We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“GREAT RESORT PROPERTY” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atrium Beach Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Atrium Beach Resort and Spa
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GREAT RESORT PROPERTY”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

My wife and I stayed at this property when our return flight from St Maarten was delayed 24 hours. Short drive from the airport. Rooms are spacious, facilities excellent and very near the great restaurants and night life in Simpson's Bay.
If the opportunity presents itself, we would readily stay there again!

Room Tip: Rooms looking out into Pelican Bay are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 155004Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    187
    91
    26
    14
See reviews for
84
258
36
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

St. Martin is known as the friendly island for good reason. The Atrium is the friendliest resort here. It can be difficult to find an available room here, but it is well worth the effort. I have been coming here for 8 years for 2 or 3 weeks at a time. They have a meet & greet every Monday evening with free wine & cocktails, music, and snack food. You will find that 80% of the guests come here every year, and are very friendly. You will meet these same people on the private beach on Simpson bay with free chairs & umbrellas. The water is always near 80 even in February, because it is on the Caribbean. You will also meet guests @ the Green Room restaurant in the resort. Rooms are studios, or 1 or 2 bedrooms. The appliances, utensils, etc. have just been replaced. Beds & furniture is comfortable & look great! There are over a dozen restaurants and a casino within a 10 minute walk. Most have happy hour from 4 till 7 with 2 for 1 drinks. Cuisine ranges from Tex-Mex to Italian, French, Creole, Argentine, to Caribbean. A bank & pharmacy are a 5 minute walk. Phillipsburg is 15 minutes by car or bus, with every kind of shop known to mankind, but featuring jewelry @ cut rate prices. Haggle to your heart's content! On the Dutch side, dollars are the standard. On the French side, dining includes gourmet French as good as you'll ever get in Paris. The French fly fresh food in every day, and Cordon Bleu cooks abound. You can also eat like a native by visiting the unique lolos. Here chicken, ribs, shrimp, and fish are bbq'd in the open air. You can visit great beaches where topless is the norm, or go to the nude beach.

Room Tip: The Atrium overlooks Simpson Bay and has water views on 2 sides. All rooms have decks with views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Knightshold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

We love the Atrium and have stayed there many times. It is located on Simpson Bay in the middle of everything. Although I would recommend renting a car so that you can really see and explore the island's many different beaches and restaraunts, you can walk to so many things around you that you can do without a car if you have to. The beach at the hotel is very nice, and there is obviously no charge for the lounge chairs/umbrellas that you will pay for at other beaches. There is a beautiful, new, clean market right around the corner where you can do all of your grocery & liquor shopping. There are loads of restaraunts, bistros & bars very close by as well. There is also an awesome ice cream/gelato place called Carosel that you must try! The hotel is undergoing renovations (finally!) and our suite has been renovated so it's very nice & looks great. Our room is on the 7th floor and the views are simply beautiful. The rooms/suies that haven't been renovated yet are very dated, but still very clean,. The staff at the hotel are very friendly and accomodating. Finally, don't miss the Bucaneer Beach Bar, which is a great place to get drinks & food while you're on the beach.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank blondebrucefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natchez, Mississippi, USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

For what I was looking for The Atrium filled the bill. It is a short cab ride from the airport and within easy walking distance to restaurants and grocery store. My son and I spent one night in St Maarten and we found the staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatchezMS5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

The Atrium provided me with the peace and solice I sought after the recent death of my hushand. My room was a scenic ocean view and I thoroughly enjoyed sitting out on the balcony and looking out in the bay. The room was beautifully maintained and I look forward to spending my next trip there. This resort comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank claudette l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
0.3 km away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
1.6 km away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
0.3 km away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
Alegria
Alegria
#5 of 7 in Simpson Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.5 km away
Flamingo Beach Resort
Flamingo Beach Resort
#1 of 6 in Philipsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
0.5 km away
Royal Palm Beach Resort
Royal Palm Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Cole Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atrium Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atrium Beach Resort and Spa

Property: Atrium Beach Resort and Spa
Address: Billy Folly Rd 6 | PO Box 1115, Simpson Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Simpson Bay
Price range (per night): $151 - $483
Hotel Class:3 star — Atrium Beach Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atrium Resort & Spa by Festiva Resorts is your getaway in paradise. The smallest island in the world to be shared by two sovereign powers (The Netherlands and France), St. Maarten provides a winning blend of Caribbean hospitality and European sophistication. Rolling hillsides, blue lagoons and breathtaking views are just a few reasons why so many visitors return every year to this island. With its half mile of natural beach and an array of nearby water sports, the Atrium is practically paradise. This quiet, beachfront resort overlooks the calm Caribbean Sea and is minutes from the glamorous nightlife and duty-free shopping of both the Dutch and French sides of the island.Adjoining the resort's pool area is a Spanish tapas bar, Picante. In addition to light and delicious fare, Picante also features a jazz club. If tranquility, luxury and a full-service staff are what you want, the Atrium is the place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Atrium Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atrium Resort And Spa By Festiva Resorts
Atrium Resort & Spa By Festiva Hotel Simpson Bay
Atrium Hotel Simpson Bay
Atrium St Maarten

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing