds Inn. However, I can’t ignore the line “This is a very special property, made even more so by all the boys and girls who work so hard and are so enthusiastic to anticipate your needs and make sure you are having a nice time.”

We thank you wholeheartedly for such a kind review, and are extremely pleased that you left with the feeling you might one day return. Certainly, we will anticipate that moment, and ensure that your memories are re-lived to the standard which you expect and deserve as a guest of East Winds Inn.

Best regards,

George J. Reti
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We went to this little touch of paradise last November for our honeymoon. Our choice was based on few things, we wanted a beautiful, romantic and peaceful place with the possibility to go around the island and do some activities. Of course Tripadvisor reviews have been very important.

We stayed for a week and the weather was fine, rain for few minutes during the day did not stop us to enjoy the beach or swim...

We sent a couple of email to Glenda, the reservation manager, and immediately we had a feeling to have chose the right place. From the airport we took the taxi and driving through the island was a nice experience even if of course takes much more time that helicopter. You pass through little villages, ocean sight, banana plantations and the amazing rain forest...cool start.

We arrived there and it has been immediately "love". The resort is absolutely fantastic. They kindly upgraded our room so we stayed in Ocean view one which was so nice and of course with a fantastic view of the beach.
The first think we noticed was the beautiful gardens with several different kind of trees, flowers and plants which surround the cottages. It s so nice when you are going to have breakfast walking being sunken by all those colors.

The restaurant is right to the beach, we had fantastic "aperitivi" watching the beautiful sunset down to the beach. The food is so nice and fresh. Every day they delight you with different kind of fresh fruits. Delicious pancakes and some hot dish on ordered.
Lunch, dinners absolutely tasty, red, white or rosè selection is perfect ,all of them are very nice. They prepare even Caribbean dish and we really appreciate that. The all staff is so professional and kind, I liked the fact they love what they do and this for me is the reason they are doing it so good.
Like honeymooners we had the possibility to have a very romantic dinner under a secluded gazebo, fantastic food and Champagne.

Don't aspect long white beach, Santa Lucia is a Volcanic island but here the sand is not black like in other place but not white like in other artificial beach. Have a look at the photos.

...swim up bar with self service cocktails...my wife likes to run and the run truck around the resort was perfect...Hobbie cats, first experience for me and the friendly guys teach you in a lesson and tell you interesting thing about the island...piano bar...I don't want to repeat what the other people wrote but it is just the truth!!
I really understand why people come here again.

We asked them to organize for us the trip to the Pitons and that was very nice. We took the taxi early in the morning, climb the Pitons with a nice local guide and had a simple, nice, Caribbean lunch. There are a lot of activities you can chose around the island and we like Santa Lucia even for this.

In East Wind Inn you are not just a number room and Gareth, Glenda and all the staff is friendly, nice and help you if you need anything.

They welcome you like a family and at the same time you have your proper privacy to relax and enjoy the unique Caribbean atmosphere...

Room Tip: Ocean view room was fantastic, there is a little veranda where relax and watch hummingbird and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MacchuPicchus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

ALWAYS READY FOR SUCH A WONDERFUL REVIEW – THANK YOU

We greatly appreciate the time taken to express your comments relating to your stay at East Winds Inn. You have accurately detailed the obviously positive experience from the actual booking to the moment of your arrival and the excursions of the beautiful island of St. Lucia, pointing out many aspects which we have tried to express in previous responses. For example, you clearly enjoyed the drive from the airport to East Winds Inn, which we have always viewed as a “mini” island tour, allowing one to see sights they might never witness if they are simply shunted to a massive enclosed resort by a large bus. If anyone ever finds the driver of a taxi moving too fast, simply ask them to slow down, and they will happily oblige. The fact that many hurry to the various resorts is usually a function of their desire to please customers, thinking they want to get there as fast as they can. Thank you for discovering what makes St. Lucia so special – including its wonderful and engaging people.

As for East Winds itself, the words “love”, “absolutely fantastic, “beautiful gardens”, “beautiful sunset”, “perfect” and many more, punctuate your review so graciously. The line “I really understand why people come here again” says a great deal – most kind of you.

It is nice to see you mention our general Manager of over 20 years, Gareth Leach, as well as many other staff members – they are the heart and soul of East Winds Inn. As you point out, they are “friendly, nice and help you if you need anything. They welcome you like a family and at the same time you have your proper privacy to relax and enjoy the unique Caribbean atmosphere...”

Thank you for your support of East Winds Inn, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the “small resort with a big heart.”

Best regards,

George J. Reti
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We are just like the hundreds of others who have stayed at East Winds and absolutely loved it!

I looked at TripAdvisor for months trying to find the perfect place in St. Lucia for our honeymoon...we definitely found the right place! We were immediately greeted from the taxi with cold towels and delicious rum punch!

Not only were the rooms excellent, the food and staff were something you just don't see at many resorts. All meals were exceptional, with the highlight being each night's 4-course dinner and the Friday barbeque. The staff do everything in their power to accommodate you. Our flight back to the states was delayed and the manager even let us stay for lunch and even had the kitchen pack us a supper to eat on the plane! I don't think you'd get that at Sandals!

We didn't want a resort with hundreds of other couples and a "crammed" feeling. East Winds was perfect for us - quiet, secluded, and amazing drinks/food! Like other reviewers have said, if you want to party this is not the resort.

Beach activities were excellent! We sailed, kayaked, and snorkeled and had a great time playing soccer with the water sports guys!

We really have no complaints about East Winds and are looking forward to going back! We highly recommend the deluxe cottage!

Room Tip: The deluxe cottage was excellent and had cold A/C, cable TV, and an awesome step-down shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank austinmann25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2012

THANK YOU FOR THE PERFECT HONEYMOON REVIEW FROM PARADISE

To start your excellent review by stating - “I looked at TripAdvisor for months trying to find the perfect place in St. Lucia for our honeymoon...we definitely found the right place!” – that is a resounding endorsement of East Winds Inn for which we are extremely grateful. The fact you “absolutely loved it” is most encouraging for all those who helped make it happen. You clearly experienced the personal touches associated with a boutique style resort, as well as the “excellent rooms” and the food and staff that “you just don’t see at many resorts”. You are correct that the evening, four course, wine paired meals are one of the main highlights, as is the Friday night barbeque.

It seems as though you were also kept quite busy with beach activities and water sports, even playing soccer on the beach with the water sports fellows. But most of all, we appreciate you saying that you are “looking forward to going back” – that is the true testament to a good holiday, the feeling of wanting to return to relive the experience.

We thank you for selecting East Winds Inn from all the hotels available in the Caribbean to spend such a special occasion as your honeymoon, and we wish you a very happy and healthy new life together.

Best regards,

George J. Reti
President

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
23.9 km away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
969 reviews
27 km away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
26.1 km away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 km away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
5.6 km away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 5 in Cap Estate
762 reviews
23.9 km away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Winds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Winds

Address: La Brellotte Bay, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range: $890 - $1,592 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — East Winds 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Saint Lucia’s best kept secret and immerse yourself in true Caribbean luxury. East Winds Saint Lucia is a breathtaking garden-by-the-sea, planted on the island's most picturesque sandy bay. Our Island Hideaway is Saint Lucia's original boutique resort featuring 30 cottage style suites, tucked away amongst lush plants, trees and a kaleidoscope of colourful bird-life. East Winds is home to what many consider the finest beach on the island and our guests share it with very few others just like them; travellers looking for personalised care and all-inclusive service in the most authentic of Caribbean experiences. Come experience the Caribbean the way it was meant to be experienced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your East Winds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Winds Hotel Gros Islet
East Winds Resort All Inclusive
East Winds St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing