We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Boucan by Hotel Chocolat
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Leisure Inn(Soufriere)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Villa des Pitons(Soufriere)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tet Rouge Resort(La Pointe)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (532)
Filter reviews
532 results
Traveller rating
378
114
26
11
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
378
114
26
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbar experienceluxe lodgebar tourthe beancocoa nibspetit pitonrabot estateinfinity poolguest relations managerst luciasugar beachcocoa treeboutique hotelchocolate treatssunset cruisehotel's boatbeach shuttle
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 532 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2018

We stayed at Boucan for a week this January. The hotel is stunning. The rooms (we had luxe lodge 7) are beautiful. The views from this hotel, even if you've seen the Pitons many times before, are quite exceptional.

We find the setup with no aircon, just rooms open to the elements, the breeze and mosquito net is definitely the way to go in the Caribbean.

The Bean to Bar experience is really worth doing and the fact that Hotel Chocolat are clearly benefiting the island more widely in their support for local cocoa growers is a great story.

The restaurant food is excellent We went over the road to Ladera one evening but did not repeat the experience.

The only downside of my stay here is it may be a few days before I can face eating chocolate again.....though probably not too many.

Room Tip: We found that the wifi reached the balcony of luxe lodge 7, which was handy for making calls home etc
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rmeade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy B, Guest Relations Manager at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2018

Thank you for mentioning our Engaged Ethics program that we are very proud of which involves over 200 farmers on the island of St Lucia. The view of the Petit Piton from Boucan and the plantation is incredible and we never get tired of it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

We stayed here for four nights in December as we used it as our southern base for our stay in St Lucia.

First of all we, as it will to everyone the view is stunning, so unique and I could never get bored just staring at Petit Piton.

we stayed in the normal lodge for one night then arranged to upgrade for our remaining 3 nights. We loved the normal lodge room but were blown away by the luxe room. Worth every penny in my opinion. Stunning view from your own balcony!

The rooms came with some nibbles which was good and of course some free water. Also worth noting you are in the middle of a jungle so it gets very loud at night - I am a light sleep but the ear plugs provided blocked all that noise out!

We were on a full board basis and on the whole the food was excellent. The property being owned by Hotel Chocolat has a nod to chocolate on pretty much every dish - which 99% worked as was subtle but the last meal being eggs Benedict with a white chocolate hollandaise didn't quite work, but the millions of breakfast options were brilliant.

Lunch and dinner were also superb and accurately cooked! You also get snacks by the pool if you are a resident - and most the time the pool was empty!

Would recommend both chocolate tours as they were informative and interesting huge shout out to Merle as she made the tour what it was!

Would also recommend the free shuttle down to Sugar Beach - stunning beach! we were the only ones to use the shuttle that morning and we looked like VIP's turning up on our own speed boat Boucaneer!

Absolutely amazing stay and we were very sad to leave the bull finches, staff, food and scenery and thought that everything would go down hill from there when we left to our next hotel (it didn't - Cap Maison was equally as good - See other review)

Well done to all staff for making our stay so memorable and enjoyable!

Room Tip: Upgrade to luxe rooms - worth every penny
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kesley19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy B, Guest Relations Manager at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2018

We are blow away by your review, thank you. We have never got bored staring at the Petit Piton either, its a spectacular backdrop to Boucan. We have passed on your top rate comments to Merle also, about her bean to bar tour. Our chefs are delighted that you found their food "Superb" & "Excellent"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018

The rating is really, truly 4.5, not a 4, but service issues proved challenging. We just got back from a 5 night stay at Boucan in December, 2017. We rented 2 lodges - 1 for me/husband and 1 for 2 teens. A separate bed (with mosquito netting) was set up for the kids. Both rooms identical and very good accommodations with comfortable beds and well maintained. The pictures on the website do not do the hotel justice. Day or night, it is incredibly beautiful. Like all have said, there is no air conditioning or TV-not an issue for us. Wifi worked quite well. The open air bathrooms and shower was a challenge both as a couple and for our teens, but don't let that deter you. The hotel and amenities were great and we would gladly return. Breakfast was included and they were running a stay 5 nights/pay for 4 special. We loved the view, the pool, the open air restaurant, and live music. The main complaint was the service in the restaurant and at the pool. In the early part of our stay, the wait for a drink or food could easily stretch from half hour to over an hour. Seems they only have waitstaff, no bus staff, so the waitstaff does everything. Sets and clears tables, takes drink orders, food orders, clears tables, etc. Also, they didn't seem to have assigned sections so am guessing the tips are split evenly. I hate to read reviews where people complain about service, as it is easy to come off as whining. However, to wait 30-45 minutes for a drink needs to be addressed. As the days went on, we started ordering 2 drinks at one time. However, maybe more staff came on, as the service dramatically improved during our stay. We loved the shuttle/boat ride to the beach. It was a unique experience and to drive thru the town was very interesting. One morning we did the snorkeling trip and then spent afternoon at beach. Another day we lounged at hotel pool all morning and then went to Sugar Beach for afternoon. Very easy to go back/forth. At Sugar Beach a lounger is $50 or you can sit on the sand for free. Beautiful beach with very good restaurant and nice pool. Another morning we climbed Gros Piton, arranged through hotel. Included pickup/drop off, guides, lunch, and water. Definitely bring a backpack as carrying the food bags would have been difficult given how steep the climb is. The climb was awesome but challenging. In the afternoon we went to Sulphur Springs, a quick 5 minute cab ride away. We went at end of day and stayed about an hour, which was just right. Was great for the sore muscles after the climb. All the cab/shuttle/boat staff were excellent, as they were friendly and helpful. The concierge desk was great too. We had dinner one night at Sugar Beach's Great Room, after spending afternoon at the beach and then took a cab back to hotel (last shuttle boat is 4:45). The cab back was $25. We had Eastern Carribean dollars but almost everything was quoted to us in US dollars. Not a problem but just be sure to know the conversion. Overall a great vacation and would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a small hotel experience. St. Lucia is stunningly beautiful and wish I was still there!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Laurel78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy B, Guest Relations Manager at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2018

Thank you for your feedback. Delighted you thought that "day or night" it is incredible beautiful, we think so too. We apologies that you had to wait for services at times, we strive to offer swift and attentive reception, however this can be challenging at very busy times. We take your honest feedback on board as your comments help us in continually improve. Thank you for recommending our slice of paradise to anyone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018

We had dinner at Boucan during our two week stay in Soufriere. We found everything about this restaurant to be average or below. The service was impersonal and it felt like they were doing us a favour. The food, while interesting that it was all made with chocolate, was not very good overall. The ravioli was difficult to even eat. The tuna tartare was flavourless, The scallops were exceptional and the best appetiser for sure. The steak was very good as was the duck confit. The bet part of the meal was the dessert. The molten lava cake was to die for and the key lime pie was incredible. While there were clearly highlights the price was crazy considering the overall caliber of the meal.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank lovetraveltoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy B, Guest Relations Manager at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2018

Delighted the steak was very good and the scallops exceptional only every select best quality at all times. We think the molten cakes is to die for too - Thank you for your honest feedback, we are sorry that not everything was not to your liking, we only ever strive for execatpional food and serveice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

So, the food here is great- puts Ladera (walking distance across the street) to shame. We stayed in a regular lodge room. It was big enough but we didn’t love the open air bathroom and shower connected to the room- some times it’s nice to be able to close the bathroom door for privacy. Definitely a drawback for a romantic weekend. We ate at Ladera, Anse Chastenet, Jade and Viceroy and the food is absolutely the best at Boucan. Prices similar/very expensive outside Boucan; $75 for lunch (2 drinks, shared appetizer and entree) and $150+ for dinner (shared appetizer, entree, $65 bottle of wine). Boucan prices 20% less for much better food. We also LOVED the Boucan boat which takes you from Soufriere to the Viceroy/Sandy Beach twice/day plus offers day and sunset/champagne cruises. Super cool boat and fabulous captain/1st mate!!
We booked this for one night of our trip for $425/night via an Expedia special. I see rooms go here typically go for $700+. It is totally not worth that. Neither is Anse Chastenet (600+ dated decor, yucky beach), Ladera (700+ bad food and ridiculously great views but not for anyone afraid of heights), Jade (1600+ so-so food, yucky beach, totally not worth it- anyone who says it is justifying a super poor use of cash).

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kim5164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy B, Guest Relations Manager at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

So pleased you mentioned our brilliant boat crew, one of the many highlights that guest talk about is the James Bond experience going to the beach. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews