We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Incredible

Virgin motor yachts has the nicest boats, the best customer service and the best captains. I... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Jorwash
,
Charlotte, North Carolina
Another amazing week with Virgin Motor Yachts

This is our multi-repeat trip - this time we were on Ida Cat, an almost new 51ft Power Cat... read more

Reviewed 31 October 2018
Dasha M
,
Idaho Falls, Idaho, United States
Read all 129 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Tortola
from US$32.00
More Info
from US$105.00
More Info
from US$80.00
More Info
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveller rating
123
3
1
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
123
3
1
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bareboat charter nanny cay every employee could not have been more helpful amazing customer service awesome vacation took care of every detail travel plans leverick bay by noon power catamaran entire crew oil nut bay electric grill soggy dollar bar already planning our next trip worked perfectly
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 129 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2018

Another Great trip ...the staff was very very accommodating and the boat was great. Foxy's was crazy good, Leverick bay marina perfect, the Bight at Norman was perfect and even though the Loose Mongoose is gone, the full Moon party the was spectacular. Can't wait till next time.

Date of experience: February 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank lebombara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lex1124, Owner at Virgin Motor Yachts, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us a review and we are glad you had a great time on your BVI charter! The BVI is coming back better and stronger than ever, so we are glad you were able to experience many of our favorite spots already re-opened and excited to welcome guests! Thank you for choosing to charter this season as your visit made a huge difference to so many people and is helping business rebuild, keep employees working and generally help the economic recovery of the islands! We look forward to hopefully having you back in the BVI as our guest again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2018

We just spent 7 days aboard Dash Away a 51' Leopord power cat. Since it has only been 5 months since Hurricane Irma we were expecting a few hiccups and perhaps bruises, but Virgin Motors was on top of their game and took care of every detail with our charter. Dash Away was in excellent shape, our provisions were at the boat when said, our water toys were also added to the boat and removed without any effort on our part. Every employee was kind, efficient and happy. We were so happy our charter took place and will return soon to support all the wonderful people in the BVI's. Thank you Virgin Motor Yachts.

Date of experience: February 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
2  Thank Adventure596466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lex1124, Owner at Virgin Motor Yachts, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review, and for choosing to charter this season! Your support from your charter has a huge impact on the islands, and is helping us rebuild faster and better than ever. We are glad you enjoyed your charter on our powercat 'Dash Away.' All our team prides themselves on helping our guests anyway they can to make your charter great, and we are happy you experienced this first hand! Thank you again for choosing Virgin Motor Yachts, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2018

Although I have taken some memorable vacations in the past, this is the first time I have felt the need to share my experience on Trip Advisor. Along with two other couples my wife and I recently spent a week cruising the British Virgin Islands on a powercat 'Runner Duck.' The staff at Virgin Yachts was great, and helped answer all our questions and plan every aspect of our trip.

Royden was awesome, and gave us a really detailed boat briefing so we understood 'Runner Duck'. We also had a check out with captain Thomas on our first day, and he was outstanding! He provided insight and instruction to insure we were 'qualified and competent' to operate the cat. After a great day of instruction from Thomas we successfully secured 'Runner Duck' to a mooring ball (on the first try!) and Thomas said we 'passed' so were able to head out on our own for the week.

For the next six days we explored the beautiful, but still rebuilding BVI. Amanda and Rebecca had given us a list of all the open restaurants, marinas, beach bars etc. and they also provided a suggested itinerary so we knew the best places to go on the best days. They even sent us some updates and added suggestions during our trip and checked in just to make sure we were having a nice time. The island rebuilding is going really well and everyone we met was so positive and thanked us so many times for coming on our vacation.

Our charter boat performed flawlessly, and our whole group commented on the amazing amount of space we all had on board. It was also incredibly fuel efficient.. We consistently burned 1.2 to 1.4 gallons of fuel per hour per engine.

Sadly Friday arrived and we returned to Nanny Cay to check out and say goodbye to 'Runner Duck.' Although we were sad to leave we all agreed as vacations go it doesn't get any better than this. We felt that way in large part because of the work and attention to detail by everyone at Virgin Motor Yachts. They treated us like family and we can't wait to go back. We even started planning our next BVI trip on the plane ride home!

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank tjaabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lex1124, Owner at Virgin Motor Yachts, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your first ever Trip Advisor review - we are honored you chose us! We are thrilled you enjoyed your charter on our newest powercat, 'Runner Duck'. As you experienced; she is a great, easy to operate and spacious cat for a group, as well as very fuel efficient - and we think your fuel burn is a new record low! There are so many restaurants, beach bars, and marinas already re-opened and excited to welcome back guests, and Rebekah and Amanda are wonderful at providing the most updated lists and helping suggest the best places to visit each day. We too, were sad you had to leave, but we can't wait to welcome you back for another great BVI charter with us in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018

It is extremely difficult in words to convey how magical our charter was with Virgin Motor Yachts. I am no stranger to travel, but found a piece of heaven in the BVI. I was simply left awestruck by the amazing customer service and response by the entire team at Virgin Motor Yachts. (Detailed, patient briefings, immediate answers to questions, and most importantly, the comprehensive itinerary and recommendations). The vessel “Runner Duck” was simply immaculate, spotless, intuitive and ran impeccably with no hiccups at all. The BVI is quickly recovering, and according to the testimony of regular visitors, has become more intimate and the residents are very appreciative. This was my first time in the BVI and first experience with Virgin Motor Yachts, and we found both to be spellbinding and irrisistible. We will be back!!!!

Date of experience: February 2018
2  Thank melliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lex1124, Owner at Virgin Motor Yachts, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us a review! We LOVE helping first time guests, such as yourself, experience the BVI and our team is happy to help with any and all questions that our charter 'newbies' have. The people of the BVI are strong and resilient and many of the most popular spots (Soggy Dollar Bar, The Baths, Pirates etc.) are already open. All of us that work here are happy to welcome you, and your support this charter season is helping the islands rebuild better than ever! We are thrilled you were able to experience the indescribable magic of the BVI and we cannot wait to welcome you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2018

This is our 3rd trip with Virgin Traders and a reminder as to why we keep coming back. It was our first charter on a power cat. The 47' Jenica was a very capable and comfortable boat for sure. Despite the many problems with our trip, namely missed flights, intermittent rain, high winds, even higher seas, and a mechanical failure on the boat, the Virgin Traders staff went above and beyond to make our trip the best it could be. The personal service was great and something that I doubt would be possible with a large company like the Moorings if faced with the same challenges as we had.
When we pulled into Nanny Cay to take shelter from 10-15' seas mid-trip, Amanda found us a slip in the new marina. When my wife was too panicked to go out again for the remaining 3 days, she and another shipmate wanted to stay in the Nanny Cay hotel, but there were no rooms. No problem. Amanda and Alexa made up some cabins on another one of their boats at the marina and the 2 of them remained at the dock until I returned with the rest of our party. Trip saved, marriage saved. Thanks again for everything
Mark
Raymond Maine

Date of experience: January 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank markN250ND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lex1124, Owner at Virgin Motor Yachts, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Thank you very much for your review, and we are sorry the weather gods were not on your side for your week of charter :( The BVI is typically blessed with wonderful weather; light tradewinds, low seas and lots of sunshine. Our normally ideal weather for yachting is actually what has led the BVI to be the 'cruising capital of the world!' However, from time to time mother nature is not so kind and we get wind, rain and higher seas. We were of course more than happy to help in any way we could to make sure your group was comfortable; be that on the water or at Nanny Cay. We are always proud of our staff's desire to go 'above and beyond' anyway they can for our guests, and I am happy that they were able to help you enjoy a great charter holiday in spite of the weather challenges! We look forward to having you back again in the future - and we will do our best to request only sunshine and flat seas for your next charter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews