We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach(Seven Mile Beach)(Great Value!)
US$124
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort(Seven Mile Beach)(Great Value!)
US$224
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$167
US$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
7 Mile Beach Resort and Club(Seven Mile Beach)(Great Value!)
US$162
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$174/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$349
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villas of the Galleon(Seven Mile Beach)(Great Value!)
US$362
US$272
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$299
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,084
US$950
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coral Stone Club(Seven Mile Beach)
US$750
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,932)
Filter reviews
1,932 results
Traveller rating
1,187
570
124
25
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,187
570
124
25
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe grillacross the streetbeach chairsfish tacosyogurtgrand caymanwestin hotelcontinental breakfasthard boiled eggsstove topsmall kitchensister propertyliquor storeminute walkfull size fridgeon site restaurantstrip mall
Filter
Updating list...
1,437 - 1,442 of 1,932 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2012

My wife and I recently spent a week+ in Grand Cayman. It was a terrific get away with great food. Sunshine Suites fit our budget well, but be careful when booking in Grand Cayman, as nearly everything is expensive. Sunshine Suites location is off the beach and across a busy street, so be careful when walking. Also, make sure to cross correctly and look for cars, which are driving "backwards", as a person from the United States would probably tend to say. The people were nice, with the exception of one bartender/server at the Sunshine Grill, but not overly concerned about going that extra mile. My wife and I travel a fair amount and know customer service, even though we don't have expectations before traveling. We both work in customer service, so it's fairly easy to spot when things are good, very good, excellent, poor, etc... That being said, we were pretty happy overall with Sunshine Suites. I would prefer to stay on the beach in the future, so my return would be questionable. Some other minor things to take note of at Sunshine Suites are the lack of no in-room safe and a strong daily competition for beach chairs. I would recommend Sunshine Suites, but just make sure to do all your research before booking. A car is also recommended while vacationing in Grand Cayman. Things are very spread out and cabs are extremely expensive.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dbuzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Stayed one week at Sunshine suites. Highly recommended for affordable, quality accommodations.

Some comments/tips to enjoy the area and save money
1. fill up on breakfast (limited selection, but ok) Hotel supplies coffee for coffee maker.
2. walk to grocery store (about 10 minutes) and pickup stuff for lunchs/dinners (we brought condiments and salt/pepper from home)
3. research restaurants within 10-15 minute walk for easy-access dinner/lunch options. Sunshine grill (onsite) is highly recommended as are several restaurants in the strip mall just before you cross the street to get to the beach. You can get takeout from Eats and eat in your room. Walk (15 minutes) or take bus to Camana plaza for upscale dining options (e.g. Ortanique) shopping and special events/live music or head to west side to Pappagollo for special dining evening - explore the plaza first in the daytime (coffee and sweet spots for a break).
4. bring a backpack and if possible soft-sided cooler bag to pack lunch and drinks for use on the beach. We carried our snorkel gear+towels in our backpack and food/drink in the cooler, and a beach chair supplied by the hotel.
5. if you can bring your own snorkel gear as *amazing* snorkeling can be found directly off the beach directly across from the governors home. Even better snorkeling at Cemetery beach (see item 6) The water is calm and very clear so you have extensive visibility
6. take bus ($2Cayman) to Cemetery beach for a fantastic uncrowded beach with shade and *amazing* snorkeling. It is basically at the far end of seven mile beach and the away from any cruise ship folks who can crowd up other areas of the beach closer to Georgetown.
7. take bus into Georgetown on days when cruise ships are not in port (typically weekends, and monday or fridays - check port authority web site)
8. take stingray city tour (one good option is in strip mall beside highway entrance to the hotel)
9. rent a car and explore the east and north end of the island - great beaches, less crowds and great restaurant options many with ocean views (Over the edge, Tukkas, Lighthouse, etc.) or great value at the Italian kitchen.
10. cross the road in the opposite direction of the beach and walk (or take the bikes from the hotel) around beside the golf course where it is very private and you will get good sightings of the many iguanas that bask in the sunshine of the golf fairways and beside the water hazards. Walk further down into the gated community and see high end mansions with canal access by boat to the north shore opposite seven mile beach (aprox. 1/2 hour walk each way)

Room Tip: suggest paying extra for a one bedroom. if you don't have mobility issues, upper floors are more private/quiet.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank skyguybri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We loved Sunshine Suites. Yes, it is not exactly on the beach but if you don't mind a quick walk then it is perfect. We loved the 'quaint' grounds. Our room was always clean. Breakfast was included however, the fruit slices were always gone by 8 am. The rest of the breakfast was great. We always found a table. The hotel staff were knowledgeable and very friendly. Darren at the restaurant gave us some great places to stop at while out touring the island with our rental car. Thanks Darren!!

The walk to the beach is very easy. Yes, the road can be a little busy but believe it or not, a lot of cars will stop and let you cross. Oh yes, before you cross the street, stop in at the liquor store and / or the convenience store (2 different stores) to pick up drinks / snacks to take to the beach. A lot cheaper that buying something at The Westin.

No umbrellas at the beach but we bought one (and so did a few other couples) at Cost U Less which is just one block north - just $10.00 CI. They did have some for $30.00 Ci but they weren't needed. When we left, we just passed it on to folks that were staying longer and asked them to forward it on also... Keep the Umbrellas going.......

We loved coming back from the beach at the end of the day and stopping for a drink around the pool and catching up with other guests.

The food at the Sunshine Grill was great. Fish Tacos were fabulous. We ventured out to Pappagallo's and The Wharf. They were both quite pricey but food was good.

Room Tip: We were in a 1 bedroom suite on the ground floor - great.... except the air conditioner was a little loud in our room
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SueWnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Before I begin, understand this is a nice property at which to stay. The grounds are nice and well kept and the on-site restaurant (Sunshine Grill) is very good at what it serves. The key to visiting this property is that you understand there are trade-offs to staying at an off beach hotel versus the price being charged.

Good Points:
1) The property was well maintained. Green lawns and palm trees with hammocks and chairs to lounge around.
2) While I do not know how old this hotel is, it did not appear to be very old.
3) Within a 15-20 minute walk are several fine eating establishments.
4) The Sunshine Grill restaurant on site served very good food but its menu is one of salads, sandwiches, burgers, various tacos (beef, fish, chicken, all great). All items I purchased were very good. You should come here for informal dining even if you stay elsewhere. Reservations are required in the evenings.
5) Breakfast was included. A basic selection with yogurt, cereals, oatmeal, some fruit, mini muffins, toast, coffee and juice.
6) The room includes a refrigerator, small microwave, two burner stove top with basic plates and utensils.
7) The room rate is one half of those on the beach.

Trade-offs:
1) You walk a distance that would be equivalent to about three long city blocks to the beach carrying your day's worth of equipment. Your chairs, your towels, books, shade umbrella (if you buy one), water, and whatever else you take to the beach. Did I mention you have to cross a busy road? You then bring it all back at the end of the day.
2) In the truly public areas of the beach, there is not any consistent shade area to escape the sun. The tree areas with shade are part of the private areas of the beach front properties. Be prepared to be in the sun or else buy an umbrella.
3) There are no public restrooms (toilets) on the beach for people to use. Of course they are in the beach resorts or condos along the beach for use of their guests. I will let you determine how important having a restroom is to you with your room a distance away.
4) While Sunshine Suites does provide a low profile fold up beach chair for you to carry to the beach and back, it is not a lounge chair like you get at the beach hotels. Mine was fine for reading and sitting, just do not expect to lie flat.
5) There are no great water front views from your room. My side of the building looked out on the parking lot. Some rooms will see the lawn area and then the parking lots.
6) The buildings are three floors tall without an elevator if that would present a problem.
7) My room was the one bed version. The room and bath were small by USA standards. It was usable and clean, just a little small.

Should you stay here? From a lodging perspective it is a nice clean hotel with a great place to eat. Thus, my four star rating. As for someone intent on having a beach holiday, you will have to assess the trade-offs versus the cost. My stay was half the rate of the Westin located on the beach near the Sunshine Suites. Is it worth it? Each individual will need to decide that question. For some the answer will be yes. For others, they may be willing to pay for the beach hotel convenience.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank ldwheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We stayed at the Sunshine Suites from January 21-28. The resort is perfectly located. There is a short walk to the best part of 7 Mile Beach. There are wonderful restaurants just around the corner - Yoshi Sushi and Legendz. Cost U Less is a 5 minute walk (Grand Cayman Costco). And a liquor store on the corner. The Sunshine Grill is a fantastic restaurant! Fish tacos, Hickory Burger, Grilled Wahoo and Fried Green Tomatoes! Also, the hotel will make reservations for tours and restaurants. Definately check out Stingray Sand Bar with Dexter's Fantasea Tours. Wonderful! We met so many friendly people!

The big resorts cluttered up the beach with chairs. The area on the beach where Sunshine guests sat was the very best part of the beach. Nice and wide...you did not feel you were sitting on top of someone else. We took our coolers filled with food and drinks. At the resorts, no outside food or drinks are allowed on "their portion" of the beach. With drinks costing $12.50 US (gratutity included), it could be very expensive staying at the resorts on the beach vs. Sunshine.

We will stay here in the future....

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews