We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for sandwiches, deli meats and cheeses and delicious bakery items!”

French Deli & Gourmet Shop
Ranked #2 of 39 Restaurants in Road Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: Deli, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Description: We are the only specialized French and European high end gourmet and delicatessen shop in the British Virgin Islands. Come in for coffee or lunch and browse our wide selection of gourmet items, cheeses, meats, wines, champagnes, imported directly from France and our delicious breads, pastries and chocolates.Enjoy a comfortable, relaxed atmosphere, friendly service and affordable priced food.
Reviewed 8 April 2018

This is one of my go to places on Tortola. It has better quality food than elsewhere and you get just as much as you want of it so less waste. Well, apart from the fact you can waste money when you spot all the delicious things that they bake there. Yum. Great cinnamon rolls that are hard to resist.

I buy my ham and other tasty bits here and we all love their sandwiches on french baguettes (you get a generous half a baguette) which are freshly made on site. They are around $7-8 and are good value as food is expensive in the BVI.

They offer freshly cooked lunches too - the ones I have had have been very good but the view and surroundings are not as good as other places so our favourite thing is ordering stuff to go. Definitely worth going to see what they bake - they have stuff for your freezer too as well as Orangina which my children love and can't get anywhere else as well as many other really great quality juices. Oh and delicious coffee and that is from a fussy tea drinker as I think so much of it elsewhere is too bitter for me. Oh and handmade choccies... JUST GO and see for yourself. I would come here to provision for a charter if I was going on one.

Before I forget - I really like the staff there too - especially Arleen and Leanne - they are always so warm and friendly. Thank you!


You can also buy stuff

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DandNikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrenchDeli, Adm. Asst. at French Deli & Gourmet Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear DandKikki, Many thanks for your nice review. We are pleased to know that you like our products, prices and some of our Staff. Our appearance is not so great after the hurricanes hits. Our landlord has promised to get our repairs going soon. The materials and labor shortage In the BVI is making the reconstruction a bit slower than desired. We will strive to offer our customers good products at reasonable prices. That we can control. Thank you for your patronage. Looking forward to seeing you next time you vacation in the BVI.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

Wide variety of sandwiches on offer served on delicious baguettes. Terrific find. Popular with locals and tourists alike.

Thank mcdonaldfamily2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrenchDeli, Adm. Asst. at French Deli & Gourmet Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thank you for your positive review. Kindly be aware that we also offer breakfast, soups, burgers, seafood/fish, pasta and many other lunch items. Our wide selection of deli items offer great variety for provisioning your boat or villa. We thank you for your patronage while vacationing in the BVI.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018 via mobile

This spot is a great find for lunch as it has delicious sandwiches and the best quiche my wife has ever had. Their blueberry muffins are so good you'll be back for another. When crowded they get a little uptight about customizing a sandwich ( a sign says "This is not Burger King. You can't have it your way" ) but they usually accommodate the customers, many of whom come daily in the very busy Moorings area of Road town. Parking can be spotty as the locals basically park anywhere and the trucks/ hurricane reconstruction in this area can be trying, at best. With that said, we'll be back as often as we can during our month long stay. There is limited seating at 5 community tables in the back and we have run into some very nice locals who are very helpful with what to try next time and stories of their hurricane struggles. They have the best selection of chocolates and pastry, pate and cheese we have seen in Tortola and will custom make cakes on special order. The yacht people load up here before cruising the BVI waters. Follow the locals to this great find in an industrial area of this beautiful island.

Thank surfer6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrenchDeli, Adm. Asst. at French Deli & Gourmet Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear surfer6, We are grateful for your positive review. We have 5 tables in the upstairs Mezzanine and 5 downstairs. The area is not that big! We open also for breakfast. Hopefully next year, when you come back, we've had expanded, offering more seating area. We also want to thank you for choosing us for you vacation even after the destruction and devastation Irma & Maria left us in. Let the world know that the BVI are ready to welcome tourists. We need it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018 via mobile

Food is excellent and not so expensive. Corn soup is my fave! The only bad thing is some staff are grumpy!

Thank georginacanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrenchDeli, Director of Sales at French Deli & Gourmet Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Thanks for your review and observation. We appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile

Good Quality Coffee and reasonable prices. They also sell lovely cakes and staff are friendly.
The store also has free Wi-Fi

Thank Tubs341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrenchDeli, Public Relations Manager at French Deli & Gourmet Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

We thank you very much for your positive review. The special coffees like Cappuccinos, Espressos and Lattes, are prepared with strong Puertorrican dark coffee beans. They are grinded when needed, keeping the delicious strong coffee flavor. It is extremely pleasing to hear you also found our staff friendly. Wi-Fi is only available depending on our service provider dependability. We look forward to your next visit. Thanks for the feedback and your patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed French Deli & Gourmet Shop also viewed

Tortola, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to French Deli & Gourmet Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing