We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Lovely Accomodation, less than pleasant breakfast area, tiny beach, nice staff.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Lovely Accomodation, less than pleasant breakfast area, tiny beach, nice staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

We spent a week in January at this hotel. There are really limited hotel options on 7 mile beach and after driving around the entire island over the course of a few days - I don't think there is really anywhere else I would prefer to stay - unless, I was doing a dive vacation - in which case a more remote resort might be just the ticket and even preferred (I did this when I was diving in Bonaire - we were not concerned about what restaurants were close by, etc.)
For the money, Marriott gave us the best value - be sure to check the AAA rate - this was by far the best deal. We had an ocean front suite - was large and spacious - nice bathroom - comfortable bed, lovely view and just a few steps down the stairwell to beach and pool area.

Snorkeling off the beach is nice but we did not see the great variety of fish and colors that you might see on a boat trip to a reef.

I like a beach resort that has a water/beach view for breakfast - this hotel had a street view or zero view.

The beach is much much nicer at the Westin - but reports are that the hotel is in disrepair - we visited the lobby at Westin - was dark and not so great - much nicer at Marriott - but we went there for breakfast - Westin has a very lovely view of the beach and sea to watch while eating, and has a truly wonderful beach and pool area.

The Westin was booked with a large conference or we might have chosen that one. The Ritz Carlton is elegant but crowded beach - super expensive - most of the hotel rooms are not only far from the beach - they are on the other side of the main highway and you need to walk across a bridge - very inconvenient. Decor is elegant and eating at Blue by Eric Ripert was a trip and vacation highlight.

I hear that the plan is for a mega-makeover of the Marriott. This property is a franchise and was recently sold say some of the staff and ppl we met. They are planning to dump a ton of money into it and totally revamp the beach area - moving the hotel beachfront deck and pool areas back - chopping off the existing beach restaurant that is their fine dining and in so doing expanding the beach.

Also - they should redecorate the hallways - garish lighting, harsh walls and color scheme.

The hotel staff is very nice - we enjoyed our stay and found the hotel to be comfortable and convenient - self-park at front was great and no extra fee.

Room Tip: Go for ocean front suite if possible - not that much more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarlenieGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnetteDuncan, Manager at Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Mgtopagent,

Thank you for posting your experience. We are happy that you decided to stay at our resort, and very thankful for your kind comments about the property and the hospitable service provided by the staff. Just to clarify, our Hotel is not a Franchise but Owned by Gencom and has a Management Agreement with Marriott International. Plans are not yet definite on that areas that will be renovated, but we will indeed do a 16million property revamp in the summer of 2013. Thanks again for your comments.

Sincerely,
Ingrid Chaves
Director of Rooms Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,653
    1,355
    298
    146
    65
See reviews for
1,436
1,945
115
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,335)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Such a pretty island. The greens and blues screamed Monet to me. The water is definitely some of the prettiest I've ever seen. The Marriott in GC is situated right on the beach and you can sit in loungers on the beach provided by the hotel and let waves lap at your toes. Or you can even swim out 20 feet or so and pull up to the floating tables. What a blast. Shore/pool side bar and food service is quick and attentive, albeit a bet pricey. But that just matches the rest of the island.
Pool was crowded first day there but opened up after President Day's Weeklong visitors left.
After the 23rd, never had a problem getting a chair on poolside. Family oriented, but not a problem at deep end for more quiet for adults. Be aware during holiday weeks, tons of kids possible and pool area not that large.
Rooms are lovely. We had a 3rd floor courtyard room. On the south side. No afternoon sun, Quiet. Small balcony surrounded by palm fronds and overlooking a lazy stream.
Front desk good(helpful but had to wait every time I went up there. ). Doormen also very helpful. Situated nicely.
Hint: Take the bus to town . Easy and much less expensive. Nearly as quick.
Coconut Joe's across the street great place with attentive service. American food. Reasonable, for the island, prices.lunch$30 for 2 . Breakfast $20 for 2. This, by island standards, is a great deal.
Other restaurants we rec- Champion House II, TimBukToo in west end (take bus #1 or 2 to west end from GT or 7 mile beach), Vivine's Kitchen in East End a fabulous getaway. We took bus no.9 out there and back. $3CI each way pp.
Take the Red Sail Cat (sign up at beach front Marriott) cruise to Rum Point on Wed-Sat nights. It's free and the restaurant you go to (owned by Red Sail) is delicious and it's setting picturesque. $100 for 2 , no liquor.
Snorkeled in GT at fish market. Tarpon everywhere in water. Also Cemetary Point on west side. Reef dead but has fish. Very low key. We were 2 of 15 or so people there.
A lovely place to get away.

Room Tip: Courtyard south side 3rd floor or up for quiet, beach for noise and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Inbetweeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnetteDuncan, Manager at Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Inbetweeny,

Thanks for posting your review. We appreciate your constructive feedback and I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our Aqua Lounge. We are in fact planning on adding more lounges, as our guests enjoy having their tropical beverage in this fashion. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to always serving you well in the future.
Sincerely,
Ingrid Chaves
Director of Rooms Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Ferry, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

This island is beautiful. The staff were knowlegable, and friendly. Outside of the resort was very safe to go shopping, walk around, and even try the restaurants. Aqua, Casanova, and La Dolce Vita were our favorites! Everyone was so welcoming, and the food was outstanding!! We checked out Georgetown, and the Turtle Farm which were fun sights. We snorkled, and went wave running on the carribean which was absolutely breathtaking in front of the Marriott. It's expensive, but worth it. We would return in a heartbeat!

Thank you,
Daniela Papa & Michael Villari

Room Tip: We had a room with a balcony that overlooked the Comfort Inn, but we should have paid extra to have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dan0226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnetteDuncan, Manager at Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Dan0226,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are happy to know that you enjoyed our resort, and were satisfied with the services provided by the staff. I can say that I absolutely agree with you on the Ocean front rooms. These rooms depict the luxurious lifestyle of the Cayman Islands and give you the best view of the Beautiful Caribbean Sea. It leaves unforgettable moments from a memorable vacation.

Sincerely,
Ingrid Chaves
Director of Rooms Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

After reading the reviews we decided to stay at the Marriott using points and it was a great choice! The service was excellent and we felt that housekeeping was the best we have experienced in our many trips to the Carribean. We were worried about the beach but it was terrific! I would suggest, as others have, that management discourages saving chairs. It's just not classy. Once we were there, we found ourselves setting the alarm early to get front row. This aspect does not allow for one to truly relax. Who wants to spend money to feel like you are packed in and vying for chairs? The snorkelling was great! Loved it at the Marriott and also went to a dive shop and rented fins and bought masks and snorkles which worked out great! We loved snorkeling at Cemetary Beach - but some undertow - Smiths cove, Rum Point. The Marriott had great impromptu things going on like when they handed out ice creams on the beach one day, had a mermaid come tell the kids stories and our favorite...Bon fires and smores on the beach! Just a great hotel and lots of fun. Thanks, Marriott GC!

Room Tip: We were on the side facing comfort suites pool. Quiet and a small view of the ocean. 2nd fl.loved it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mudpuddle18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnetteDuncan, Manager at Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Mudpuddle18,

Thank you for choosing our Resort for your vacation destination! I am grateful for the kind comments you made on the excellent service we strive to provide. I am also pleased to hear that you, as well as the kids enjoyed our complimentary recreational activity with the mermaid, and bon fire with s’mores on the beach. Your suggestion about the beach chairs is appreciated and we will look into this situation you cited. Thanks again for sharing your experience and we look forward to always serving you well.
Sincerely,
Ingrid Chaves
Director of Rooms Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

We stayed at the Marriott late February 2012, as we arrived we were welcomed with tropical drinks as well as Tortuga Rum Cake. We were pleasantly welcomed by everyone during the check in process ( from the bell person to the front desk individuals). Our room was ready immediately and the luggage came shortly after.

The Room:
Very nicely appointed room with everything in top shape. The bathroom was very spacious and everything was very clean. No Free Wi-Fi (15 USD a day, pricey!!). We had a balcony which overlooked the beach (partially).

The Pool Area:
excellent pool area with plenty of pool chairs available. They have pool toy, floaties, balls, boards for the children. You can tell that the pool is well maintained. Servers come by often to make sure everything is ok and to offer you drink.

Beach:
The beach was beautiful, the sand is powdery and clean. The only downside is that space to put beach chairs is very limited so they run out of chairs quickly, so get there early. The beach servers are very attentive and courteous. They are always vigilant and do their best to make your stay an excellent one.

Beach Bar:

Overpriced bar food, nothing special, had dinner Saturday night and waited 40 minutes for Burgers and Calamari...not happy. Also, they did not have high chairs for children.

We did not eat at their on site restaurants, but from looking at the menus, everything seemed overpriced.

Overall, we had an excellent time at this property. My children loved the facilities. All the common areas are very nicely kept as well as the rooms. Would definitely stay here again. The only problem would be the cost of food, but in the Cayman Islands this would be hard to avoid.

Room Tip: Skip their breakfast room service and go to Coconut Joe's (across the street) for value breakfas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EngelsMendez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnetteDuncan, Manager at Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Mr. EngelsMendez,

Thank you for your kind and thoughtful comments. I am pleased to know that you were satisfied with the service provided, and you enjoyed your stay at our resort! We appreciate you taking your time to give feedback on the different areas of the property. Your comments are a valuable tool for us in order to continue our search for service excellence. I truly regret that you perceive the prices on our menu expensive. Please know that we endeavor to provide optimal quality food products, and our prices are practical for the island and our competition. Thanks again for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcome you back to our beautiful resort!
Sincerely,
Ingrid Chaves
Director of Rooms Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seven Mile Beach hotels
1.5 km away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.1 km away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
2.4 km away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#8 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
2.1 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman
#3 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,391 reviews
2.4 km away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort

Property: Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Address: 389 WestBay Road | PO BOX 30371, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1202, Grand Cayman
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price range (per night): $512 - $1,300
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all new Beach House at the Grand Cayman Marriott makes you feel right at home. All of our spacious 295 guest rooms have been completely refurbished. The main lobby "Anchor & Den" has transformed into a spacious, yet cozy place where you can connect, relax and spend time with family and friends. Experience enhanced culinary offerings at the new outdoor beach fish grill restaurant Veranda or have a drink at the Vista Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Marriott Seven Mile Beach
Seven Mile Beach Marriott
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing