We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach(Seven Mile Beach)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$217
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman(Seven Mile Beach)
Book now, pay at stay
US$579
RitzCarlton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
7 Mile Beach Resort and Club(Seven Mile Beach)(Great Value!)
US$213
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 22/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$349
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villas of the Galleon(Seven Mile Beach)
US$365
US$339
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$579
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coral Stone Club(Seven Mile Beach)
US$750
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,917)
Filter reviews
1,917 results
Traveller rating
1,178
565
123
25
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,178
565
123
25
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe grillacross the streetbeach chairsfish tacosyogurtgrand caymanwestin hotelhard boiled eggscontinental breakfaststove topliquor storesister propertysmall kitchenminute walkfull size fridgeon site restaurantstrip mall
Filter
Updating list...
152 - 157 of 1,917 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2017

The staff are friendly and cordial. The location is good. However, I'm giving the review 3 starts instead of 5 because: 1) The "non-smoking" room had a strong smell of cigarette; and 2) There is a $35/day resort fee that I was not made aware of when I was booking this hotel. The $35/day fee will give you access to the Westin amenities. I think that the fee should be an option, not a requirement, if you are going to explore various parts of the islands instead of hanging out at Westin the whole time.

Room Tip: If you want a non-smoking room, make sure you get one without the cigarette smell.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Masami S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunshineSuitesResort, General Manager at Sunshine Suites Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Thank you for sharing your thoughts from your recent stay. We would like to share that our resort fee is disclosed on our website and during the booking process and includes much more than access to the amenities at our sister property. Guests can enjoy a host of resort services and amenities such as continental breakfast and Wifi to name a few. We do hope that you had the opportunity to enjoy all of our offerings while visiting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

Close to seven mile beach and sister property to The Westin makes the Sunshine Suites an excellent choice. I stayed there 11 nights and the room was comfortable and cool. Having the Sunshine Grill on the doorstep was great. The Westin certainly has the best bit of seven mile beach, so having access to that and all the amenities was excellent. Staff at the Sunshine Suites were always pleasant and helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xamaxzebi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunshineSuitesResort, General Manager at Sunshine Suites Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback and recommendation to other travelers. We couldn’t be happier to learn you had such a great vacation and enjoyed great dining and our services. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Sunshine Suites Resort!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

After a good amount of research, we settled on Sunshine, but we were still blown away by the experience. It's a great, central location on 7 mile - close to a minimart, liquor store, and right across the street from the Westin beach (which trust us isn't a pain). Good bars/restaurants to the north and south (Calicos or Royal Palms). The stay INCLUDES Westin amenities like the beautiful beach, pool, towel service, and spa (sauna and steam - great for before or after the beach). That alone creates a lot of value.

The staff were all very nice and accommodating - the receptionist at the front desk helped us make a brunch reso at the Westin the day before - apparently pretty hard! Also, the place was CLEAN. No issues there if that's a concern.

The restaurant was great as well - the best fish tacos we had on the island, and try the mango massage cocktail and painkiller. Don't bother with the free breakfast though - it was really just juice, coffee, hard boiled eggs and do it yourself waffles. Wasn't worth getting up for.

Either way, even our local friends were surprised at how good a deal it was. This is officially our go-to spot in Cayman from now on.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Keddy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunshineSuitesResort, General Manager at Sunshine Suites Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

We are overjoyed to learn that our resort will be your go-to spot when visiting Grand Cayman. Thank you so much for sharing all the aspects of your stay that you loved including your praise for our fish tacos! It was a pleasure having you here at the Sunshine Suites Resort and we look forward to your return trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

This is my fou,rth trip to the Cayman Islands, having stayed at the Westin, Marriott, and the Comfort Inn. Although my favorite would be the Marriott (see previous review) I liked the Sunshine Suites because of the access to the Westin and Seven Mile beach. As part of the amenities package, you are able to use Westin facilities, which is a huge perk.

The Sunshine suites (includes a refrigerator, microwave, and utensils) are comfortable, but not luxurious. Its for families and budget minded travelers. You are a seven to ten minute walk across from the beach and are able to charge drinks and food from the Westin on your account. No cash needed, which is great (but be mindful of the tally of your bill at the end).

Right now, Sunshine suites has a deal with breakfast included, which saves money, as you know Cayman is quite pricey with 1 alcoholic beverage and meal totaling $40. The Sunshine Grill, in property is fantastic..they make a great mojito. But the food can be pricey with 2 fish tacos being 13.95 KYD (translates to approximately $16.00.)

I would recommend renting a car to drive around the island to have more food options than the Westin and the other restaurants across the street from the Westin. Cabs can be pricey since most tourists are charged the tourist vs the local rate.

Overall I would recommend Sunshine Suites and plan on coming back next year. Friendly front desk, easy breezy check in and out.

Room Tip: 3rd floor is best, but no elevator
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shemarafaye2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunshineSuitesResort, General Manager at Sunshine Suites Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

We are so glad you gave our resort a try for your return to Grand Cayman. It was wonderful to hear that our complimentary breakfast and use of the amenities at our sister property was an added perk for you. We are just thrilled that you enjoyed your visit so much that it has inspired you to stay with us again next year, all of us here at the Sunshine Suites Resort are looking forward to it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

I come to Grand Cayman 4 times a year for business and always stay an extended weekend for pleasure. Last trip I stayed at the Westin, where someone recommended I try the Sunshine Grill, which was fabulous. When researching hotels for my next trip, I found the Sunshine Suites to be less than half the price of the Westin, so I decided to give it a try. Since the Westin and Sunshine Suites are owned by the same people, you receive full privileges at the Westin and can sign any charge to your room at Sunshine. Once you add in the free continental breakfast it became a no brainer. All amenities at both hotels are the same (including the towels) and the rooms have mini kitchens. The hotel was spotless, the rooms were generous in size and the staff was incredibly nice and helpful. The only additional effort it took on my part was walking across the street to use the beach at the Westin. For the difference in price, I will stay here again on my next trip. I loved this place.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the pool for best location.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Joel1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunshineSuitesResort, General Manager at Sunshine Suites Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

We are so happy you gave our resort a try this Grand Cayman trip and thrilled you were pleased with your stay. As you shared, as a guest of the Sunshine Suites Resort, you have access to the amenities at our sister property as well as charging privileges, which does add value to your stay. Thank you for taking the time to share your love for our resort, we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews