We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunshine Suites Resort
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Seven Mile Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2017

Just at Sunshine for 3 nights for a long weekend getaway. EVERYTHING you need. Big rooms, clean, great atmosphere and staff, Sunshine Grill is the perfect casual dining and bar, and the opportunity to use the Westin facilities make this a smart traveler's pick. The walk to the Westin is no further than if you were at a mega all-inclusive with rooms off the beach - literally a 4 minute walk. We saw and used everything at the Westin other than their rooms - there nearly all day for all 3 days (their beach facilities are tremendous) - and saved $200 a night staying at Sunshine. Never took cash or credit card out as Westin charges to your Sunshine room account. Highly recommend if you want to save some money and still get the full 7-Mile Beach experience.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TropaholicLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunshineSuitesResort, General Manager at Sunshine Suites Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Describing our stay as perfect has made our day! We are delighted that a highlight of your trip was spending your days enjoying the amenities at our sister property. It certainly is a big perk for many of our guests. Thank you for your sharing your positive experience with us, we hope to see you again soon at the Sunshine Suites Resort!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,817)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

52 - 56 of 1,817 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2017

The staff are friendly and cordial. The location is good. However, I'm giving the review 3 starts instead of 5 because: 1) The "non-smoking" room had a strong smell of cigarette; and 2) There is a $35/day resort fee that I was not made aware of when I was booking this hotel. The $35/day fee will give you access to the Westin amenities. I think that the fee should be an option, not a requirement, if you are going to explore various parts of the islands instead of hanging out at Westin the whole time.

Room Tip: If you want a non-smoking room, make sure you get one without the cigarette smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Masami S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunshineSuitesResort, General Manager at Sunshine Suites Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Thank you for sharing your thoughts from your recent stay. We would like to share that our resort fee is disclosed on our website and during the booking process and includes much more than access to the amenities at our sister property. Guests can enjoy a host of resort services and amenities such as continental breakfast and Wifi to name a few. We do hope that you had the opportunity to enjoy all of our offerings while visiting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

Close to seven mile beach and sister property to The Westin makes the Sunshine Suites an excellent choice. I stayed there 11 nights and the room was comfortable and cool. Having the Sunshine Grill on the doorstep was great. The Westin certainly has the best bit of seven mile beach, so having access to that and all the amenities was excellent. Staff at the Sunshine Suites were always pleasant and helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xamaxzebi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunshineSuitesResort, General Manager at Sunshine Suites Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback and recommendation to other travelers. We couldn’t be happier to learn you had such a great vacation and enjoyed great dining and our services. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Sunshine Suites Resort!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

After a good amount of research, we settled on Sunshine, but we were still blown away by the experience. It's a great, central location on 7 mile - close to a minimart, liquor store, and right across the street from the Westin beach (which trust us isn't a pain). Good bars/restaurants to the north and south (Calicos or Royal Palms). The stay INCLUDES Westin amenities like the beautiful beach, pool, towel service, and spa (sauna and steam - great for before or after the beach). That alone creates a lot of value.

The staff were all very nice and accommodating - the receptionist at the front desk helped us make a brunch reso at the Westin the day before - apparently pretty hard! Also, the place was CLEAN. No issues there if that's a concern.

The restaurant was great as well - the best fish tacos we had on the island, and try the mango massage cocktail and painkiller. Don't bother with the free breakfast though - it was really just juice, coffee, hard boiled eggs and do it yourself waffles. Wasn't worth getting up for.

Either way, even our local friends were surprised at how good a deal it was. This is officially our go-to spot in Cayman from now on.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Keddy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunshineSuitesResort, General Manager at Sunshine Suites Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

We are overjoyed to learn that our resort will be your go-to spot when visiting Grand Cayman. Thank you so much for sharing all the aspects of your stay that you loved including your praise for our fish tacos! It was a pleasure having you here at the Sunshine Suites Resort and we look forward to your return trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

This is my fou,rth trip to the Cayman Islands, having stayed at the Westin, Marriott, and the Comfort Inn. Although my favorite would be the Marriott (see previous review) I liked the Sunshine Suites because of the access to the Westin and Seven Mile beach. As part of the amenities package, you are able to use Westin facilities, which is a huge perk.

The Sunshine suites (includes a refrigerator, microwave, and utensils) are comfortable, but not luxurious. Its for families and budget minded travelers. You are a seven to ten minute walk across from the beach and are able to charge drinks and food from the Westin on your account. No cash needed, which is great (but be mindful of the tally of your bill at the end).

Right now, Sunshine suites has a deal with breakfast included, which saves money, as you know Cayman is quite pricey with 1 alcoholic beverage and meal totaling $40. The Sunshine Grill, in property is fantastic..they make a great mojito. But the food can be pricey with 2 fish tacos being 13.95 KYD (translates to approximately $16.00.)

I would recommend renting a car to drive around the island to have more food options than the Westin and the other restaurants across the street from the Westin. Cabs can be pricey since most tourists are charged the tourist vs the local rate.

Overall I would recommend Sunshine Suites and plan on coming back next year. Friendly front desk, easy breezy check in and out.

Room Tip: 3rd floor is best, but no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shemarafaye2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunshineSuitesResort, General Manager at Sunshine Suites Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

We are so glad you gave our resort a try for your return to Grand Cayman. It was wonderful to hear that our complimentary breakfast and use of the amenities at our sister property was an added perk for you. We are just thrilled that you enjoyed your visit so much that it has inspired you to stay with us again next year, all of us here at the Sunshine Suites Resort are looking forward to it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seven Mile Beach
2.5 km away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
1,391 reviews
1.5 km away
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa
#2 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
553 reviews
30.2 km away
Wyndham Reef Resort
Wyndham Reef Resort
#2 of 2 in East End
1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort
Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Reso...
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5,457 reviews
0.3 km away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#5 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
465 reviews
2.7 km away
Margaritaville Beach Resort Grand Cayman
Margaritaville Beach Resort Gran...
#9 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Suites Resort

Address: 1465 Esterley Tibbetts Highway, Seven Mile Beach KY1-1201, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Seven Mile Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Seven Mile Beach
Price Range: $385 - $642 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine Suites Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunshine Suites Resort offers the best in affordable boutique lodging. We're a short walk from the sparkling ocean waters and white sand of Grand Cayman's famous Seven Mile Beach. Enjoy the convenience of our prime location near dozens of shops, restaurants and activities. Our amenities include free continental breakfast and wireless internet. In addition, Guests enjoy the amenities at our neighboring sister property on Seven Mile Beach including charging privileges to your hotel room: Use of the beach, beach chairs and towels, Beach Ambassadors to service your needs and assist you with beach lounge chair placement, unlimited use of the Fitness Center and spa. We offer our guests high end accommodations, excellent services and convenience at affordable prices. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, a warm and friendly team awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunshine Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Seven Mile Beach
Sunshine Suites Resort Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing