We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME HOTEL”
Review of Maria's by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maria's by the Sea
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Road Town
Reviewed 26 July 2017

My husband and I are newly weds and we spent the weekend at this hotel and had the BEST time ever! We stayed in one of the newer modeled King size rooms and felt like a King and Queen upon entry of the room... It was absolutely PERFECT! I can't wait to go back to the BVI and stay at Maria's by the Sea.

Room Tip: Newly Renovated Rooms are AMAZING!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank countrysiderose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2017

The hotel has undergone a good renovation. Rooms were clean and well organized. The restaurant and bar people were really helpful. I saw some of their prepared meals and they looked really nice. Their pool was really clean and was at just the right temperature for a dip. The hotel is located close to downtown and the cruise ship wharf. Use of wharf security made me feel comfortable and store's personnel were extremely helpful. The weekend had a food festival on the weekend we were there. There is a super market (Bobbies) about 10 minutes walk.

Room Tip: The hotel has a newer section, but all rooms appeared to be similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeannet1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017 via mobile

Great location! Clean! Nice restaurant but pricey. Does have a bar separate from restaurant to hang out. Staff really nice. Called cab for us to leave the next day. We had missed ferry to another island & had to stay. Didn't know where to go! Guy at customs very helpful. Restaurants walking distance.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017

Rooms were nice and clean, friendly staff, great food, walking distance from the ferry terminal, Capriccio de Mare (must try Italian joint), Marche (great sushi) and Bobbys (your supermarket and deli)

Room Tip: The chicken wings from the restaurant are amazing!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Samese W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017

Returned yesterday from three nights here. My husband was on business and I was along for the ride! I really liked this hotel. Felt very safe being there on my own most of the time. I think it was about 30/40 mins ride from the airport, although there are some roadworks at the moment which may delay things a bit. The name says it all. The hotel is literally on the seafront. We are on the third floor in the main block and had a superb view. Very large, spotlessly clean room. Aircon, (a bit noisy). Fridge, microwave, sink & coffee maker. Bathroom a bit dated, but OK. Nice pool, but no shade/brollies. Towels from reception.Used local cafe's & restaurants for meals, so cannot comment on the hotel restaurant, but it certainly looked very nice and had a great view. Recommend the fruit smoothies from Baz's hut. Also the kiosk at the ferry terminal sells hunks of fresh banana bread ($3.50) and filled rolls ($3.50). Check-in/out smooth. Always someone on reception. Hire car desk too. Ino was very helpful. Ferry terminal to St Thomas & Virgin Gorda is 5 mins walk away. Ferry dock to Jost Van Dyke is elsewhere ($25 taxi fare) and the ferry dock to Peter Island is a $12 taxi ride way. Plenty of cafes, bars, restaurants easily walkable. Colourful huts selling tourist items, clothes etc, just minutes away. Taxi stand with list of prices just outside the entrance. Free Wi-Fi. Only thing I would say is that there is no tourist information, on day trips, boat trips etc. There is a stand in reception, but the leaflets are for medical facilities, real estate & jewellers. I would recommend this hotel and go again.

Room Tip: Third floor with sea-view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bermuda1Cheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Road Town
7.3 km away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
446 reviews
0.9 km away
Fort Burt Hotel
Fort Burt Hotel
#10 of 13 in Road Town
135 reviews
26.5 km away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
2.8 km away
Nanny Cay Marina & Hotel
Nanny Cay Marina & Hotel
#4 of 13 in Road Town
177 reviews
21.7 km away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maria's by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maria's by the Sea

Address: Road Harbour, Road Town, Tortola
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola > Road Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Road Town
Price Range: S$243 - S$398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maria's by the Sea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Maria's by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria`s By The Sea Hotel Road Town
Marias By The Sea Hotel
Marias Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing