We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Overview
We stayed at the Bay Gardens Beach Resort for eight nights in late November 2011. This hotel was excellent and the staff friendly and accommodating. The beach was one of the nicest we’ve seen in the Caribbean. I would highly recommend this resort. The resort is located in the far northwest corner of the island in an area known as Gros Islet.
General
The Bay Gardens Beach Resort is large (about 75 rooms) and well laid out. There are two restaurants and a bar on site along with a beautiful pool and Jacuzzi. There is also a fitness room, spa, small gift shop, and internet café/library. Chaises were readily available at all times of the day on the beach and at the pool. Staff delivered fresh beach towels to the room daily.
Rooms
The rooms are pleasant, clean, and spacious. They are in good mechanical condition and very comfortable. Rooms have a full kitchen, living room/dining area, outside patio/balcony, bedroom, and 1½ baths. Kitchens have dishes, pots and pans, and cutlery and full-size appliances. Free wireless internet is available, but tends to be a little slow.
Food
We ate breakfast in our room daily, but had lunch at the hotel restaurants (Hi-Tide and Trios) and at a nearby restaurant called Spinnakers. Both are good, but the menu is limited at Hi-Tide and Trios is only open Thursday through Sunday. This is of little concern because there are many restaurants within easy walking distance of the hotel, so choices are not an issue. Available food styles include: local fare, Indian, Chinese, Italian, American fast food, and others.
We enjoyed dinner at several restaurants in the Gros Islet area. Our favorites were The Edge (we ate there twice), La Terrasse, Buzz, Jacque’s, and a spot in Castries called the Coal Pot. All served excellent food and had good service. The local seafood is great and the lobsters are big and not too expensive. The Edge was our favorite. It’s right on the water in Rodney Bay and is a fine dining restaurant with an extensive wine list and fresh local cuisine.
Overall, food is pricey, but of high quality. Checks usually include a 10% tip, so double check before paying.
On Friday nights, the fishing village of Anse-la-Raye has a fish fry and it is a good time for sure. A party boat leaves Gros Islet for the 30-minute sail to Anse-la-Raye. It costs $65 per person with an open bar and live music. It is well worth it. The other alternative is to go by taxi, which is cheaper, but takes much longer as you have to navigate some tough roads to get there. St. Lucia is very mountainous, so driving is slow and dangerous if you are not familiar with narrow roads and driving on the left side of the road.

Beach
The resort borders Reduit Beach, a beautiful, brown sand beach. Most consider it the best beach in St. Lucia. The water is calm and clear. Some vendors will walk through the beach area selling jewelry and local crafts, but they are not bothersome. Water sports equipment is available and you can book snorkeling and diving trips through the hotel.
Bar
The Hi-Tide has an inside bar and a small beach bar with a happy hour (5:00-6:00pm) featuring 2-for-1 drinks and snacks (the breadfruit chips are awesome). The bar features good liquor, local beer (Piton), local rum (Chairman’s Reserve, Bounty, and others) and wines from France, Chile, and Argentina.
Service
Overall, the service was good. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
Things to do
We took a snorkeling trip that went down the western coast of St. Lucia to Soufriere where you can view the Pitons. The trip included a visit to the volcanic mud baths and a natural waterfall, lunch and snorkeling.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jccase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,848 - 1,852 of 2,226 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2011

We loved the Bay Gardens Beach Resort! Thank you Olive, Tim and Richard! Great people! Although the area is much more touristy than our first 3 nights in Soufriere, we felt spoiled by the amenities. Our 1bdrm suite had the full kitchen with everything you need including a blender for some great elixirs! Very clean and large bed-bath rooms. (Also 110v outlets for American gadgets) The pool area is beautiful with a nice hot tub in the center. Food and bar area right next to the pool. 2 computers and internet (for free) by the office. But they had Wi-Fi as well. Decent beach-swim area with water sports rental items right there. Nice people run that as well! (Lucky is fun) The sports area has water taxis to Pigeon Island for $15 us and well worth it! I highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: We liked the upper floor but that may not be an issue. Upper pool view sees the bay as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RaceAMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

My friend and I have recently returned from our 2nd visit to Bay Gardens Beach Resort. We had a lovely welcome and a beautiful basket of fruit put into our suite. We had 2 large bedrooms with a lounge/kitchen between - everything was very well appointed Again I celebrated my birthday and thoroughly enjoyed my complimentary champagne on the beach. All of the staff are to be complimented - they work extremely hard to make guests feel welcome - remakably most of them remembered our names. Cannot fault anything about the resort - it is kept beautifully clean and tidy (including the beach in front of the hotel) and if anything untoward occurs it is put right immediatly. The resort is situated virtually on the beach and is within walking distance of several restaurants offering many types of cuisine.

If I was to try to think of something we did not like it would have to be the journey from the airport to Reduit Bay - on each occasion my friend was feeling ill by the time we reachedBay Gardens. Fortunately we were flying to Barbados on the way back so only had to make the journey in one direction.

We shall definately be back next year but we shall fly into Barbados and then take the Liat flight to and from Viges Airport in Castres.

Room Tip: We choose to have a 2nd Floor Beachfront 2 bedroomed apartment - we enjoy sitting on a balcony with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jadePenzance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Although we did not stay here (we stayed at the Bay Gardens Inn, we have free use of this their sister hotel. The resort is situated in Rodney Bay and has a wonderful beach with free use of the sun beds and sun umbrella's for guests of either the resort, the Bay Gardens hotel or the Inn both of which are only a ten minute walk away or catch the free shuttle bus which leaves every hour, on the half hour, to both these hotels.There is also a great pool with a hot jacuzzi! We are planning to return next May (2012),

Room Tip: We did not stay here but we did have free use of the resort as we were staying at the Bay Gardens In...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mohawk1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful vacation at the Bay Gardens Beach Resort. The location was excellent- walking distance to fantastic and surprisingly reasonable restaurants in Rodney Bay. The staff was helpful and friendly, esp. Richard! They have a small but beautiful beach and we took a water taxi to Pigeon Island, a national park that was interesting because of it's history and natural beauty and beaches.
Tracker, our taxi driver that was provided by the hotel, took us on a day long tour of the island. He made it interesting and fun. He took us to Ladara to have lunch and it was breathtaking. Tracker is the MAN! Our king suite was clean and well equipped. We had a great view as well. If it weren't so far from home, we'd go back for our next vacation.

Room Tip: We were in room 611- great view overlooking pool and ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
4.5 km away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
3 km away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
14.6 km away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.4 km away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
2.5 km away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 5 in Cap Estate
771 reviews
28.3 km away
Stonefield Villa Resort
Stonefield Villa Resort
#6 of 11 in Soufriere
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Gardens Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Gardens Beach Resort

Address: Reduit Beach, Rodney Bay Village | Box 1892, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Gros Islet
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range: $242 - $676 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Gardens Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Gardens Beach Resort is an all-suite hotel with magnificent views of the stunning Caribbean Sea. The architecture of this private boutique and hip hotel is reminiscent of its colonial past, with a mixture of both Caribbean-French and Georgian plantation style, incorporating traditional elements of timbered balconies and verandas for that true Caribbean ambiance. This resort provides a luxurious and relaxing environment for guests with every possible modern facility. Suites are complete with full kitchens, modern bathroom fixtures and living and dining areas. All feature cable TV, DVD and CD players, high-speed internet access and Wi-Fi. The Bay Gardens Beach Resort... Your Window to Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bay Gardens Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Gardens Beach Hotel Gros Islet
Bay Gardens Beach Castries
Bay Gardens Beach Resort St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing