We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stingray City

Stingray City
Book In Advance
More Info
US$58.00*
and up
Starfish and Stingray City Adventure with Snorkeling
Ranked #1 of 167 things to do in Grand Cayman
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Toddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Best to go on the earlier trip (7am) when there are less crowds. It's an amazing experience, not to be missed

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ahdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,810 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,124
    557
    85
    27
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Amazing venture”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Departure from Rum Point on a 60 feet catamaran ,the Spirit of Paalu with only 10 people on board was a great way to start this amazing venture. Capt. Anthony, and his crew were very informative about the rays , specially with the do's and dont's while swimming with the rays . What a thrill to be surrounded by dozens of rays and touching these softy creatures; make sure you feed them squid , it will definitely double your fun !!! The whole two hour tour was awesome and a lifetime experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank teeoff1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Maria Island, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Caymen Eco Adventures”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

My husband and I recently visted the Grand Caymen islands and it was a great trip! Caymen Eco Adventures was amazing! We were lucky to be the first ones out to the Stingray City and had unlimited interaction with the stingrays! The crew was amazing, had knoweldge of the rays and the enviroment. The transportation to stingray city also was great! Air conditioned bus, plenty of room and great boat! Truely a highlight of our trip!
Side note my husband was fearful of the rays and they did not pressure him at all to get in the water! The whole experince was great! Cannot say enough good things about this company

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Tusc7498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Highlight of the trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We took the afternoon 3 stop sting ray city trip with Capt. Marvin's. Their meeting place was located in a small plaza directly across the street from the Westin, Seven Mile Beach. A short 5-8 minute drive and we were at the harbor to board our boat, which very comfortably accommodated the 12 folks on board. Our first stop was at the Sting Ray sandbar where we sere in approx 3.5 to 4 ft. of water with a mass of sting rays. As soon as we stopped, they quickly flocked to our boat. There were 2 other boats on the sand bar, but all docked enough apart that we weren't crowded. Our crew taught us about the rays, how to hold them and a little of the various individual rays common to the bar, feeding them squid treats. There was a photographer present in the water taking photos of folks with the rays, available later for purchase (no hard sell and kissing the rays were to give you 7 years of good luck). We were not rushed and left to enjoy the experience. From there we went to a coral reef for some awesome snorkeling and then to the "Coral Gardens" where we fed masses of fish more squid. Snorkeling equipment was available and well maintained. The weather and water was incredible. It was truly the highlight of our trip and highly recommended. Capt. Marvin's crew was very professional and I would highly recommend them!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank omaumeg12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A must do.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

If you go to GC you have to swim with the stingrays. Get ride of all your fears. They are like puppies.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Captchris8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stingray City also viewed

Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 

Been to Stingray City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing