We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value in Grand Cayman”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunshine Suites Resort
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2017

I come to Grand Cayman 4 times a year for business and always stay an extended weekend for pleasure. Last trip I stayed at the Westin, where someone recommended I try the Sunshine Grill, which was fabulous. When researching hotels for my next trip, I found the Sunshine Suites to be less than half the price of the Westin, so I decided to give it a try. Since the Westin and Sunshine Suites are owned by the same people, you receive full privileges at the Westin and can sign any charge to your room at Sunshine. Once you add in the free continental breakfast it became a no brainer. All amenities at both hotels are the same (including the towels) and the rooms have mini kitchens. The hotel was spotless, the rooms were generous in size and the staff was incredibly nice and helpful. The only additional effort it took on my part was walking across the street to use the beach at the Westin. For the difference in price, I will stay here again on my next trip. I loved this place.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the pool for best location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Joel1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunshineSuitesResort, General Manager at Sunshine Suites Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

We are so happy you gave our resort a try this Grand Cayman trip and thrilled you were pleased with your stay. As you shared, as a guest of the Sunshine Suites Resort, you have access to the amenities at our sister property as well as charging privileges, which does add value to your stay. Thank you for taking the time to share your love for our resort, we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,794)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 38 of 1,794 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2017

My wife and I just returned from our honeymoon stay at Sunshine Suites, and would highly recommend the place to others vacationing in the Cayman Islands. The staff was excellent and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. We complicated matters by adding an additional night at the beginning of the trip in a smaller room, before being switched to our suite for the remaining seven days. The staff at the front desk was great in checking us in early for both the smaller room and the suite on the following day making the transition stress free. Also, the Sunshine Grill lived up to the hype with regard to the fish tacos, they were amazing; and Cory the bartender went out of his way to give us suggestions about what to do while on the island. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Collin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunshineSuitesResort, General Manager at Sunshine Suites Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Thank you for choosing the Sunshine Suites Resort for this special occasion, we loved having you here. Our staff will be thrilled to know that they created a memorable stay for you and we appreciate you taking the time to highlight their service. We would love to welcome you back to paradise, and hope you'll return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a few days. We were there a few years ago, and had a suite. This time around we rented a room. The rooms are small and faces the back of the hotel. It is better to rent a suite facing t he front of the hotel, because the view is better. The hotel comes with various amenities, one of which is access to the Westin Hotel and allowed all of the amenities as a sunshine suite guest. This means you have access to the beach, pool,meals and drinks and charge your meals and drinks to your room. Remember to walk with your ID when visiting the Westin.on 7 mile beach. Sunshine Suite Resort is located directly across from the Westin Hotel. The restaurant " The sunshine Grill is a must to have all of your meals"

Room Tip: Request a suite facing the front of the hotel. The view is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dinora S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunshineSuitesResort, General Manager at Sunshine Suites Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Thank you for joining us again at the Sunshine Suites Resort, we were thrilled to welcome you back. As you shared, access to the amenities at our sister property along with charging privileges is one of the perks you have here as our guest, and we're happy that enhanced your visit. We are grateful you have commented on your stay and complimented our Sunshine Grill. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

This hotel has lots of pluses, the first of which is the resort privledges at its sister property, the Westin. Without it, we would not have considered staying here. But it has other great qualities, too- great breakfast (the banana bread is amazing and beware the long "waffle wait" on most days!), comfy bed, kitchenette, a/c to help with the miserable humidity on some days, well-manicured lawns, pool is great. Burgers at Sunshine Grill lived up to the hype from other reviews; fish tacos didn't. Rooms need updating but they are charming. Get a room on first floor unless you are an avid stairclimber. Front desk sraff were just okay- ver pleasant but no one really went out of their way. Shutte to Westin was upon request and out of service some days. Above all, go see what Grand Cayman has to offer! We would return here!

Stayed: July 2017
Thank cdemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunshineSuitesResort, General Manager at Sunshine Suites Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

It's so wonderful that your overall visit with us was enjoyable. We loved reading all the aspects of your trip that stood out to you especially our continental breakfast and great Angus burgers. Thank you for commenting on your visit, we would love to welcome you back to the Sunshine Suites Resort!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

We last visited 3 years ago and were pleased to find much was unchanged. The Sunshine Grill (a must try even if not staying at the Suites) and daily complementary breakfast were as we remembered. Both convenient and good. One addition was full access to the beach and hotel facilities at the Westin across the street. While it came with a daily resort fee of $35US, we felt it definitely improved our experience. The lounge chairs and umbrellas alone made it worthwhile. Bottom line, you could pay a whole lot more and have a fancier room, but when you're visiting such a gorgeous location, how much time are you going to spend in the hotel room?

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunshineSuitesResort, General Manager at Sunshine Suites Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

We were happy to welcome you back, Laura, and excited that your time was just as wonderful as a previous visit. We are glad that having access to the amenities at our sister property improved your vacation. Thank you for the lovely feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back again at the Sunshine Suites Resort!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seven Mile Beach
2.5 km away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,361 reviews
1.5 km away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
480 reviews
0.9 km away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.2 km away
Wyndham Reef Resort
Wyndham Reef Resort
#2 of 2 in East End
1,688 reviews
2.4 km away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,339 reviews
0.3 km away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Suites Resort

Address: 1465 Esterley Tibbetts Highway, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1201, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range: $320 - $607 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine Suites Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunshine Suites Resort offers the best in affordable boutique lodging. We're a short walk from the sparkling ocean waters and white sand of Grand Cayman's famous Seven Mile Beach. Enjoy the convenience of our prime location near dozens of shops, restaurants and activities. Our amenities include free continental breakfast and wireless internet. In addition, Guests enjoy the amenities at our neighboring sister property on Seven Mile Beach including charging privileges to your hotel room: Use of the beach, beach chairs and towels, Beach Ambassadors to service your needs and assist you with beach lounge chair placement, unlimited use of the Fitness Center and spa. We offer our guests high end accommodations, excellent services and convenience at affordable prices. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, a warm and friendly team awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunshine Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Sunshine Suites Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing