We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really special” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anse Chastanet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Anse Chastanet
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Really special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

We stayed at Anse Chastanet for four nights recently. It is a really special place that you can't fully appreciate until you're there. Wonderful staff, large, beautiful rooms, and a lot of privacy. We wouldn't hesitate to go back, and we hope to do so someday. The prons and cons for me were:

Pros:
1. It has two great beaches. One is private and the other is technically open to the public, but is mostly populated with resort guests. The beaches are tropical, black sand beaches with lots of thatched huts available to guests. They are great for swimming - moderate waves and soft sand underneath without many rocks or much algae. There is also fantastic snorkeling just off the beach.
2. The food is fantastic (probably the best I've had) and diverse. The resort has five full restaurants - an indian/caribbean fusion restaurant, a more continental restaurant with a small menu that changes every night, a vegetarian restaurant, a grill on the public beach, and a casual lunch spot on the private beach. Dinner was great every night we were there (and we are pretty picky so this is fairly high praise), and the hotel does a very robust breakfast buffet.
3. The rooms are spacious, beautiful, and very private, with great views of the surrounding rain forest.

Cons:
1. It's very hard to get to. Soufriere, where Anse Chastanet and most of the other luxury resorts on the island are located, is not very close to either airport, and the roads weren't great (the road leading up to the resort is particularly rough and takes about 10-15 minutes to traverse). On the way to the hotel from the airport we took a cab, and the ride last almost 2 hours and cost about $120. On the way back, we took a boat, which was shorter (about 70 minutes), but cost $190. Factor that cost in to your trip, unless you plan to rent a car or take a shuttle.
2. The resort is very anti-technology. There is no A/C, no phones (although you can get cell service if you have an international plan), no internet access, except in the lobby, which was very dysfunctional, and no television. I'm ok with most of that, but not having a phone that connects with the lobby (which is a 10 minute walk away) and not having wifi were significant minuses to me.
3. The resort requires a lot of hiking to get around. This probably isn't a problem unless you are elderly or traveling with small children, but to get from the beach or the beach-level restaurants to the rooms on the hill requires climbing the equivalent of maybe 12-15 flights of stairs. If that's too much for you, you can get a shuttle but I don't know how convenient that is.
4. The hotel has a sister resort, Jade Mountain, at the top of the hill. Guests there use the same beaches and eat at the same restaurants (I think), but have much more spectacular rooms and some other amenities for about 3x the price of Anse Chastanet. I list it as a con because at least in a small way it creates a ghettoization of the resort. We paid something like $600 a night for our room, and still felt somewhat lower class because of the existence of Jade Mountain next door. This isn't a big deal, but we just thought it odd that such a luxurious resort felt the need to add an even more audacious complex next door, and to partition it into a separate hotel.

Overall, as I said, we really loved the resort. The main competitors in the area are Ladera and Jalousie Plantation. We didn't go inside either of them, but did see them from the water while we toured the Pitons. Jalousie looked comparable, but more modern/Western versus Anse Chastanet's exoticism. Its beach is white sand, imported from the Grenadines (according to our guide), which I thought was in somewhat poor taste. Ladera also looked very nice, but is quite far from the beach, which would be inconvenient.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Randolph314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    785
    197
    60
    44
    39
See reviews for
117
707
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Just returned from a weeklong stay. We stayed there three years ago, and were amazed that a resort so good could be even better. The staff seemed better coordinated, food fresher with more choices, and there is now access by footpath to their second 'wild' beach. Of course the setting is still spectacular - Anse Chastanet is a lot more than just a pretty beach.

There are a few things besides location that make this hotel unique. The staff is a deep team and genuinely cares about each guest's eperience. The resort is completely open air, with most rooms having an open fourth wall, and all dining and bar areas open to the beautiful breezes. The range of activities is amazing. Guests can be pampered at the spa and and drink umbrella drinks at the gorgeous beach in complete tranquility one day, and be high gear active the next taking advantage of the hundreds of acres of natural beauty to hike, swim, dive, kayak, or take a yoga or training class. As far as dining, choice ranges from elegant sashimi and rack of lamb, to inspired Indian cuisine, to the best burgers anywhere at a picnic table setting among the coconut palms at Anse Mamin Beach. This is truly a place where every individual can create their own experience. One important note is that the hillside layout is extremely vertical which could create some problems for people with mobility limitations.

I cannot say if there is any resort comparable or similar in the Caribbean, but feel we will be back once again some time - and already can't wait!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank goodlux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Enjoyed a great holiday in a marvellous setting. From the large private covered terrace (with plenty of comfy seating, coffee machine, fridge etc) of our room (3D) we enjoyed stunning views of the Pitons in one direction and sunset over the Caribbean in the other. You could even look at the Pitons from the shower! This was unlike any other hotel I have stayed in - almost like one of the top end tented camps in Masai Mara in its feel. You need to be fairly fit (or prepared to wait for shuttle buses) to get around the resort - 130 steep steps from reception to beach; 49 from reception to our room. Plenty of excursions available and some fascinating walks with local guides (Meno was a gem!); we don't do scuba, but the snorkelling was pretty good from the resort beach. Food and service were also pretty good, with any lack of speed of service made up for with plenty of smiles. No TV or phone in rooms, which was great, because it meant we read and talked!
Downsides: no swimming pool (I know you've got the sea, but we're fussy and love to swim in a pool and snorkel in the sea); quite a lot of midge bites in the room and on the terrace in spite of all the coils and spraying done by the hotel staff.
We had a fantastic holiday and I know friends who would love the place, but if you just want sanitised modern luxury this is not the place for you. But if it's luxury you are after and you can pay for it, look at the sister hotel further up the mountain - Jade Mountain ....

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

reception, restaurant, dive staff...hard to believe how polite, helpful and accommodating everyone is at this hotel and it starts with Peter the mgr. food surprisingly good. diving is outstanding. warning to type A's: there is wifi and 2 computers for use in the bar/lounge.no tv, no radio, nada with the exception of a few beachfront rooms there is no a/c....also its 132 steps up from beach to breakfast. if you are mobility challenged, you wont be happy.

ACR could serve as hotel school to teach the world how to treat guests.

Room Tip: beach front rooms have a/c but no view. Rooms higher up, have views, some better than others. usuall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rokko193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Fantastic Hotel, but even more importantly great Staff and beautiful location. The staff could not have been more helpful and attentive - it is very evident that the residents are No 1. Food was varied, mixture of local and international - although not sure about the Indian - they used some strange spices causing an odd sneezing fit! Local diving centre well organised, nice dives with shore and boat diving - although not too many big fish. A highlight are Meno's guided walks and birdwatching tours - his infectious enthusiasm and humour are not to be missed - his joy at hearing of a residents room being where a Humingbird had laid a couple of eggs was memorable ! Definitely would return, but saw little of the rest of the island since the resort had everything.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimpcardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
0.2 km away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
4.5 km away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
3.6 km away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.5 km away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 4 in Cap Estate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
12.6 km away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
28.3 km away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anse Chastanet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anse Chastanet

Property: Anse Chastanet
Address: 1000 Anse Chastanet Road | PO Box 7000, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Soufriere
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price range (per night): $446 - $1,611
Hotel Class:4 star — Anse Chastanet 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquility, Romance, Adventure: What were Caribbean hotels like when you sat watching the sunset instead of cable TV? You can still find that Classic Caribbean at Anse Chastanet on St. Lucia’s quiet southwestern coast where two magical peaks, the Pitons, leap from the sea and the mountains are covered with luminous greenery.Architect owner Nick Troubetzkoy believes passionately in nature. So he created a hotel that makes the foliage and the flowers, the perfumes and the peaks, the sea and the bird song an integral part of your vacation experience. The estate encompasses 600 lush tropical acres bordering two soft sand beaches. The resort’s two crystal-clear bays are part of a designated marine reserve protecting miles of colorful coral reefs teeming with tropical fish.With such a unique setting as his canvas, Nick Troubetzkoy was inspired to design a one -of-a-kind resort. A dozen rooms are tucked in behind the coconut palms that line the beach and the remainder tip toe up a flower decked hillside, taking advantage of the captivating scenery all around. Anse Chastanet’s ever growing art collection provides a visual feast of its own. There are impressive wooden sculptures and plaques, earthy burlap compositions, painted “sky ceilings” and vibrant acrylic paintings invoking memories of Matisse and Picasso.And while the sensuous seclusion of the rooms provides some guests with the perfect excuse for lolling away the day on the balcony, others head out to partake in the many activities on offer; yoga, snorkeling, scuba diving, tennis, sunset sailing, sea kayaking or jungle biking, hiking and bird-watching among the ruins of an 18th century colonial plantation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Anse Chastanet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anse Chastanet Hotel Soufrière
Anse Chastanet St. Lucia/Soufriere, Caribbean
Anse Chastenet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing